DBKL post-mortem to determine future of KL City GP

kl city gp lambo

By now everyone would have heard about “the race” that happened in the KL city centre. The inaugural KL City Grand Prix happened over the weekend in the Golden Triangle, with various types of race cars zooming around a 3.2 km temporary street circuit that passes some of KL’s most famous roads.

Race organiser GT Global Race’s president and CEO M. Arrasu said that spectator attendance was significantly higher that what was predicted, with a crowd of about 250,000 reportedly present. He said that preparations for next year’s race will commence early to manage the expectation of all stakeholders.

But the “keys” to the event is held by Dewan Bandaraya Kuala Lumpur. DBKL needs to quickly conduct a post-mortem to start discussions on whether the KL City GP can return for next year, said Youth and Sports Minister Khairy Jamaluddin.

“To host the race, a number of major roads in KL need to be closed temporarily and therefore, DBKL’s consultation and approval are needed. The Ministry approved the race that was hosted in the country for the first time since the cost, safety and responsibilities were handled by an experienced organiser along with DBKL’s approval,” he told reporters.

KL City GP’s flagship GT Cup race saw plenty of good racing and drama, with Malaysia’s Fairuz Fauzy storming through the field from last on the grid to finish second behind runaway leader Naoki Yokomizo and his pink Lamborghini.

The Australian V8 Supercars were also in town for a demo run – the Holden Commodore VF, Ford Falcon FG, Nismo Nissan Altima, Mercedes-Benz E63 AMG and Volvo S60 Polestar will be back next year for a full championship round.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Really hope DBKL ends this nuisance event.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 25
    • KL New Mat Rempit Place on Aug 11, 2015 at 1:40 pm

The big question we must ask is how much Arrasu gave the DBKL as Ang Pau?

Sure got Ang Pau because the disruption was massive. Few days before that, so many people stuck in massive jams. MEF also said the losses ran into tens of millions. 2 days, all the malls were empty. all the shops were closed.

The repercussions were so bad. I hear many Mat Rempits now want to race in KL on a permanent basis. Those watching the race were mainly the Mat Rempits and the Mat Moto bujangs. They all now want to tekan, already gian tengok race in KL.

Hello DBKL, this not Monte Carlo ah. Sort your potholes and snatch thieves first. So many snatch thieves rampant. Your officers see snatch thieves, they don’t do anything. I asked the officer, “bang, kenapa tak kejar?”

DBKL Officer answer, “Itu bukan scope kerja saya. Itu hal PDRM”

I asked, “Bang, tetapi kenapa pegang pistol? Mahu tembak orang tak taruk coin untuk parking?”

DBKL officer looked at me and smile.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
      • He’s smiling cuz he is thinking:
        ” Klo tadak pistol, nanti bila saya saman u, u tunjuk saya stering lock, macam mana?”

• Same L0rrrr on Aug 11, 2015 at 4:22 pm

KL roads is not meant for racing, we have Sepang circuit.
          Same like you won’t sleep in kitchen, eat in the toilet.
          Use your brain DBKL!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • tishaban on Aug 11, 2015 at 12:48 pm

Pros of this event:
    1. some KL roads get resurfaced

Cons:
    1. Huge inconvenience for many people over several days for race prep.
    2. Reduction of sales for stores/restaurants in the area as most people don’t come into KL for 3 days

Someone should calculate the economic and productivity loss of tens of thousands of people not being able to get to work on time, or being stuck in the traffic for significantly longer than usual. Compare this with the revenue generated by this race, but don’t forget the revenue lost by Sepang F1 Circuit by not hosting this race.

I vote no. I don’t want the KL City GP in the future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
  • Philip Wong on Aug 11, 2015 at 1:12 pm

Forced leave for an event I don’t care about. CEAss Arrasu and the mayor got his kicks but we lost out on productive time getting our projects held up for 3 days. I suggest the Ass go buy his 3.2km circuit so he can do whatever he pleases and stop disrupting business. If businesses were to sue the organisers for loss of revenue there won’t be any Asses left.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
  • Allroadquattro on Aug 11, 2015 at 1:40 pm

speaking of motor racing, I really want to see a WEC event held in Sepang (6 Hours of Sepang, maybe?). 30 yrs ago there’s a World Sportscar Championship event held in Shah Alam. (Jacky Ickx won that race :))

• The main point is – Are they going to promote street racing ? Such event surely will encourage more people to drive their car fast on streets rather than circuit.

Pointless event to me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • nabill (Member) on Aug 11, 2015 at 1:50 pm

Our traffic situation really cannot handle a race this size… Although it was kinda successful bcos it had really big crowds… Bt OMG the jam it created!

• should bring F1 to KL street . good job dbkl . continue the event and make it an annual carnival ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Race Fan on Aug 11, 2015 at 2:54 pm

Next year’s race is very much welcomed, just do it somewhere else, maybe widen the roads around KLCC park and hold it there, continuing along the stretch of Jln Ampang in front of the M-Shit-A building.

• Heskey on Aug 11, 2015 at 3:31 pm

Do it in Penang. main sraight at gurney drive. Would be awesome.

• JanganNakBisingLa on Aug 11, 2015 at 4:05 pm

Pathetic people making noise over a street racing!!
    have you people went near Bukit Jalil area on the day of Malaysia VS Liverpool game? what if I say, those who organize the game only syok sendiri cos MEX highway was jammed more than 2 km. try to appreciate people on the effort they make.. don’t sit in front of the computer and just type whatever u like.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • bugimark_luu on Aug 11, 2015 at 4:56 pm

woi burgimaalu…
      lu mau racing pegi sepang laa! gua mau shoppping.. gua mau pegi KL pun tak boleh pasal ini race! jiilaker sapa organizer! make sure this event won’t happen again. it’s major annoyance to klites!

• JanganNakBisingLa on Aug 18, 2015 at 11:32 am

Really Pathetic!!
        365 days choose racing day to do shopping.

• bobby teo on Aug 11, 2015 at 4:30 pm

perhaps they should organise this event in putrajaya.. hehe..

• Allroadquattro on Aug 11, 2015 at 6:33 pm

or an abandoned housing project. just like what Top Gear did

• lovelylowyat on Aug 11, 2015 at 6:04 pm

should do more at bukit bintang or any other DAP parliamentary region because we should make it jam there because they like jam similarly what they did during bersih, causing massive jam at KL.

now u know, we suffer during BERSIH illegal rally

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • Fafau80 on Aug 11, 2015 at 6:14 pm

Just proceed…I don’t mind even my office beside the racetrack..really enjoy it. Naik motor saja maa… =)

• hunter helmsley on Aug 18, 2015 at 11:08 am

stupid race in kl city… wat happen to sepang? dead ? damn stupid for allowing tis to happen…cause many inconvenience to many people!!! why cant they juz race in sepang..a proper race track!