VIDEO: Honda Ignition – out-of-this-world brand film featuring the HR-V, Civic Type R, NSX and Senna!

Every once in a while comes a car advertisement that just blows everything away to smithereens. This is that one moment that makes you take stock of the situation and just sit back in wide-eyed admiration.

I’ve always been an unashamedly huge Honda fan, and this latest brand film from Honda will make you run out superlatives pretty quickly. The year 2015 has been rather unprecedented for the brand, with a host of new vehicles, such as the HR-V and the eagerly anticipated Civic Type R.

Moreover, the HondaJet, which is the company’s version of its private jet also saw its first commercial flight. To round it off, you’ve got Honda returning to the Formula 1 fold as well.

So, what better way to celebrate this daring brand of aspirational greatness with a brand film that captures the brand’s philosophy with the inspiring campaign line: “Dare to do the things others only dream of.”

Screen Shot 2015-08-14 at 6.45.50 PM

When one watches this film, it gets pretty obvious that it’s a tribute to the wonder of flying into space. It’s a dramatised version of Honda’s ambition and the correlation between the boldness of human curiosity and engineering prowess. It’s a magnificently produced film with space-travel inspired elements from the Voyager 1 space mission and cinematic masterstrokes that are designed to capture your imagination.

It starts off with Honda’s humanoid robot, Asimo, and then you see two superbikes behind it on a runway. The cinematography is purely designed to mimic a rocket launch. The HR-V is up next, with a family all kitted up in racing gear, preparing for an imminent launch. The Civic Type-R is then featured, and as the driver pushed the ignition button, she’s engulfed in a red hue and it’s “pedal to the metal” time.

A shot of the fire-breathing exhausts lead to a panning shot of the Acura NSX, and its driver is seen holding a picture of the 1991 Honda NSX. The late Aryton Senna can be heard on the voiceover saying, “You think you have a limit. As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further.”

Screen Shot 2015-08-14 at 6.46.28 PM

It gets a bit crazy from here on with the HondaJet and the two McLaren MP4-30s on the runway, being cleared for take-off. Funnily enough, only Jenson Button is featured, with no sight of Fernando Alonso. Some funny comments have already been posted online about the huge amount of flames coming from the Formula 1 cars as the whole parade of Honda products prepare for lift-off ; with some saying those F1 power plants must be spontaneously combusting at will.

The end-line is fantastic, “dare to do the things others only dream of,” as it perfectly encapsulates the brand’s vision for the future. Apparently, the campaign will be a unified, through-the-line Pan European launch, akin to “The Other Side” campaign. Scott Dungate, Creative Director of Wieden + Kennedy, the creative agency that was responsible for the campaign, said that “representing the fleet as a rocket lift off, felt like it captured the anticipation, the daring and the human endeavour perfectly, in both an iconic and emotive way.”

Enough said, really.

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• budleee on Aug 14, 2015 at 6:55 pm

omg dem feels

• Munif on Aug 14, 2015 at 7:04 pm

McLaren Honda is exactly where they belong, at the back of the grid…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • UMW salesman Sleeping on Aug 15, 2015 at 12:02 pm

Lately so many good news on Honda. Toyota on the other hand is sleeping. Nobody enters their showroom. They don’t need to make an ad cause everybody sleeps in the UMW showroom

• Insider on Aug 16, 2015 at 12:16 am

Continue buying these car makes, including Honda

Proton & Perodua got no such security problems

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2015-08-14/vw-has-spent-two-years-trying-to-hide-a-big-security-flaw

• Zzzzz on Aug 16, 2015 at 2:45 pm

Yes, they are just like Proton salesman sleeping when nobody buys their new Saga Plus, Zzzzz…

• spongewai on Aug 14, 2015 at 9:17 pm

legend Senna

respect

• jinggo on Aug 14, 2015 at 9:23 pm

honda in machiem! toyota mana? puihh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Poor poor toyota Salesman on Aug 15, 2015 at 12:38 pm

I walk pass Sam Loo’s house last night, I heard him crying so loud. I peep into his window, I saw him crying saying sales are so bad, everybody has found out Toyota has worst RV, everybody has found out Sal Loo (ori1), Same Lorrrr and SamShowedMetheHilux are the same person.

Poor Sam Loo. I hope he overcomes this

• Ah Beng Friend on Aug 16, 2015 at 2:57 pm

You know what i heard? Ah Beng is trading his Iriz for Vios because he cannot stand the jerky Punch CVT. He is pleading Sam to trade in his beloved Proton but to his horror, Sam showed him the Hilux while Ah Beng showed his Hai Lat face. Ah Beng cried so bad when he found out that Proton has the worst RV and said not to buy Proton again.

Poor Ah Beng, I hope he learn his lesson

• camtakpro on Aug 17, 2015 at 9:54 am

RV exist only when there is still one buyer alive. Those non-Lancer Proton don’t even have RV to begin.

• pontiac on Aug 14, 2015 at 10:58 pm

k

• Jimmy on Aug 15, 2015 at 12:15 am

And Proton still want to advertise the Saga Plus? Puihh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
  • I will reference this advertisement in 2-3 years from now and see if their dreams have indeed came true with the Mclaren-Honda partnership.

Senna Mclaren-Honda era was the successful one but we all know that the last endeavor to win F1 championship ended up with the biggest joke in 2009. That’s when Button won with the Brawn-Honda developed car powered by Honda engine and no trace of Honda was on the car that won the championship.

Hopefully, Honda won’t be so short-sighted this time around.

• shawal on Aug 15, 2015 at 7:07 am

Someone in the higher ups of honda corporation got a bunch of honda die-cast models on the table and went ” …..hey…….mmmmmmmmm “

• kampung man on Aug 15, 2015 at 7:56 am

Too complicated. I prefer proton balik kampung ad more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Nothing moved.

What kind of BS commercial is this? Not impressed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • yangsfx on Aug 15, 2015 at 5:46 pm

puff of smoke

• Honda is Dreaming, enough said.

• heybadigol (Member) on Aug 17, 2015 at 10:33 am

I’m sorry, but the ad is not that exciting to be honest. For a really good one, check out Honda’s the impossible dream ad. That one might make you shed a tear or two taking you on a trip through memory lane, seing old Hondas (including the F1 car from the 60s & old motorcycles) all the way through the Honda F1 car from the 2000s (I think it was Button’s car too), the original NSX, until the HondaJet. And it had a beautiful soundtrack too, sung by Andy Williams.