More Mandarin-speaking cops to be placed at police stations to encourage reports – Nur Jazlan

2015-PDRM-POLICE-CAR

The minute a car accident occurs, two things come to mind – the collision itself and the difficulty of having to make a report at a police station. The latter is especially so if the person has trouble speaking and writing in either Bahasa Malaysia or English.

This sentiment has been echoed by Deputy Home Minister Datuk Nur Jazlan Mohamed, who said that the matter has in fact become a deterrent to some, especially victims of Chinese ethnicity. According to The Sun, this has often led to car accidents and crimes going unreported.

Nur Jazlan suggested that the Malaysian police force should recruit more Mandarin-speaking policemen, who can then be posted at police stations to address the issue. The move will hopefully encourage this silent group to come forward and file the reports, as they rightfully should.

“We can place more Chinese policemen to be on standby at the counter, it is just a matter of relocation. If we do not have the numbers now, then perhaps we can recruit more,” he told the daily.

So, have any of you encountered language difficulties in lodging a report after a car accident? Share your thoughts with us in the comments section below.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• hahaha on Aug 25, 2015 at 1:15 pm

oh really???…. looking forward to seeing this happen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Non Bumi Mau Jawatan di PDRM on Aug 25, 2015 at 1:36 pm

Why don’t PDRM employ more non bumi? 90% of the PDRM is Bumi.

They say non bumi don’t want to apply. Not true. I know so many non bumi want to apply to PDRM.

So, this gimmick won’t work. Get more non bumi in the PDRM and Army lah. Even army 98% are bumiputera.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 24
      • kzm (Member) on Aug 25, 2015 at 7:01 pm

not many come even pdrm or army do recruiting session.. they even come to school to find n encourage new non bumi to join. the result still dismal. Currently there is on going recruitment for air force. Army recruitment for august just ended.

• Non-bumi says:
        If u join army, u are traitor to ur parents.
        If u join polis, u are traitor to ur community.
        If u join BN, u are traitor to ur race.

So becum winliaolor!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
        • johnny on Aug 25, 2015 at 11:37 pm

U join UMNO and give some ‘donation’ to your leader lah, u are setia kepada raja dan negara

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
        • Ha ha ha on Jun 15, 2019 at 11:25 pm

Stupid racist john. Now in 2019, you are a joke in Paultan

• Australia VS Malaysia on Aug 25, 2015 at 1:41 pm

90% of the 1.5 civil servants are Bumiputera. Should ask many of them to learn Tamil and Mandarin

What shocks me is this. Malaysia got 30 million rakyat. But got 1.5 million Government Servants

Australia got 30 million people but got 250,000 civil servants (government servants)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
      • kzm (Member) on Aug 25, 2015 at 7:41 pm

lol…in australia teacher is not consider govt servant. if include teacher how many u think they have civil servant?

In boleh teacher is govt servant. teachers alone is ~420k (until 31st dec 2014), military ~150k, polis ~120k, govt hospital doctor/nurse ~80k..which part u think u can trim to make just 250k govt servant? i still dont include bomba, sprm, jpj, pbt (every state)…

• Pekerja Malaysia on Aug 25, 2015 at 11:55 pm

Lots of ‘extra’ servants just waiting for the G to feed them. Tak buat kerja pun tak apa. Boleh sembang dalam Bahasa Malaysia

• As Malaysian it is you have to speak well in Bahasa. Not the other way round.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • oh my god on Aug 25, 2015 at 1:26 pm

My experience is helping them typing and correcting their own in Bahasa, was wonder how come they cannot type a simple report and spell their own word correctly… oh my god

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
    • Dr Dogter Heart-beat on Aug 25, 2015 at 4:04 pm

I just took over the keyboard and helped them type it out. no issue at all. police was happy. he not a good speller. but he is good at gun. me not.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 291
    • Orang Kampung on Aug 25, 2015 at 1:48 pm

mungkin perlu juga letak polis yg bole cakap india, kelantan, jawa, bugis, banja, kadazan, tagalog, iban dan lain-lain.

• George Abdul on Aug 25, 2015 at 2:01 pm

Because Malaysia Govt poor education system… makes Malaysia as still 3rd world country today.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • Tesla on Aug 25, 2015 at 3:11 pm

Exactly, we already Merdeka for more than 50 years not just last year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • PDW7257 on Aug 25, 2015 at 3:37 pm

Spot On!

• DPCraft on Aug 25, 2015 at 3:55 pm

Well it’s a good alternative for old chinese grandma, not all people can speak well in Bahasa Malaysia. Sure everyone knows basic Malay language. But making a report is different.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Because ….erk malu nak cakap

• kzm (Member) on Aug 25, 2015 at 1:28 pm

They can always hire mandarin speaking civilian first..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 28
    • Top Brains from Uitm on Aug 25, 2015 at 1:38 pm

super intelligent answer from kzm. kzm always gives the most brilliant answers. Bravo. Uitm really produces top brains

• Gargantia on Aug 25, 2015 at 1:43 pm

As 1Malaysia why Govt don’t make chinese language as compulsory?

Another fact that BN are abuse using power…

58th MERDEKA coming… BN still moving backward and lies above lies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
      • DonkeyKong on Aug 25, 2015 at 6:27 pm

As 1Malaysia why don’t Chinese learn the national language for a change instead of sticking within their own social ghettos?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
      • ICLAINLAIN on Aug 26, 2015 at 4:16 am

i know u may feel that why should the authorities make everyone speak BM and not everyone speak mandarin or cantonese. i know that since u feel a language belongs to an ethnicity, there can be no middle ground in this argument. which by the way, i don’t agree that a language belongs to an ethnicity. anyone can pick up any language.

so in the interest in fairness, lets take english.. it doesn’t “BELONG” to any native ethnicity in our country.

why the flying farkadoos they can’t speak english then? we not asking you to write a Ph.D thesis and quote intellectuals. you just need conversational english. “i reading sms, i no see car jam brake in front of me, i never able to brake and then i bang his backside..”

problem is, your average ahsoh is happy living in jinjang or kepong, speaking mandarin to the mee kari aunty near her house, speaking mandarin to the chinese sundry shop owner, speaking mandarin to all her chinese neighbours, going back home and watching astro wah lai toi.

so she never bothered to try and reach out to the other members of the rakyat, but you asking us to learn mandarin to speak to people who never bothered to take up basic english?

same goes to the tamil speaking community in brickfields, and the malay speaking community in kampung baru.

we shelter ourselves from everyone else, mix with our own community only, thats why we fear others, thats how the higher ups keep us separated. divide and conquer was the best tool that the british taught our forefathers.

as a product of mixed marriage and friends from all races, religions, beliefs and walks of life, i can sit back and laugh at u all as u life out the rest of your lives in the bubble u created for yourself.

heres some 1Malaysia for you.

bodo – sohai – koodi

• kaunter tutup/rehat, mesin offline, sendiri-settle, tak-tahu-bila, etc……. Now in multi-lingual.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • SkullJuJu on Aug 25, 2015 at 1:59 pm

I always wanted to become a policeman. To serve and protect.

• teropong on Aug 25, 2015 at 2:07 pm

Why is it that a MALAYSIAN is unable to speak any form of Malay to begin with?

As far as I am concerned, we are can speak all the dialects and ethnic languages we want, but BM is the national language and a minimum for all to know. A poor excuse to begin with…then again we will have to talk about the education system, another can of worms

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • TauMelayuSikitSikitMaa on Nov 22, 2015 at 10:11 pm

Huahuahua

Those cops who are unfortunate enough to be placed at service counters must be really fed up already…having to deal with lots of ah bengs and ah mohs whom automatically say “tak tahu cakap melayu” when they come to police station for lodging police reports..it must be a nightmare for those unfortunate cops but what else that they can do…….just hire chinese translators lah as chinese are only interested in joining officer ranks only and not the rank and file ones.

• kangkung on Aug 25, 2015 at 2:18 pm

As a Malaysian, everybody should know how to speak the national language. It is an embarrassment when some party claimed they want their rights as a Malaysian, yet, the Bangladeshi who came to our country for less than 2 years, are indeed more fluent in Bahasa Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • The problem is not the language, but the attitude, I once had an accident andd to do a report, the police officer seem very inpolite and rude…this might cause many people not to do report, not only troblesome, but u will get scolded as well…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • Don’t divert attention lah. What we need is honest in-corrupt cop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Go to skool for 11 years. Dunno how to string even broken BM. Go to Bersih blame Gov dunno how to teach them. Topkek.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • One does not deserve to be called Malaysian if one has stayed here their whole life and cant converse fluently in/or Malay or English. It’s like being unable to converse in Mandarin in China or Hindi in India or French in France while calling yourself a citizen of that country.

Though I appreciate the effort, perhaps more focus should be put into simplifying the reporting process that language is not a barrier in the first place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • seancorr (Member) on Aug 25, 2015 at 2:41 pm

Yeah the process of making a police report is hellish. Not only do we need to word it in BM but it takes hours to do one. Imagine a mom with kids having to wait there after an accident at night.

• Not sure where u go but I went to 2 places, Shah Alam (really big!) and PJ. 1st done in 1hr & 2nd in 30mins (we drafted out the story while waiting our turn).
      You will only have problem if you dunno BM or too limited to describe to the cops.
      HS Lee in KL lets you to draft urself.

• Shaekey on Aug 26, 2015 at 11:42 am

I once typed my report at home, save it in a thumbdrive before I came to the police station to make the report. At the police station I gave the thumbdrive to the police officer and he just copy and paste what I’ve typed into the report. This was in Putrajaya.

• MikeWong on Aug 25, 2015 at 2:47 pm

AS IF reporting to these bunch is helpful and could see something good after that. Pfft.

• M'sian on Aug 25, 2015 at 3:24 pm

Even the longhouse folk in the far interior of Sarawak can speak BM well, this shows that they don’t even bother or care, and you said you are Malaysian..what..??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • C.P. MOHAN on Aug 25, 2015 at 3:32 pm

Think substance not superficial.

• Najib on Aug 25, 2015 at 3:33 pm

What a stupid move. like seriously? 58 years after independence and still cant communicate with Bahasa or English?? take step to educate them not pampering just to get vote from them la gov oi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • anak najib on Aug 25, 2015 at 3:34 pm

put more indian police officers for indians too la oi….

• Anton on Aug 25, 2015 at 3:35 pm

In Indonesia, no matter what races you are you speak Bahasa. And it was always an awkward situation for us (even for the Indonesian Chinese) to meet the non Malay people from Malaysia for the first times, since we assume that they could speak Bahasa Malaysia.

But I don’t know that this non Bahasa Malaysia speaking citizen problem is getting serious…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • U indons oso dunno ur own history. Sukarno took hardline approach and eliminate ethnic culture. All must be Bangsa Indon. Chinese there all r pussies and give in.

Here Tunku was pussy. We wan keep chinese language he gip. We wan keep clan culture, he gip. We wan keep chinese skool, he gip. We wan kick him out, he oso gip. Chinese here stronk not pussy like Indon Chinese. We speaking chinese to them, they dunno we cock stare them.

• Anton on Aug 26, 2015 at 10:46 am

Not Sukarno, it was actually on our second president Suharto. The Chinese Schools was closed on 1966, one year after transition from Sukarno to Suharto. In 1967 all Chinese Language newspapers was terminated

But Suharto gave opportunities for Chinese to be rich, he gave monopoly right to Chinese businessmen such as flour importing monopoly to Salim Family, forest concessions to Sukanto Tanoto, Prajogo Pangestu and Sinarmas Group, all Chinese.

It’s proven that exchanging the right of culture for money was okay for Indonesian Chinese at that time.

• Black Dog on Aug 25, 2015 at 4:14 pm

So in Bolehland it’s alright to know just one type of the 3 main languages, Malay, English & Chinese?

But then, the Indians will complain!

• i’m sorry but malaysian chinese should able to converse in bahasa malaysia.if not then the person is not malaysian

• Kancil Hybrid on Aug 25, 2015 at 4:48 pm

Don’t waste time la gov.. Just change our Bahasa Kebangsaan to Mandarin. So hard one learning Bahasa Kebangsaan. Even hundreds of years staying in Malaysia also still could not get the tongue used to Bahasa Kebangsaan.

And don’t use number 4 too. Don’t include number 4 teaching math. Make illegal for vehicles to have number 4 on their number plate. Change to either 2A or 3A. Number 4 means die ma..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • jinggo on Aug 25, 2015 at 5:14 pm

dah bertahun merdeka pun tak reti bahasa, itu betul ke lahir malaysia or…

• nabill (Member) on Aug 25, 2015 at 5:44 pm

They need a good dose of english as well…

• policeman on Aug 25, 2015 at 5:48 pm

The reason behind not knowing BM is because these people live in their own world. They don’t mix with others. It’s their nature. Can’t help it.

• kennyjay on Aug 25, 2015 at 6:13 pm

if the person is an old uncle or aunty, that is acceptable.

but if the person is youngsters or younger generations, please lahhhhhh, if you cannot speak BM, dont stay in Malaysia. very embarrassing!

even those Vietnamese and Bangla foreign workers can speak fluent BM, so how could you have any kind of excuses when you are already exposed to BM from kindergarten until high school???

• karipap basah on Aug 25, 2015 at 7:01 pm

PDRM has long gone…….in to the drain.

What do you expect, really from PDRM?? Even the top cop IGP is only good at Tweeting….

• So many bomoh here. Even before speaking to Chinese, already knew every Chinese cannot speak BM. Actually the problem is Chinese in Malaysia speak too many type of languages, causing they can’t master all the language well, not even their own mother tongue, Mandarin. Try to ask Chinese from China or Taiwan, what kind of Mandarin we speak in Malaysia (Rojak).

• Tanahairku Malaysia on Aug 26, 2015 at 5:38 am

Coming to our 58th merdeka anniversary and still cant converse well in bahasa?? I dont see this happening in our fellow neighbour countries. C’mon la please learn up our national language.

• Wawasan on Aug 26, 2015 at 10:15 am

How can we improve if can only converse in BM? It is for third world country. Govt should change to English as national language if they aim to be a first world country

• TauMelayuSikitSikitMaa on Nov 22, 2015 at 10:52 pm

Japan, south korea and germany, all of them are 1st world countries and yet they still stick to their own mother tongue. Lots of countries at africa place english as their official language and yet they are still lagging behind us. This is malaysia buddy, and the official language of this country, no matter how the world changes will always be bahasa malaysia. Ada faham kawan?

• After 58 years of merdeka and they still cant speak proper bahasa??? Amazing!

• kl fella on Aug 26, 2015 at 4:55 pm

reality check. BM is not the language for business dealings whether locally or internationally. main criteria when applying for job is to to be able to write and converse well in english. i don’t even emphasize the importance of learning chinese and bm languages, instead i speak to my children in english since young

• TauMelayuSikitSikitMaa on Nov 22, 2015 at 10:30 pm

Sad for me to see such a mentality still exists among some malaysians, who seems to care about their own interests more than the country’s. Boy it’s true that english is the lingua franca for business transactions and also knowledge globally, but if you were malaysian, and proudly claim to be one at least try to master pasar malam level of bahasa malaysia (I’ve substituted the malay term if you hate malays so much), so that you will be able to chat freely with ordinary malaysians and not only mangling around your anglophile buddies (plus not going to give civil servants a big headache in the future).

• waklu on Aug 30, 2015 at 2:58 pm

Mat bangla dok setahun ja dah pandai bahasa melayu…. depa dok 30 thn xreti bahasa melayu.. lancau ja depa tau… mkn taii…

• TauMelayuSikitSikitMaa on Nov 22, 2015 at 10:39 pm

Bro depa duduk campur sesama sendiri aja…bila nak klaim sesuatu dari kerajaan barulah depa kata kita semua rakyat malaysia maa…tapi bila ditanya dalam bahasa malaysia automatik cakap saya tak tahu melayu…kakitangan kerajaan trutama yg bahagian hadapan ramai yg frust pasai hai ni, tak dilayan kena aduan pulak kalau nak layan tak tau nak cakap bahasa apa..kalau dah tua takpa la ni yang muda pun sama, terus speaking lagi….mana tak panas hati kalau yg muda pun tak tau cakap bahasa..tapi nak buat camna telan jelah.