Mazda MX-5 launched in M’sia: 2.0L, 6sp auto, RM220k

Mazda MX-5 11

It’s been a long time coming – the car was unveiled this time last year – and after several months of teasing and leaked info and photos, the fourth-generation ND Mazda MX-5 has finally been launched in Malaysia.

First things first, let’s not beat around the bush, because this is one expensive little tyke. There’s only one variant, and one price; you’ll need a cool RM219,999 – on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of a three-year/100,000 km warranty and a three-year/60,000 km free service package – to drop the top on this one.

But hey, at least our MX-5 is loaded up to the teeth with kit. The lithe, if rather divisive styling is bolstered with adaptive LED headlights, LED daytime running lights and the larger 17-inch wheels, the latter shod with 205/45-section tyres. Keyless entry, an option in other markets, is also fitted here.

Step inside and you’ll find that the minimalist driver-oriented cockpit is equipped with push-button start, auto lights and wipers, cruise control, auto air-con, leather upholstery, the now-familiar MZD Connect infotainment system with a seven-inch touchscreen and Commander Control knob and a nine-speaker Bose sound system (with headrest speakers, just like the original!).

On the safety side, there are four airbags (front and side), ABS with EBD and Brake Assist, Dynamic Stability Control (DSC), High Beam Control (HBC) and Lane Departure Warning System (LDWS).

Under the bonnet, we get the more powerful of the two engines available worldwide – a 2.0 litre high-compression, direct-injected SkyActiv-G four-pot that makes 158 hp at 6,000 rpm and 200 Nm of torque at 4,600 rpm.

A six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission with paddle shifters is all we’ll be able to choose. You’ve probably heard us lament the lack of a manual gearbox option for long enough – so I’ll save it – but suffice to say, if you’re looking for a row-your-own ‘box for your Roadster, you’ll have to look elsewhere. Also equipped are an i-stop auto start stop system and i-ELOOP energy regeneration.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• urzu3 on Aug 21, 2015 at 6:02 pm

is it worth the money..?
    japan’s 1.5 top spec around RM95K.. @____@

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 21, 2015 at 6:11 pm

Go for the Honda S1000 when it launches and it’ll definitely be under RM200k for sure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • Every car brand go through ‘Proton’s Tax’ sure expensive one, not just Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
      • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Aug 22, 2015 at 12:20 pm

Malaysia is a super rich country to begin with. In the world, Malaysia is the most resource rich country in the entire world. We have everything, oil, gas, tin, iron, gold, palm, kuprum, coconut, nenas and even some very rare materials that are super high in price.

There is abundance and enough to make Malaysia into developed nation with cheap cars IF there no NO SONGLAP.

One man can songlap 2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions.

Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM80 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor

what about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?

It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap.

This is why this car is so expensive. Too much of Songlap, until Government has no money. So, they got to perah from car buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 22
      • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Aug 22, 2015 at 12:23 pm

Pity we Malaysians, cannot buy good cars because to much of stealing going on

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Same L0rrrr on Aug 21, 2015 at 6:03 pm

For such spec, what is the difference getting a Mazda 3?

For such price, our GT86 obviously is a better choice.

You won’t go wrong with sushi cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
    • U mean the Subaru BRZ Right? toyota’s have no soul and they have to clone other cars to make their brand look good. Keep it to yourself uncle, toyotas are like sponge cakes with no flavour.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 23
      • You just show your stupidity. BRZ and GT86 are the same car with different shell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
        • Thats what i meant son, learn comprehension.

• Learn to suck milk first lah you

• Comeonlah on Dec 02, 2015 at 10:18 pm

Haha.. thx to our government we get someone like b. Zero comprehension skills. Go bck suck najib’ balls la u..

• Sam_lol on Aug 21, 2015 at 6:03 pm

Why no manual?? Buy toyota lah better. Buy today tomorrow price appreciate like gold

• First they launched Mazda 2 with normal projector bulb headlamps. Now they launch MX5 with AUTO only.

The distribution team is probably smoking a lot of pots this year. The top management who approve this smoke with them too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • najeep on Aug 21, 2015 at 6:28 pm

wow..should sell like hot kuehs

• This or golf gti ?
    This or BMW 316i ?

• zamer on Aug 21, 2015 at 8:14 pm

320i is not far away..and much more powerful
      200nm and 158hp for RM220k?

u will feel total regret when GTI overtakes and disappear entirely from your view

• You almost have a valid point, in lawless malaysia, horsepower counts on the highways. But this car is meant to be driven with the top down in cooler climates. Ive driven these in New Zealand in the winter and autumn and still its not easy to live with, the sun and other elements can overwhelm you, especially on the highway or when sharing the road with lorries. The smoke and noise can un-nerve you.

• camtakpro on Aug 24, 2015 at 9:34 am

For Mazda fangay, they will say down hill race will win GTi because it is lighter. Raining will be even faster.

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 21, 2015 at 9:52 pm

What r u smokin bro? The Golf GTI is a 4 door hatch and the 316i is a sedan while this is a 2 door roadster – all different segments!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
      • Matchy on Aug 22, 2015 at 11:44 am

In Malaysia, we buy cars based on price, not segments!

• tokmoh. on Aug 22, 2015 at 9:19 pm

Exactly. People don’t think “what C segment car I can get?”

People think “what can i get for RM200k+-?”

Then people recommend based on individual need/profile. Got second or third car? Screw practicality, can get MX-5.

Single but need practicality? Golf it is.

Got family? Dislike pay road tax? 316i then.

• Buy Proton lah, why waste money? Proton better than all

• tokmoh. on Aug 23, 2015 at 3:12 am

Proton don’t have 2.6billion” wheels, so msian don’t want. Proton need to offer 42billion” wheel then people would buy

• I ate on Aug 24, 2015 at 8:07 am

So in other words, people buy based on segments.

• camtakpro on Aug 24, 2015 at 9:41 am

Not price alone. In Malaysia, we buy cars based on brand+price. And brand alone can tell many things like parts availability, perceived reliability and service center average ratings (and RV lol).

eg. 140k Jap vs 140k Korean vs 140k conti or
          80k Jap vs 70k Proton vs 90k fake conti.
          or
          40k Proton vs 40k Perodua.

• Safety first on Aug 21, 2015 at 7:02 pm

Why no curtain airbags? Got Isofix ah?

Just kidding… just to lighten the mood for the weekend.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • tinmilo on Aug 21, 2015 at 10:09 pm

They got the pricing wrong… won’t be seeing many on the road for sure…
    Well… at least they got the launch chics right. ..

• Darwyne on Aug 21, 2015 at 10:25 pm

158hp sell at rm220k, are u kidding me? At least u gotta give 200hp man

• Tak Suka Keluar! on Aug 22, 2015 at 12:27 pm

Malaysia, you cannot demand. Otherwise, you will be asked to keluar. We can only get low safety cars with high prices.

• KKZOOM on Aug 22, 2015 at 1:09 pm

Stupid…. this is a Miata. go research more before you blah nonsense

• bro, dis car is oni 1 tonne weight, u duneed 200bhp to do 0-100 in 7 seconds for a 1 tonne car

for the weight of dis car, its like having 160bhp in a perodua myvi, n dat is alot for a car dis light

• Jon Jafari on Aug 21, 2015 at 10:49 pm

If not for the price and the automatic transmission, one would be sitting in my car porch right now.

• mazda3 on Aug 21, 2015 at 11:21 pm

wahhh.. event my mazda3 ckd got more feature than this.. with halfprice tag. people how buy this must be very rich and donno wat to do with alot of money.. let say u have 0.26billion cash, mybe u will buy this car

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Aug 22, 2015 at 12:22 pm

With RM2.6 billion you can buy about 5000 units of this car.

• 220k is almost 3-series territory. Guess it’s for those already driving those German rockets and looking to diversify into Japanese flavoured speed.

• If the launch edition w/ soft top is already 220k, howabout the hard top spec? 250k? BN and their tax system have to go.

• stupid comments on Aug 23, 2015 at 12:54 am

tak launch di malaysia, u orang hari hari harap launch…lepas launch, cakap mahal la, lebih baik beli kereta lain….macam macam comments….takda wang jangan cakap bukan bukan…penat lei

• shawal on Aug 23, 2015 at 6:42 pm

Manual is coming….
    Aiyark…if got d cash sure will buy one..
    But bermaz should revise the price….
    Its really overpriced…

• They really think there is a demand for this car over here ?? They should rush the new CX5 and CX3 in ASAP ..

• najib on Oct 04, 2015 at 12:25 am

why everytime there is new post about new car, sure many idiots will comment about politics ….pls talk related to cars…