JPJ acknowledges problems with VEP online reg

singapore road

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) has acknowledged that there are teething problems with the online registration of foreign vehicles for the Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP), The Star reports.

The Transport Ministry has been ironing out the issues since online registration started on August 15, said JPJ deputy director general (administration) Datuk Arifin Che Mat.

Asked whether booths had been set up at the Causeway or Second Link for people to register, Arifin said that this would be done at a later date. Johor JPJ has been receiving more than a dozen enquiries about the online registration daily and based on feedback, JPJ needs to address some issues, such as the registration forms being too complicated or ambiguous.

The VEP (RM20 from October 1) is implemented by the Transport Ministry via JPJ for ­foreign­-registered vehicles entering Malaysia. It will initially involve Singaporean vehicles entering via Johor. The second phase will cover Thailand; the third phase Brunei and Indonesia. VEP registration can only be done at www.jpj.gov.my/vep and upon signing up, vehicles will be given RFID tags.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Jokes.. jokes.. and jokes..

• xxXxx on Aug 26, 2015 at 12:01 pm

Malaysia boleh la ….

• Nasi Lemak 3.0 on Aug 26, 2015 at 6:37 pm

Its bolehland! Nasi lemak management!

• Clio172 on Aug 26, 2015 at 10:40 pm

I have managed to register three vehicles successfully. You need to have all the necessary details at hand. Online registration is easy.

• Md Oziullah Mojumder on Sep 10, 2015 at 6:15 pm

Dear Sir / Madam I am keep on trying to register VEP for my car online but the page not opening could you advise me how to register the VEP

• Soni I K on Sep 15, 2015 at 2:25 pm

Can i register without the hassel of going on line
    or to any outlets who assits in registering VEP

• wong kwok wah on Jun 03, 2016 at 12:19 pm

can you show me how to go about it ? i am keep apply on line BUT ….?

• I am having problem too. tried to register, VEP system said the authorization code would be sent to my email, however, never received.
      Mail to JPJ about it, and no reply till now, has been 3 days.

• I have the same problem with Dave.
    I had registered my previous car before but since I had changed to a new car, I decided to re register by logging in to the VEP System. But unfortunately, I had forgotten my password.
    I tried to retrieve it by clicking to “Forgot Password”. A new password will be given to my email. But till now never received.

So I set up a new account and VEP system said the authorization code will be sent to my email, and still never received too. Its been a week or so.

• BoonLai on Jun 08, 2016 at 1:02 pm

I have the same problem with Shah & Dave.
    did not received the password recovery emails. has been two weeks, and i have tried several times.

• LOW SENG HUAT on Sep 09, 2016 at 2:34 pm

already sucessfully registered and received reply from your department. but cannot open your data.

• James Ling on Oct 02, 2019 at 10:55 pm

I have tried today 2nd Oct. 2019 to apply for my EVP and I had encountered problem to register for it online like al you guys and after many attempts I gave up . Hope some body can advise me. Thank
    James