Proton Design Competition 2015 extended to Sept 17

Proton-Design-Competition-logo

Proton has extended the deadline for submission of entries for the Proton Design Competition 2015 to September 17, 2015. This is to provide the contestants, especially from secondary schools, additional preparation time while they juggle between the festive holidays and assessments for students sitting for PT3.

To recap, this year’s theme calls for a concept car for a Malaysian family, one with a design that echoes the sort of technologies one might see in the next 20 years. The aesthetic should also reflect Malaysian lifestyles and values but with a global touch. As before, participants can utilise any medium they prefer, whether digital or pencil and paper. There are attractive cash prizes of up to RM15,000 to be won.

The competition is again divided into two categories, but the rules of eligibility have been tweaked for 2015. Category 1 is open to groups of up to three students each, between 13 and 17 years of age – entries must come with the endorsement of the respective schools’ principals or head teachers, as well as a school stamp.

PROTON_COMP-ENG

Moving up, Category 2 is open to individuals aged 18 years and above; unlike last year, there’s no age cap. Only Malaysians are allowed to take part, and they must possess a valid Malaysian identity card.

Submission formats have also been changed – all participants must now submit exterior development sketches; these must be hand-drawn either using traditional media or a digital sketching tablet. This is in addition to the final illustrative renderings – either hand-drawn or 3D – that were required last year.

Category 2 entrants are also now required to provide a vehicle packaging diagram that illustrates the positioning of the occupants and the powertrain, along with 2D or 3D illustrative renderings of the interior.

PROTON_COMP-ENG

For the entry to qualify, participants must also provide a Design Brief in an A4 size paper containing the title of the design, the design concept and unique selling proposition of the car. Participants can submit a maximum of three (3) designs via mail only for this year; the entry form for the competition can be downloaded here (BM form here) or collected from selected Proton outlets nationwide.

To get a head start, read our previous Proton Design Competition 2015 feature stories: a deeper dive on how to package a vehicle effectively, plus tips and tricks, as well as what makes a Proton look like a Proton.

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• Proton ugly car design now need the rakyat to correct? Puihh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 25
    • x habis habis dengan mindset negatif

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 31
      • Ala….biasalah org malaysia~ semua produk negara sndiri xde kualiti katanya, memalukan,sadis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
        • Badger on Aug 19, 2015 at 11:46 pm

Syok sendiri contest. In the end still rebadge Japs car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 20, 2015 at 2:16 pm

It better doing something for the sake of company survival rather barking in this forum. Many vendors will suffer if Proton falls. Proton will grow stronger under DRB and Procurement must continue to recruit good vendors to retain good quality product as it proven in Iriz.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Aug 20, 2015 at 9:30 am

Proton is for poor people. Only poor people should apply to do this competition. The middle class and upper class, please do not apply.

Proton is so low class only the low class can come out with their designs and low safety quality. Infact, preferably retards should do designs for Proton, after all, each and every designer of Proton is already a retard.

Low class junk.

I appeal all those reading this to aim high in life. Look at me, I am just a Toyota salesman but I am already buying my 3rd Lexus. Work hard and you can get better things in life like a superb Toyota Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
          • Allroadquattro on Aug 20, 2015 at 1:49 pm

moral of the story: don’t be lazy

• Electron on Aug 19, 2015 at 10:27 pm

You positive mindset go suck Azlan’s nutsack, Proton head of design buat apa? Mahu murid sekolah design untuk dia ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
        • readmore on Aug 20, 2015 at 7:46 am

Tell that to pug VW and others . They had such competition too

• Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 20, 2015 at 8:10 am

Only kiasu have these negatives kind of mindset. Loyal rakyat will support Malaysian product. Ah Beng heard that Proton Styling extended the deadline due to positive response from contestants. Some of them just heard the competition and unable to meet the deadline. This is a good feedback from loyal rakyat and positive sign to Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
      • Macam pernah nampak je. From Proton Shah Alam right?

• How proton want to sale the 3 new car next year…..with economic fall now and maybe interest up next year….still wonder what their plan

• Cannot get the better design ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • IrizX on Aug 19, 2015 at 11:51 pm

This is true design from rakyat, current models like Saga, Preve or Suprima are rubbish design

• Bungkus on Aug 20, 2015 at 8:14 am

Sales tak laku.

Design response pun tak laku.

Hopeless Proton.

• 1 Toilet Design on Aug 19, 2015 at 7:44 pm

They probably got one 1 design drew by someone whom came to service their car at proton service center which took like 8 hours for a normal service and that person drew a sketch on the toilet paper… Where got competition can extend !!! Stupid PROTON ….CLOSE SHOP AND STOP PRODUCING CARS, TOTAL FAILURE !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
  • Samloolovetoyota on Aug 19, 2015 at 7:46 pm

toyota no need design competition
    we can design our own car by ourself

• frossonice on Aug 20, 2015 at 11:12 am

They too have design contest la. For people who claim to love a brand, shameful la not knowing much about their own lover.

• lack of participation probably

• R & D already out of ideas…this is the only way out to get new designs. ..Close Down Lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • darkermarker on Aug 19, 2015 at 8:57 pm

It is not cannot get better design…
    In fact, no one submitted any design to proton.

Waste of time & money, unless syoik sendiri…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • GetLost on Aug 19, 2015 at 9:09 pm

Hahaha… I punye anjibg pun tak mau kete Malaysia… Extend la competition u kat kindergarten students! Muahahaha…

• Jobless on Aug 19, 2015 at 9:09 pm

Even if jobless oso me wont sabmit any entry to tis wasting time contest…will the winning design be copyrighted

• frossonice on Aug 19, 2015 at 9:37 pm

When Proton come out with new car, people complaint design not nice etc. Proton come out with competition, the same people criticising Proton for not having talents.

Why don’t you design one if you can. Cakap ikut bontot memang senang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
    • Like you complaint Toyota design not nice, sama jugak

• frossonice on Aug 20, 2015 at 11:09 am

Since when I always complaint Toyota design not nice?

I like the new Vios design sans body-kit. I like the new Altis design too. I don’t like the Camry, Innova and Avanza designs.

You see, I’m not some Proton’s fanboy. I’m a fan of a good car be whatever make they may be. I don’t go bashing carmakers because I hate them. I like all car makers except for some Chinese brand which really should be shoot with flame thrower each time I find one. I believe in constructive criticism, not just blind bash like some idiots here.

Asking Proton to close shop WILL NOT make car price in Malaysia lower. In fact, it may go up more because of it.

• Hor Shen Hau on Aug 19, 2015 at 10:18 pm

Guys,you all totally misunderstand about this competition.This competition was held because we at Proton want to mencungkil bakat rakyat Malaysia,and not because we are lack of idea to design car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • This is CSR lah….. all other company doing the same similar CSR method. Not just this company. Think before commenting.

• wtf..

• alfred on Aug 26, 2015 at 1:10 am

is it true that , they extend the date ?

• Farah zulaikha on Nov 28, 2015 at 10:30 pm

When will the winner be announce?