Audi A6 facelift launched in Malaysia – from RM325k

audi-a6-facelift-launched

The 2015 Audi A6 facelift has been launched in Malaysia! Revealed to the world almost a year ago, the rejuvenated C7-generation rival to the Mercedes-Benz E-Class and BMW 5 Series has finally landed on our shores in two distinct flavours – a turbocharged 1.8 TFSI variant sits alongside a 3.0 TFSI version.

We begin with the exterior, then. The Audi A6 facelift features a mildly updated suit, replete with a redesigned Singleframe front grille, redesigned front air inlets, a rear bumper with a diffuser-like element, more pronounced side sills, LED rear lights with bolder graphics and restyled xenon headlights. Standard on the 1.8 TFSI variant are xenon plus headlights with high-beam assistant.

Moving on to the 3.0 TFSI variant, it gets LED headlights and LED rear lights with dynamic indicators as standard. Both variants feature electrically-folding side mirrors for added convenience. The 3.0 TFSI unit adds on a rearview camera and electrically-operated boot lid. Naturally, Audi’s Matrix LED headlight technology are offered as cost options on both variants.

audi-a6-3-0-tfsi-facelift 2

As mentioned, the Audi A6 facelift is available with two petrol engines – a 1.8 TFSI and a 3.0 TFSI option. In profile, the 1.8 variant wears 10-spoke, 17-inch aluminium wheels shod with 225/55 Pirelli Cinturato P7 tyres. The 3.0 TFSI variant is equipped with 15-spoke, 19-inch wheels wrapped in 255/40 Pirelli P Zero tyres.

The turbocharged 1.8 mill puts out a total of 190 hp and 320 Nm of torque from 1,400 to 4,100 rpm while the 3.0 TFSI, 333 hp and 440 Nm from 2,900 to 5,300 rpm. Both are paired to a seven-speed S tronic double-clutch transmission with the 3.0 TFSI sending its power to all four corners via quattro all-wheel drive system.

Performance figures include a century sprint time of 7.9 seconds for the front-wheel drive 1.8 TFSI model, while the more powerful 3.0 TFSI unit stops the clock in a sports car-rivalling 5.1 seconds. Top speed is rated at 233 km/h for the 1.8 TFSI while the 3.0 powers on to 250 km/h. Fuel consumption figures are recorded at 5.7 l/100 km and 7.4 l/100 km for the 1.8 and 3.0 TFSI variants, respectively.

Click to enlarge images.

Inside, matters remain largely familiar, too. On the 1.8 TFSI variant, Milano leather seats (electrically-adjustable including memory function for the driver’s seat) are to be found as standard alongside a redesigned gear selector, a four-zone automatic air conditioning system, a four-spoke leather-wrapped multifunction steering wheel, reclining rear seat backrests and a smattering of aluminium accents.

Elsewhere, Audi drive select is also to be found as standard on both variants – said system allows for the optimisation of varying driving styles with modes like Auto, Comfort, Dynamic, Individual and Efficiency. The latter mode allows for a ‘coasting’ feature when one lifts off the throttle. The virtual cockpit system misses the boat, unfortunately – you’ll have to wait for the next-gen model.

An electromechanical parking brake is standard, as is start-stop capabilities, rain-sensing wipers and heat-insulating glass while a wheelbase of 2,912 mm should help rear occupants get cosy in a little over a minute, we reckon. Standard entertainment comes in the form of Audi’s MMI radio plus system with a 6.5-inch electrically-operated colour screen and a sound system with 10 speakers.

audi-a6-1-8-tfsi-facelift 39

Jumping over to the 3.0 TFSI version, the one gets electric adjustment for the three-spoke, leather-wrapped multifunction steering wheel – paddle shifters further help to mark it out over the 1.8 TFSI. Elsewhere, Audi’s MMI navigation plus with MMI touch is standard. Said platform includes an 8.0-inch colour display along with a Bose surround sound system with 14 speakers.

Additional driver convenience on the 3.0 TFSI variant include Audi Connect functionality with Google Earth and WiFi capabilities. Said system will allow owners to connect to the Internet via a SIM card to access LTE high-speed data. The MMI touch feature enables touchpad functionality that enables direct input of characters to speed up prompts on the navigation system and such.

As for safety equipment, the 1.8 TFSI variant arrives with a total of six airbags – driver, front passenger, dual front side and head airbags. Also to be found are ESC, traction control, EDL, ABS with EBD and brake assist along with a puncture indicator and parking aid plus with selective display. Additionally, electronic child-proof locks, hold assist and Isofix and top tether child restraint system mountings are included.

audi-a6-3-0-tfsi-facelift 12

The 3.0 TFSI elevates the safety levels by arriving on the scene equipped with eight airbags – the additional two being the presence of dual rear side airbags. Also, it goes without saying that the 3.0 TFSI variant adds on every other safety feature from its lesser sibling.

A total of 13 colours are available – Ibis White, Glacier White, Brilliant Black, Oolong Grey, Mythos Black, Dakota Grey, Floret Silver, Diamond Beige, Aviator Blue, Tornado Grey, Havana Black, Moonlight Blue and Garnet Red.

Prices for the Audi A6 facelift begin at RM324,900 for the 1.8 TFSI variant, inclusive of on-the-road (OTR) costs sans insurance. The 3.0 TFSI version, on the other hand, goes for an estimated price of below RM500,000. The warranty is that of a four-year/120,000 km (whichever comes first) variety.

Audi A6 facelift 1.8 TFSI

Audi A6 facelift 3.0 TFSI

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• a relatively boring car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
    • mercs boring too :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
      • Where is Najib's Promise? on Aug 25, 2015 at 1:03 pm

This car in Europe and US so cheap. For a person in Europe or US, even normal salary work in McDonalds also, can buy this car without loan in 1 year (if he saves for 1 year without eating and living expenses)

Come here, crony distributor want to hantam puas puas.

The question we must be asking is, where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices?

Where is Najib’s promise? Najib promised 30 million people 2 years ago before the election that he would reduce car prices by 30 percent.

He said the 30 million people need not worry because BN always kept their word and never mungkir janji. He said if people voted for BN, he was 100% sure to reduce car prices by 30 percent.

Najib, in his speech told people that BN knew how much people suffered paying for their cars and he felt very sorry for the people, thus, he was sure to reduce car prices by 30%.

It is a well know fact, that we Malaysians are paying 3x the global prices of cars. And double whammy, not only we pay 3x the global prices of cars, our cars are stripped down so bad, it hardly lacks any safety features. Even our top D segment cars each have about 20 less safety features than the same car costing 3 times less overseas. For example, a 10 airbag Toyota Camry CBU in the US cost US$22,000. In Malaysia, this cost RM180k. And loads of safety spec taken out. For example Tyre Pressure Monitoring System and many others. Camry Hybrid in the US is US26,000. Come to Malaysia, should be tax free. CKD it using Malaysian parts should be even cheaper. But here sell RM175k

Now, what happened Najib? Where is your promise?

Najib also said that by 2020, we would become high income nation. He said our GDP per Capita would be US$48,000. That would mean, per month, the average Malaysian would be earning US$4000 (RM15,000) per month.

Raja Nazrin, Sultan of Perak said this was pure lies. He said it is an utter lie because 78% all EPF contributors are earning RM1200 and below.

Do you see the average Malaysian earning RM15k per month by 2020?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 8
      • RM325k for 1.8? on Aug 25, 2015 at 1:11 pm

Audi A6 is RM46k in the USA. Audi Malaysia will get this car at cost price, usually about US$25k or below direct from Audi AG in Germany. Country distributor price is probably lower but let’s assume it is US$25k.

Tax and duties for 1.8 maximum also 110%

Berapa banyak mahu untung Audi Malaysia?

• Monkeys in SC (former Proton) on Aug 25, 2015 at 1:28 pm

The problem with Audi, it is run by the Proton fools. Even their technicians are from Proton next door.

Every gene of the Audi staffing from engineers to Customer Services are from Proton because Audi Malaysia and Proton are the same company.

So, you may buy a great overpriced German car, but you will still get monkeys looking after your car.

the same monkeys that were in Proton and used to give answers like, “Encik, what do you expect? It is a Proton, of course the oil will leak and you will hear cabin noise”

These are the same monkeys now handling Audi Malaysia aka former Euromobil aka former Proton staff

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
        • abc123 on Aug 25, 2015 at 2:17 pm

RM46k? i give u RM100k u get me one in US…
          BMW 520i price at RM369k and is CKD, so i dont know whats ur point here….

• 3 uncles dislike my comment :c

• Sam Loo Ori on Aug 25, 2015 at 12:31 pm

Lexus ES is better in every possible way than this dated junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
      • lexusbiscuit on Aug 25, 2015 at 1:06 pm

Lexus=Toyota. Nothing special

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
        • tiffany on Aug 25, 2015 at 3:05 pm

I think Lexus = Toyota is the reason why i love Lexus.

it is more reliable, low maintenance built luxury.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • US$46,200. Malaysia RM500k on Aug 25, 2015 at 1:16 pm

Audi A6 3.0 in the US is US$46,000. Not the 1.8

Malaysia RM500k.

Mana ada logic? Can the cronies pls stop cheating Malaysians. Already life is difficult. Ringgit has no more value. House prices are not affordable (khazanah report)

Now somemore want to perah the rakyat

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Aug 25, 2015 at 1:31 pm

One man can songlap 2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions.

Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM80 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor

what about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?

It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap.

This is why we get low spec lousy cars with super high prices. Our guardians are more interested in Songlap than fighting for the rakyat to get good and safe cars that are also reasonably priced.

• abc123 on Aug 25, 2015 at 2:22 pm

excuse me, in USA A6 3.0 start at $61.6k not 46k… go blame government high tax

• your new pm on Aug 25, 2015 at 11:42 am

is the 1.8 rwd or fwd?

• Audi has no RWD models. They’re all either FWD or AWD (quattro).

• BeemerFreak on Aug 25, 2015 at 12:19 pm

Crap where is the 2L with 256bhp?

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 25, 2015 at 12:51 pm

Hmmm interesting move by Audi they decided to push the price lower with the 1.8 model and it does have decent spec in it although it would be nice to be able to specify some options like nav, comfort access or even the LED headlights. With this new entry price the 328i M-Sport or the C250 AMG Line would seem to be a tad more expensive.

Since there is a big price gap between the 1.8 and the 3.0 it would be wise for them to bring in the new 2.0 kitted up with Quattro for around RM400k to match the E250 and 528i M-Sport…or better sell it below RM400k to make things more interesting!

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 25, 2015 at 2:53 pm

Thanks for the updated pics Greg, now I can see how does the 1.8 look. Not to bad actually when compared to the entry level 520d. The 520d ups the 1.8 by having adaptive LED headlights, full LCD info display and nav while the 1.8 has quad zone climate control, slightly better sound system, a bit quicker on the 0-100kmh sprint and comes in around RM30k cheaper.

The 6.5 inch screen is a bit small to my liking on a car such as this but I admit, the nav system on any of these cars is crap when compared to Waze or Google Maps and what might be the reason why they took it out and bring down the price.

With this kind of pricing one can only hope to see a cheaper A4 (RM200k anyone?) with decent spec.

• I ate on Aug 25, 2015 at 12:55 pm

FWD? No quattro option?

• TCCY3020 on Aug 25, 2015 at 4:24 pm

Yup its FWD for the 1.8 spec-No Quattro option. Quattro is available for 3.0 TFSI spec only.

• Jerry on Aug 25, 2015 at 3:06 pm

Biggest disappointment is the price for the 1.8 version. I am expecting it to go below RM300k, of course the weak ringggit certainly did not help this cause.
    Second disappointment is there is no 2.0 version. If there is a 2.0 version is priced at around RM320k then it still seem reasonable.
    Some good news is that the 3.0 price dropped from RM525k to RM500k, but to pay that price for a car, someone must be really rich and that RM25k does not make much difference.
    Audi certainly did not help themself on the A6 when they price it like this. it is just a facelift and the infotainment inside is already dated. Their Audi TT already comes with virtual cockpit. So if they stick to this price, i am sceptical how much unit they can sell here in malaysia.

• tishaban on Aug 25, 2015 at 4:08 pm

Very basic design. Looks like a Kia to me. :D

So it looks like Audi is the Euro manufacturer with the lowest warranty now, 4 years/120k km only compared to Merc/Porsche (4 years unlimited), BMW/Volvo (5 years) and Ferrari (up to 10 years?)
    :D

• I dislike Audi A6 same old body and light front & rear .. I always want only Mercedes Benz E class

• Embee on Aug 26, 2015 at 3:02 am

In Singapore, Audi 1.8 comes with LED lights, just like our 3.0 version. Its w0od trim finish is to die for and specs are far superior than our 1.8.

Very disappointing move by Euromobil.

• abc123 on Aug 26, 2015 at 11:47 am

in sg cost $246k, with so much money of course you get more lo…