SPYSHOTS: New Peugeot 408 gets 308 i-cockpit dash

408-spy-03

The upcoming Peugeot 408 has been spotted undergoing testing in Malaysia again, this time by reader Mohd Zalian in Gurun, Kedah. Gurun is of course the manufacturing base for Peugeot’s local partner Naza.

Now, we’ve seen the sedan sister of the latest Peugeot 308 on test before, but this is the first time someone has peered into the cabin. As you can see above, it’s a right-hand drive car with the 308’s unique i-cockpit dashboard. The China-market 408 has its own, more conventional dashboard design.

The view is clear enough for us to see that everything is pretty much identical to the Malaysian-spec 308 THP, down to the black theme, metallic trim and seat design. It’s all there, from the push start button and electronic parking brake to the big touch-screen that’s central to the car’s minimalist dash design.

Other than that, the test mule shows off sporty blade-style five-spoke wheels as opposed to the Chinese-market 408’s multi-spoke items, as well as twin pipes neatly integrated into the rear bumper.

Just like how the outgoing 408 was based on the previous T7 308, this new one shares PSA’s EMP2 underpinnings with the new 308, the 2014 European Car of the Year that was launched here in April. The proportions are smarter, and the 2,730 mm wheelbase is 20 mm longer than before. It should be significantly lighter too, if the new 308’s 140 kg savings is anything to go by.

It was revealed to us in March that the new 408 could launch sometime in the second half this year. Under the bonnet should sit a direct-injected, turbocharged 1.6 litre THP engine with a six-speed automatic – China also gets 1.2 litre e-THP and normally aspirated 1.8 litre CVVT mills.

Chinese market Peugeot 408

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• CarmenTung on Aug 17, 2015 at 5:17 pm

I tempted to buy this car ! But why most Malaysian don’t buy Peugeot aah ? Make me scare to buy one too..

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 17, 2015 at 5:30 pm

High price of spare parts puts many off bro plus the lads at the SC aren’t the brightest bunch of tech experts when you ask them technical questions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
    • panjang on Aug 17, 2015 at 8:14 pm

Parts are quite expensive lah bro.
      A friend of mine own a 508 and its power window alone cost thousand,sc price lh.Mind u the power window is the same system proton used on the waja.whole plastic cover the door with cable and pulley.

Normal regular maintenance is a tad higher compares to the jap.

Still,the pug beat any jap in driving pleasure and equipment level.

Only loose in the running cost and resale value.

• Yup.. Maintenance is a tad higher than Japanese made car (i.e Honda Malaysia) but the service interval is longer than similar spec Japanese car, as long as the right oil spec is used (5W30 low SAP)

Parts are quite expensive if you get it from SC, but i had no issue with availability, even bodyparts. Not sure about the non-common parts coz I have not encountered any major issue with the car so far (308 Turbo).

• kuda kopeng on Aug 18, 2015 at 9:50 am

Duh. At least this power window mechanism can lasts more than 10 years as compared to waja which need to change every 2 years.

Even my old Alfa which is almost 20 years is still running on ori power windows. How many waja power windows motor an owner need to change ?

• jji22 on Aug 18, 2015 at 1:52 pm

Why compare old waja with new 408?
          p1 power window got lifetime warranty ady

• Ramli on Aug 18, 2015 at 2:05 pm

ive been driving Proton Gen 2 for last 10years. Not even once the power window fail. Its not happen to all cars.

• The answer to your question is not easy. Are you a car lover/enthusiast or a person looking for RV and cheap parts? In the first case, you can buy 408 without a problem. you can rest assured, in the money you spend you get the best driving experience, safety and design comfort/equipment/technology. In the second case, purchase a MyVi. I would still not recommend japanese because you pay the price of a european car but you still get the technology which is 5 to 10 years old. fewer air bags, fewer safety equipment, less powerful engine, etc.

• Sam Loo (ori1 ) on Aug 17, 2015 at 5:29 pm

Junk car with no RV. It is the same as those drivers who drive Kimchi. You will beg me to take your car at RM25k after one year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 45
  • seancorr (Member) on Aug 17, 2015 at 5:29 pm

All the best Pug Malaysia, the 408 never really did sell well here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 24
  • These are good car.may be it might not have good resale value,your joy of everyday driving and the safety level it offers worth the money for the resale difference.
    And more importantly,it is not expensive for the specs they offered.
    Balance between style,pleasure,safety and your wallet as well.

• car lover on Aug 18, 2015 at 3:14 pm

if have good resale value but no really safe on road. “IF GET IN ACCIDENT THEN STILL HAVE CHANGE TO TALK RESALE VALUE???” need to think deeply.

• Steve Kok on Aug 17, 2015 at 7:38 pm

Tempted to buy a Peugeot 208.

From what i heard,there are parts availability issue.
    Even if the car is under warranty.

Any Pug owner here can share their experience?

• don’t buy it if you plan on doing highway trips. If its just for the city then go for it. From my experience it has better real world fuel consumption than the fiesta 1.5.

• rchoo on Aug 18, 2015 at 8:58 am

rewq, I do not know the basis of your comment. I owned a 508 Premium and use it every single week between Ipoh – KL and enjoying every minute of it. Till today, no problem not even minor ones.

My China relative who owns Mazda 6 and Ford Kuga (Turbo) mentioned the the following: Steering wheel is just nice not overly stiff nor overly soft like the Jap. Suspension is non other as it is from Peugeot itself. The torque is superb as it is very responsive (that’s what i look for), I drive 160km/hr on most E1 cornering and it is real steady and full of confidence. Sound insulation is superb, tap the fuel pedal just a bit and you are in the 130 or 140km/hr range and you won’t even feel it. Internal features are very good for the price. What more can I ask?, for that kind of price, I sure won’t go for Jap 2.4 or 2.5, no way.

• 11967 on Aug 18, 2015 at 9:44 am

Pugs SC and parts are way much better than Ford counterparts.

If you are getting a Ford, be prepared to have a 2nd car if your car kena accident. My colleagues Ford twice accident, just to wait for bumper and lights take around 3 months. Drive shaft replacement, 2 – 3 months. Even my buddy who own a ford ranger swear Ford warranty is worse than going to IRD to ask for refund. Auto connexion is the worst dealer you will want to deal with. Look at Alfa brand(can vomit blood dealing with the folks there), they practically killed the brand and people who got the Alfa guiletta are left holding their own balls.

If you ask my opinion between fiesta or 208, go get the 208. The interiors, safety all are much better than Fiesta. Fiesta interior is cramp and you need to have a hobbit hand to press the mini button on a 80’s lcd screen.

• I think u stay in jungle la..peugeot not alot in msia? …lol..mayb u shud say y most msian stop buying altis..

• brazbuz on Aug 17, 2015 at 8:00 pm

Gurun is hub for RHD model, i guess, how many unit sold here is not really an issue

• intermilan on Aug 17, 2015 at 9:05 pm

Less people buy peugeot now compared to 3-4 years ago.

Its mostly due to people high awareness on reliability and/or known issues related to the engine, turbo and electronic systems.

Some of these issues are unresolved. Pity those owners who had to live with such reality. Most of this are expensive stuff to repair.

I hope they have eliminate all these issues with current new models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Golfer on Aug 17, 2015 at 9:35 pm

Buy this car and enjoy it for the first 6 months and regret for the rest of your life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • peugeot prob on Aug 17, 2015 at 9:40 pm

508 problems here, power windows literally just dropped down, just changed the whole engine, waiting to register in jpj

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Pug owner on Aug 17, 2015 at 10:28 pm

Pug owner here. Too much troll from sales advisors here. If you use these comments as a guide to buy a car, good luck. Do your own research!

Love my pug. If you buy a car to resell, don’t buy conti.

• Jobless on Aug 17, 2015 at 10:50 pm

My gud fren like many car novices bought non turbo 308 (it was vely hot model at tat time coz French car approx Rm100k) and he confirmed the infamous battery poblem happned twice to him..cannot start the car after work …malu betul…if u drive all these unknown brands most people will think u r the weird kind…same with kimci cars nobody will bat an eye

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Fanboys claim Pug handling better than Japs, got proof? If not, all bull talk only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • rchoo on Aug 18, 2015 at 9:03 am

I am the real proof. Travel weekly between betwwen Ipoh – KL. Love every minute of it. Jap cars historically are associated with cheap cars, cheap maintenance and good RV. Are all these advantages still valid or still hold? The 1st 2 definitely not true any more, maybe RV just slightly better (not much though).

• Handling lar!! What nonsense you talking about cheap cars, cheap maintenance and RV? Since when Pugs are premium cars? It is bread & butter , only fanboys take it as premium.

Coming back to handling, got proof? Speeding down NSE, even a Kancil or a Bentley can do the same.

• car lover on Aug 18, 2015 at 3:26 pm

GO FOR TEST DRIVE AND U WILL KNOW.. FEEL IT URSELF.

• i thk this gona be price rm150k +/-

• suomynona on Aug 18, 2015 at 11:03 am

Ha? No way man. They’ll be the next VW if they do that,D seg price over C seg car. Expect the price to be like the new 308,max shud not pass rm140k.

• Hey! The driver was filling R95! How to test the optimum power? LOL