2015 Honda Civic Type R finally lands in Malaysia!

https://www.facebook.com/muhammad.salahudin.5688/posts/705053469639485

Here it is, then. It looks like the 2015 Honda Civic Type R has finally landed in Malaysia, albeit as a parallel import. Still, there’s no denying the hype surrounding Honda’s latest contribution to the world of hi-po cars – the Civic Type R did go round the Nurburgring in 7:50.63, after all.

So while we wait for ads of the winged hatch to surface on classifieds portals like oto.my and whatnot, let’s have a quick recap on Honda’s “race car for the road.” At first glance, there’s no mistaking the car’s intentions – not when the front end is dominated by a large bumper coupled to a monster of a rear wing. Elsewhere, the car features an almost-flat underbody and rear diffuser.

In profile, the 2015 Honda Civic Type R wears 19-inch alloy wheels, shod with 235/35 Continental tyres. Behind said front wheels, lie massive 350 mm disc brakes which are clamped down by four-piston calipers. To the most hardcore of Type R fans, under the bonnet is where the marque may appear to have lost the plot.

Civic Type R Pan-European launch

See, this time round, the Civic Type R will arrive powered by a turbocharged 2.0 litre four-cylinder engine – no more naturally-aspirated mills with sky-high rev limits. Still, with as much as 310 PS at 6,500 rpm and 400 Nm from 2,500 to 4,500 rpm, we’re not exactly complaining. All that power gets transmitted to the front wheels via a six-speed manual transmission. Additionally, a limited slip differential comes as standard.

Performance figures include a 0-100 km/h time of 5.7 seconds and a top speed of 269 km/h. On the inside, the cabin is trimmed in a combination of black and red accents. The front bucket seats feature suede-like fabric while flat-bottom steering wheel greets the driver. Elsewhere, there’s the intelligent Multi Information Display (i-MID) system and ‘+R‘ button that turns the (performance) volume up to 11.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Jamban Toyota on Aug 14, 2015 at 3:54 pm

So many good news on Honda lately. Toyotaik is dead. Nobody is wanting Toyotaik. Poor Jamban Sam Loo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 22
  • heybadigol (Member) on Aug 14, 2015 at 3:55 pm

WTF!!! Its here. Where, where, where? And how much? Stop teasing us.

I think the exterior is outrageous – but all those strakes & stuff are there for a reason, and its not aesthetics. But the interior & those seats look amazing to these eyes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • csteoh7828 on Aug 14, 2015 at 3:56 pm

The Euro market Type-R is here.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Aug 14, 2015 at 4:01 pm

Any indication from Honda Malaysia? ^_^

• Bad News For Toyota Salesman on Aug 14, 2015 at 4:03 pm

Now, with the new Accord, habis la Sam Loo (ori1), Same Lorrr and SamShowedMetheHilux. All crying now.

In overseas, Toyota is highly respected. But in Malaysia, Toyota now has become a laughing stock. If you buy one, people secretly laugh at you thinking you are the dumbest person in town cause the Toyota is heavily stripped of its safety features. Now somemore, Picanto, comes with 6 airbags and can be safer than a Camry!

Malaysians already now know how Toyota has been cheating people. Until today, even RM150k Camry got no VSC and only 2 airbags. Paultan already wrote long article how vital VSC is 3 years ago and yet UMW don’t care a damn for our lives.

Global price of Camry with 10 airbags and VSC is US$22,000. Besides VSC and 10 airbags, the global Camry has about 20 other safety features that is NOT in our Camry. These features are standard and free on the global Camry.

UMW don’t care about your life. you die or vegetable, they don’t care, janji untung lebih. they take out safety features to save cost. Yet, they charge us 3x the global price of US$22k. We buy for RM180k a heavily stripped down car. Same with Altis. Same with Vios.

Worse still, it is CKD and Made in Malaysia. The price is even cheaper. If US Toyota is sold at US22k and still make a profit, you can bet that UMW will get this car at country distributor price of US15k. CKD it, it will be US$12k (about RM40k). But they sell to Malaysians for RM180k.

Camry Hybrid even better. US$26k with full spec. Come to Malaysia no tax. But somehow, it is sold for RM175k despite it even being CKD.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 13
    • Thinakaran on Nov 20, 2015 at 11:12 pm

Actually government import tariff is the real culprit. As long as Malaysian government does not open up the market with sustainable competition these kind of treatment its user will be given as Toyota and other foreign manufacturers will only need to focus to overcome the inferior proton and perodua. So this spec is ought enough by those foreign companies.

• Boonster on Aug 14, 2015 at 4:06 pm

The OCD in me cant help but notice that in one of the pictures, parked next to the type R is a honda jazz, with a seemingly valid UK tax disc displayed on the windscreen. Secondly, in one of the pictures it can be seen clearly the UK fire warnings signage stamped on the car lifts, just above the (broadly use in the UK type of) fire extinguisher. Maybe im wrong. Nevertheless it is an epic car!

• If you are referring to the pix with the 3 cars, red silver and black? Then the pix is of the 3 gens of the euro civic type r. Current, FN2R and EP3R (the one that looks like the jazz)

• If you are referring to the photo with the 3 cars – red, silver & black. That is a photo of the 3 gens of the the euro civic type r. The current, FN2R and the EP3R (black)

• meejawa on Aug 14, 2015 at 4:13 pm

When you say “Here it is…landed in Malaysia”, it only makes sense to explain WHERE it has landed. “Parallel import” is a getaway clause. You can use that for any car models in the world. I finished reading the article and felt hanging; it’s incomplete.

• Guest12345 on Aug 14, 2015 at 4:14 pm

how is it that the new CTR be imported new from a parallel importer?

• alldisc on Aug 14, 2015 at 5:49 pm

part of the law for parallel or grey import cars are

1. the car must not be less than 1 year after launching.
      2. not more than 5 years.

anything between 2-5 years is ok.

• kzm (Member) on Aug 15, 2015 at 1:53 pm

This what we call AP car…

• The grey importer is sure efficient and fast :) the question is how much they will price this compact beast? Will it be more expensive than going through the right channel (Honda Malaysia)? Either way… The importer will draw the first blood from willing buyer

• kzm (Member) on Aug 15, 2015 at 1:56 pm

i tot many don’t like AP car that imported by AP holder?

• fake civic type R.. the original one comes in red color only… this one must be type R wannabe owned by ah beng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 46
    • seancorr (Member) on Aug 14, 2015 at 4:45 pm

Your had must have came from another world to put out such a comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • you must be some new kind of stupid ain’t you!?

• Jonn Dol on Aug 14, 2015 at 4:19 pm

Sooner or later Honda and most of manufacturers , under the pressure of emission regulation, have to resort to turbocharging/supercharging for their high performance engines.

• The Power of Dream on Aug 14, 2015 at 4:24 pm

OMG….Hoorayyyyyy!

• hanssen on Aug 14, 2015 at 4:31 pm

how much it cost?

• Naisssss

• I’m going to kick the asses of A/B/C250, Megane RS and Golf GTI.. =D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Since A45(38k pound) was sold around RM343k, i suppose the TYPE R (30K pound) will be around RM280K.

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 14, 2015 at 4:44 pm

Don’t like the design – looks like some car that came out from Michael Bay’s Transformer’s movie but I do like the Megane RS 265 Cup…mmmmmmmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
  • heybadigol (Member) on Aug 14, 2015 at 4:55 pm

Ok, the CTR is supposedly here. But where’s the S660 grey imports? I know its sold out in Japan, but nobody willing to make a big killing selling here for way over the Japanese price?

• Omg I love this,but my gf prefer Mazda MX5 ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • abc123 on Aug 14, 2015 at 5:13 pm

very misleading headline…

• teikhang on Aug 14, 2015 at 6:17 pm

must use ron97 ka?
    FD Type R need to use RON97 turnoff sia

• bosan on Aug 14, 2015 at 7:13 pm

boring civic…better wait for focus rs!

• rizal on Aug 14, 2015 at 7:19 pm

Good spec.. Boring looks

• hondarfan on Aug 14, 2015 at 9:34 pm

Powerful car. Confirm sold out if sold here in Bolehland. The RED Capital H brand is extremely popular here. Lagi VTEC, Lagi Power bro!! Vtec tendang masuk. LOL.

• Rlover on Aug 15, 2015 at 11:09 pm

Mestilah bro Vtec Turbo tendang masuk. Haahaha!
      Nanti dapat beli make sure bawa pergi Sepang Circuit bagi tendang tu Vtec Turbo.

• Leafable on Aug 15, 2015 at 11:20 am

You need to dye your hair yellow and have some blink gold chain on your neck then you are allow to before you are allow to buy this car

• Honda finally concede that TURBO is better.

• The last broadcast on Aug 15, 2015 at 8:10 pm

Japanese cars are always steps behind their continental counterparts. Soon perhaps they’ll get abandon cvt transmissions.

• Ah Beng’s Site and Car?

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Aug 15, 2015 at 10:08 pm

AS LONG As it is not a kimchi, it will have RV

• Levin on Aug 16, 2015 at 2:13 am

I doubt these pictures were taken in Malaysia. For starters, there were two Type Rs in the photo…its highly unlikely that grey importers get to bring in such a short time. These cars were just delivered to first few lucky buyers in recent weeks. Secondly, in one of the photos, you’ll notice wheel covers on the rims. If I’m not mistaken, these photos followed suit shortly after someone from the UK posted photos of these cars being unloaded from the trailer.
    Paultan should verify such news before posting them out on their website. “If its from Facebook, it must be true!”

• matjava on Aug 16, 2015 at 10:46 am

I’ll cucuk with my Porshe