GIIAS 2015: Fourth-generation Lexus RX live gallery

GIIAS Lexus RX 16

The new Lexus RX was the main event at Lexus’ GIIAS 2015 stand. The best-selling model in the brand’s 26-year history took its place alongside the Lexus ES facelift, which is open for booking in Malaysia and is set to be launched very soon.

Back to the SUV. The new RX made its world debut at the New York show earlier this year. Now that it has smaller sibling NX to take care of the compact SUV market, the RX has been given freedom to grow – its wheelbase is up by 50 mm to make 2,789 mm. The exterior is as you’d expect from a modern Lexus – spindle grille, super sharp and edgy.

GIIAS Lexus RX 10

Project chief designer Gen Ikeda says that the new RX’s design concept was “Seductive Strength” and the SUV has bolder proportions via the increased wheelbase and bigger wheel size. The man with the pen says that it has “unmatched presence”. It looks very bold, for sure.

In NYC, the RX was revealed with a 3.5 litre V6 engine (RX 350) and a 3.5 litre V6 mated to a hybrid drive system for the RX 450h. Both deliver 300 hp. In April, Lexus announced the RX 270-replacing RX 200t, which uses the latest 235 hp/350 Nm 2.0 litre turbo unit from the NX. The unit pictured here is an RX 350 with the F Sport package and a red cabin, as per official images below.

This new Lexus RX will be coming to Malaysia in the near future, and it’ll be an easier sell than before too, especially with the new 2.0 turbo engine.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• We must be grateful to our BN Government for giving us great cars here at reasonable prices.

All those idiots with negative anti gomen attitude should bugger off

• Same L0rrrr on Aug 21, 2015 at 2:08 pm

Why Lexus so expensive in Malaysia? Thanks to Proton! Proton is considering to give out free condom along with new car purchase to show that they are SERIOUS ON PROTECTION!

• Is bcos Malaysian greedy, UMW Toyota greedy, G greedy. So is not about protection.

• Same L0rrrr on Aug 21, 2015 at 6:12 pm

If gov dare to remove the excise duty and import tax, make the market open for all competition, you think my boss still dare to price the Lexus like that? Time to use your brain and think further.

• More aggressive and futuristic-looking than the current RX which IMHO too docile and subtle.
    Pricing-wise I expect it won’t be less than 350k

• I don’t know why people spend so much on a Toyota in disguise. Buy a Proton, it is better than this Lexus and at the same time, you help your country to prosper and do well.

I can swear to you, a Proton is 100 times better than any Lexus in town. It is the twisted perception of Malaysians worshipping foreign products that has caused problems

• eVaz88 on Aug 21, 2015 at 9:11 am

Wow! Looks like a mean machine!

• Underneath it all, it’s just a TOYOTA. I know the UMWT fans sure get butthurt here. But I would like to repeat: Toyota = Lexus = Toyota. It’s a Toyota, this is a TOYOTA!

• Does not mean that is shares some DNA with Toyota it is a Toyota. It dumb of you to assume that. By that logic, all the Q3/Q5/Q7/cayenne and are all VW. Same argument, you share around 98% of your DNA with a chimpanzee does not necessary makes you a monkey (I could be wrong based on your comments).

• Head Hunter on Aug 22, 2015 at 3:19 am

What’s not to like about sharing the Toyota gene? It’s super reliable and the styling is great too. Pricing maybe off due to our protectionism towards Proton but I kid you not, I drove the NX earlier this year and the car was miles better than the equivalent Evoque in terms of build quality. Lexus is a brand revered and regarded highly to be on par with Mercedes and BMW in the states and EU so what’s not to like about them.

Just because they share a platform with their parent company that makes the Avanza doesn’t mean it is bad bro. Not even boring, far from it.

• Billionaires on Aug 21, 2015 at 9:16 am

Ugly

• DPCraft on Aug 21, 2015 at 9:50 am

Nice car, but I think NX looks better. Anyone has notice the Like and Dislike button missing ??

• heybadigol (Member) on Aug 21, 2015 at 10:07 am

When the new Acura MDX came out, I thought it looked uninspiring & very bland. Then, the new Audi Q7 was launched, it too looked uninspiring (heck, the old Q7 looked much better). Now, this disease affecting large luxury SUVs seems to have struck Lexus too. The new RX looks ugly. Interior is very nice though.

• Red seats. Really?

Its the 70s all over again.

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 21, 2015 at 1:26 pm

The NX didn’t do that well here so one can only hope to see the RX doing better here.

• Cusco on Aug 21, 2015 at 2:53 pm

Erk…cannot blend the edgy and sharp design. Prefer the JDM XU60 Harrier instead. Recond now can get.

• gaviny on Aug 21, 2015 at 3:14 pm

even the water in the holder is premium Perrier sparkling water

Am i poor or i’m just poor

• If u hv plenty of money, u won’t go to buy Lexus.

• RM400K+-?
    Not bad