2016 Kia Sportage SUV officially revealed – first pics!

2016-Kia-Sportage-1

The 2016 Kia Sportage has been unveiled. These are the first official pictures of the next-generation SUV, released a few weeks after initial sketches were revealed. But of course, we’ve already seen the vehicle in full both inside and out through leaked images that went public last week.

It’s quite a big departure from the outgoing Sportage, this new one. The profile is largely the same, but the big bluff nose up front, with a stand-alone grille and high-mounted headlights are all new. The rear appears very sharp too, with slim wraparound LED taillamps that are positioned high along the car’s belt line.

2016-Kia-Sportage-3

The interior will get a big revamp in terms of quality too. “We recognise that for a more demanding audience issues such as interior quality, refinement and ride and handling are essential. All of those aspects have been addressed. We have done this because of what our customers have told us,” Kia UK boss Paul Philpott told Autocar.

Top models will get a large centre screen, “rich material quality” to improve perceived build quality, wireless phone charger and a Harman Kardon sound system. We will have more details of the 2016 Kia Sportage as they become available.

Current third-gen Kia Sportage facelift

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Blackg007 on Aug 27, 2015 at 3:39 pm

Oh Proton, when you want to improve and catch up? Now only left the China brands are comparable with you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
    • Mark Tan on Aug 27, 2015 at 3:53 pm

Inspiration Source:
      1. Front : Nissan Juke
      2. Rear : Toyota Harrier

Should Proton follow the route like Kia?
      Copy Copy Copy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 21
      • xiper (Member) on Aug 27, 2015 at 4:46 pm

To me the front is Porsche Macan alike and the rear is Range Rover Evoque alike

• Same L0rrrr on Aug 28, 2015 at 1:55 pm

Don’t insult Proton! Its Proton fanboys (especially Ah Beng) will come here shoot you brainless.

Proton has done much more than copy. Recently their R&D result show wheel should be round instead of rectangle, for better rolling.

Their R&D also find out it is ok for Proton headlights to break down often, considering Proton drivers are mostly experienced drivers, they are fine without headlight and side signals. That’s why you see so many noisy modded Proton on the road acting like a racing cars.

We should give credit to Proton R&D.

• W. Bryce on Aug 28, 2015 at 3:41 am

Is there any educated people who read and comment in here?

We’re discussing about Kia Sportage here, can anyone comment something related?

I think it is the time paultan.org be a blog like autoblog.com or topspeed.com where more educated people discuss maturely.

• RM150k Camry No VSC on Aug 28, 2015 at 9:54 am

Mazda and Nissan got 6 airbags. Kia also now giving more airbags. Toyota, even RM150k Camry got 2 airbags and no VSC.

Better to have less RV than die a vegetable

But we all know, even now Hyundai got more RV than a Toyota

• xiper (Member) on Aug 27, 2015 at 4:43 pm

Don’t forget with the chapati – Tata & Mahindra

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Aug 27, 2015 at 5:12 pm

Hyundai, KIA, Geely, Dong Feng, Great Wall, Tata, Mahindra all belong to the same category of manufacturers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
        • UMW ZERO saes on Aug 28, 2015 at 9:34 am

brader, Uw already got ZERO sales. Still want to bising ah? Ha Ha Ha. Everyone here laughing at you lah

• Well, Tata has their luxury division. Jaguar and Land Rover.

• tokmoh. on Aug 28, 2015 at 12:34 am

Chinese are making world’s safest cars today, Volvo and Qoros. Oops, now’s not the time to say Volvo is not Chinese after all, right? Riiiiight?

Inb4 believe in dear leader kim jong jib, Proton now as safe as Volvo. Berkereta jenama negara… megah menyusur di jalan raya…

• sarkcars on Aug 28, 2015 at 8:02 am

Who cares. People cannot buy qorntos here. Vulva is much much overpriced.

• heybadigol (Member) on Aug 27, 2015 at 3:40 pm

From the side profile, it looks more like a facelift, rather than a brand new model change.

• Sorry but to me it’s one of the ugliest fronts of an SUV I’ve ever seen

• Rover (Member) on Aug 27, 2015 at 6:10 pm

It’s quite bad… but you clear haven’t seen the Juke yet

• Same Lorr hater on Aug 27, 2015 at 4:10 pm

Since when Perodua Kembara has good RV? You tell me!

• What about Rush? good RV?
    Camry? good RV?

• baby porche..but a narrowed one

• xiper (Member) on Aug 27, 2015 at 4:47 pm

thats the front but it looks ugly, rear is the Land Wind X7

• Saravana gugen on Aug 27, 2015 at 4:27 pm

Its awesome , and waiting for his brother sorento 2016…

• Albert on Aug 27, 2015 at 4:38 pm

Local Kia distributor just chopped 300 staff at their Gurun plant today.
    At least Naza knows it is time to bite the bullet and retrench now cos they are bleeding.However,ever SYIOK SENDIRI PROTONG is still singing Michael jackson’s “WE ARE THE WORLD”,and hope the new Santa Claus from Saudi will splash Rm Billions to cushion the effect of falling sales.
    NAZA sudah insaf ,tapi Protong masih khayal dalam dunia everlasting perlindungan.

• CamPor on Aug 27, 2015 at 4:38 pm

Rear NICE
    Front UGLY

• Front look like Macan

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Aug 27, 2015 at 5:10 pm

Kimchis can look like Beemers or Rolls but they will never have RV

• What’s the point of RV when you’re not going to change it every year.

• No RV Coffin Toyota on Aug 28, 2015 at 9:38 am

RV thing is a lie that you have been telling for years. The truth is, Toyota has the worst RV. 2013 Altis 1.8 low mileage and accident free and registered September 2013 going for RM65k. Brand new Altis is RM139k.

In less than 2 years, your No VSC coffin is more than 60 percent own

• Porsc…..kia?

• shawal on Aug 27, 2015 at 5:58 pm

the rear is awesome,
    front is functional at best, but hey if ppl are willing to part money for a juke ,then they should have no problem with this..

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 27, 2015 at 8:59 pm

looks like somebody had many copulation partners

• Syameer (Member) on Aug 27, 2015 at 9:23 pm

Only peasants care about RV. Lol.

• the rear is totally toyota fortuner

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Aug 28, 2015 at 8:30 am

May have a market for 12 month old units now.

Pls encourage more sorhais to buy new kimchis

• applegreen on Aug 28, 2015 at 9:29 am

Ahh i dont think we can get that sport rim. Normally we get uglier or smaller sport rim

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 28, 2015 at 10:36 am

Can I have the exterior of the Tuscan and the interior of this Sportage? =]]]]]]

• huehuehue on Aug 28, 2015 at 1:09 pm

for tge first time i have to say.. its ugly.. especially the front part.. i have to say tucson looks better than this one

• FIST (Member) on Aug 28, 2015 at 1:18 pm

Errr no

• i_the_kiasu_people on Aug 30, 2015 at 11:48 pm

This design is totally wrong…why can’t just enhance the previous design ?