ANCAP urges for mandatory autonomous braking tech

Active City Stop

Cars are getting increasingly safe these days thanks to the adoption of a plethora of safety features, no doubt about it. As such, the Australasian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP), along with the Australian Medical Association (AMA), have teamed up to urge the Australian government and authorities to make compulsory a number of safety features, with autonomous emergency braking (AEB) at the top of the list.

As part of the ‘Avoid the crash, Avoid the trauma’ campaign, ANCAP and AMA are pushing the federal government to enforce a mandatory implementation of AEB as a standard feature on all new vehicles, CarAdvice reports. “Vehicle technologies such as AEB can help reduce road trauma at a much faster rate than we are seeing now,” commented Professor Brian Owler, president of AMA.

“AEB is a technology that will reduce the number of deaths and injuries from road crashes,” added ANCAP CEO, Nicholas Clarke. Aside from the inclusion of AEB, Owler also states that education plays a vital role in helping to make Australian roads safer. “Too often I see the horrific injuries and loss of life caused by road crashes when drivers get it wrong.”

103612105a2815

According to statistics, AEB has been proven to help reduce the number of rear-end collisions by over 38%. The system employs an array of sensors and cameras to process the speed relative to obstacles located in the path of the vehicle. In the event the driver fails to apply the brakes, the system will initiate and bring the vehicle to a standstill, if necessary.

In Malaysia, AEB technology, along with Lane Departure Warning, Adaptive Front Lighting and Enhanced Child Restraint System, are set to be mandated for new type vehicle approvals in the future. A total of 22 UN regulations under the WP29 umbrella are to be gazetted this year while a further 19 will be included in 2017 along with two more in 2020 – making for a total of 126 UN regulations incorporated into Malaysian law.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• drMpower on Aug 13, 2015 at 12:22 pm

actually there are many technologies nowadays, are not needed. for example this autonomous braking thing. sure it will reduce collision by this and this much. but for a collision to occur, the person who handling the car is either not stop the car, or ….. not stop the car.

why the car isnt stopped? because the brake doesnt applied. why the brake doesnt applied, the driver doesnt step on the brake. why the driver doesnt step on the brake in the event of near collision?

because the driver DOES NOT PAY ENOUGH ATTENTION to driving!

autonomous braking technology is not required if the driver does proper driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Robbery Case will increase drastically.

Stop your car by blocking you, Rob you.

• policeman on Aug 13, 2015 at 1:24 pm

True. I say we ban women from driving. Lock em up at home, where they belong. Raise the damn children, what they’re meant to do. Learn how to cook and clean.

No, they want to do what men do. Copycats!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • Same L0rrrr on Aug 13, 2015 at 12:23 pm

Driving reckless and crash at the speed of 120km/h, 5 star also can not save you.

Iriz 5 star only crashed at 60km/h. Think your new Proton is invincible? Think again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
    • RemoX on Aug 13, 2015 at 12:49 pm

At least Iriz is in the 5 star rating…. It’s a brand new car from scratch….
      Not like some still carry on 2 airbag …pretend to be 10 star

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • abu bakar on Aug 13, 2015 at 1:54 pm

Why you own proton then ?

• While in Malaysia, car with 1 airbag (go figure which one) is still on sale!

• Captur / CX-3 on Aug 13, 2015 at 3:25 pm

If you drive recklessly , 10 airbags also cannot save your life la. Moral of the story .. Drive safely.

• Rusmah on Aug 13, 2015 at 1:40 pm

Make ESP as mandatory first lah!

• Self park, autonomous braking, etc. What’s next, autonomous driving to avoid accident? Gila. If not confident of your driving skills, please take public transportation. I predict that in 100 years, driving will be a lost skill

• oliver on Aug 13, 2015 at 5:19 pm

In order of importance I would prioritise:
    1. front airbags, side impact protection door cross beams,no seat belt warnings and pre-tensioners;
    2. ESC;
    3. Side and curtain airbags;
    4. Keys with speed limiters for teenagers;
    5. Clamping down on the use of mobile phones whilst driving using a points penalty system;
    6. A change of rules to only overtaking on one side;
    7. Inclusion of rear and roll-over crash ratings and all -round visibility in the ANCAP test so people can buy safer cars;
    8. Autonomous braking systems

• tishaban on Aug 13, 2015 at 10:35 pm

Lots of negativity among paultan readers. I wonder why…

I want autonomous braking because:

1. I may pay attention when I’m driving but I cannot be sure that the other person will as well. Drive safely, drive defensively etc. Remember accidents can happen even when it’s not your fault.

2. IMO there are 3 types of accidents. First is the one where you will surely die, second is the one where nobody gets hurt, third is where you do get hurt either a bit or enough to get you disabled for life but not dead. There’s not much anyone can do about the first one, but if autonomous braking can reduce the occurrence of the third type (which I believe it can) then I’m all for it.

3. Insurance deregulation is coming to Malaysia. In many countries around the world insurance rates are lower if you have safety features in your car, autonomous braking is one of them. I want to pay lower insurance premiums.

4. Driving will be a lost skill with automated technology? Horseback riding is a lost skill but if you really want to do it you can. Typing on typewriters is a lost skill but if you really want to do it you can. Bring on the technology, if it makes life safer and more convenient. I love to drive, but I welcome safer cars.