Bernie feels Mercedes dominance in F1 is ‘wrong’

Lewis_Hamilton_F1_2014_Champion_31

Bernie Ecclestone is very rarely wrong these days, and like fine wine, the wily old fox’s rants are getting better with age. But honestly, even to the most jaded and cynical Formula One observer, his latest comments are right on the money.

Ecclestone, in an interview with Dutch TV rights holder Sport 1, said that he’s getting pretty fed up with the Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team winning races with such indomitable supremacy.

“What we really need is more competition. What I don’t want to happen is what’s happened [last weekend] – before that race, you could guarantee that the Mercedes cars were going to be first and second if they finished – we’re talking about qualifying, and the race as well,” he said.

Lewis_Hamilton_F1_2014_Champion_02

Ecclestone is adamant that Mercedes’ dominance was the main cause for unrest in the paddock, despite recent races in Britain and Hungary that did buck the trend to a certain degree.

Mr E then expanded, “what we’ve got at the moment, which is wrong, is one very, very, very dominant team – with a particularly dominant engine.” Ecclestone then used the four-time world champion as a prime example to explain his logic, saying that “it’s not nice to see somebody like Vettel two seconds off the pace, because he is not two seconds off the pace.”

Formula 1’s ringleader has always been known for shooting his mouth off on issues like this, and during Vettel’s reign from 2010 to 2013, Bernie had also come up with similar comments. While Ferrari has occasionally threatened Mercedes’ domination this season with their upgraded engine and chassis, they are still a long way off from being real title contenders.

TEST PRE-CAMPIONATO F1/2015

So, where does all of this leave us for the rest of the season? It’s as clear as day that the Mercedes power unit is still the benchmark, with Ferrari only coming close at times, while the Renault power unit is always found wanting. And of course, at the end of the other spectrum, we have Honda just making up the numbers.

As they say, the only constant in life is change, and with rumours of Red Bull trying to terminate its engine deal with Renault for 2016 to engineer a switch to Mercedes power units, it all sets the stage for an exciting future for the circus that is Formula One.

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• Bernie Ecclestone: “Kalau takda competition, kita bina competition”

• ABTguy (Member) on Aug 28, 2015 at 4:41 pm

Mercedes ROCKS !!!

That’s why I always like Mercedes :-)

• BeemerFreak on Aug 28, 2015 at 9:13 pm

Bernie: We’ll work hard to prevent domination.
      Najib aka Najis: faster Use C4 and cabinet reshuffle to silent the competition.

• Najib will say: At least I din force someone to vacated his seat so that I can plonk my waifu on it with the ultimate purpose to get rid of my good friend just becoz he din let me put my hands into his 3 billion cookie jar.

• albag on Aug 28, 2015 at 2:22 pm

bring back the screaming engines… Bernie himself is already wrong in making decisions

• Efwan on Aug 28, 2015 at 2:41 pm

But if ferrari dominate is ok?

• taboogen on Aug 28, 2015 at 2:43 pm

do it like WWE lah then all scripted…

• heybadigol (Member) on Aug 28, 2015 at 3:03 pm

In the old days, when someone dominates (like Ferrari & Red Bull did), the others can catch up by copying or trying something new. Now, the silly rules bars engine makers from freely developing their engines/PUs. Its basically anti competition.

I am very sure Honda, Renault & Ferrari knows where their weaknesses are, but they can’t do much to correct them. Whoever got it right first time (in this case, Mercedes) will have a long period of dominance, until that rule is changed. I doubt any engine/PU supplier will want to join F1 after this.

I won’t be surprised if Renault just leaves the sport, rather than buying a team. It makes no economic sense to buy a mid-tier team, when your engine also sucks (and you can’t do anything about it).

• Jonn Dol on Aug 28, 2015 at 3:43 pm

That’s the price F1 have to pay once they start implementing the full complex hybrid engine regulation. F1 should start with mild hybrid system route before even thinking about implementing more complex system. Development cost will escalate enormously for sure, putting off many potential new engine suppliers. As for Honda engine’s lacking-in-horsepower issue, it also linked to the contribution of the complex hybrid system, because if the engine regulation does not include the bulls**t mgu-h and mgu-k units(that means only the turbocharged engine as the power motive) plus the silly token system for the car development, Mclaren-Honda would not have that kind of disaster we have seen so far this year – no way Honda would face severe horsepower issue. They have been building race engines for ages!

• petronas oil power lohh on Aug 28, 2015 at 5:32 pm

hahaha this problem is because mahathir mohamad lor

• David Sherwood on Aug 28, 2015 at 6:29 pm

And in the last 60+ years of F1, was it any different? There have been times Ferrari, McLaren, Williams, Tyrell, etc.,etc., have all been dominant for a few years at a time. Why does’nt Ecclestone fix what is wrong with F1, e.g. Diminishing audiences, little penetration in the U.S., poor web presence, teams in financial trouble.

• karipap basah on Aug 28, 2015 at 7:27 pm

Bernie sudah nyanyuk nie….

• Samantha Brady on Aug 28, 2015 at 9:38 pm

He said the same about Red Bull as well,I for one am thrilled about Merecedes doing well and a fantastic British Driver Lewis Hamilton doing well.

• Peter Aldus on Aug 28, 2015 at 9:53 pm

Why didn’t he complain when Ferrari were dominant ?

• David on Aug 28, 2015 at 11:02 pm

Just like every other era! Red bull! Ferrari mclaren honda! The list goes on so what’s the difference

• Sam Loo Wakudoki on Aug 28, 2015 at 11:42 pm

Bernie is Mahathir of F1..

• 4 years red bull smashed everyone and now it’s another team everyone is moaning…. How many years did Ferrari Dominate??. The sport is supposed to be the cream of the cream so let them develop, let them test and then you will get more competition..
    Personally Mercedes have done well to get to where they are… Was not long ago everyone was saying what is Lewis doing moving there!,, well Lewis made a great choice and I think the team would not be there if he did not help them get there..

Stop moaning and start working.. Get rid of the stupid rules that stop people catching up.. Bring back refilling and let them race flat out instead of pacing 90% of the race..

Not that hard is it??

• Rantson Tooth on Aug 29, 2015 at 7:25 am

That can change but we have had many teams dominate for longer periods! Vettal did a few titles at Red Bull year after year. As did Michael at Ferrari.
    I think sometimes it’s a case of look a things differently for some teams so they can extract the edge the need to get into the point and for other more investment should be considered.

• Bigshock on Aug 29, 2015 at 2:20 pm

Dominence comes and goes, unlike Bernie who has long outstayed his welcome

• tokmoh. on Aug 29, 2015 at 8:51 pm

Anil, u drunk? That old hag is the very reason F1 in a mess today.

F1, dubbed the “pinnacle” of motorsports should be the leader of advancement of technology. It should always be about pushing to the absolute limit, all the time, everywhere.

Where’s the fun when everyone’s playing who can conserve fuel, conserve tyres, conserve budget, conserve development, conserve, conserve, conserve.

Everytime someone innovates, it’s banned eg F-duct, double diffuser, RBR’s active suspension, FIA said until like that, Bernie win liao lor.

• Berni complaining about domination that’s like the kettle calling the pot black

• Bernie you and Susie can go home.You can go for holidays forever and the second go make babies

• leonardo on Sep 02, 2015 at 9:18 am

Berni, just go away and retire with all your money and let someone else take over F1!