Honda S660 spotted in Indonesia, priced at RM240k!

Honda-S660-Indonesia-728x409

It appears that after its sales success in Japan, the new Honda S660 has started appearing outside of its home market, at least in the grey market. Indonesian motoring portal AutonetMagz has published first pictures of the kei roadster, which it says comes from a parallel importer in Jakarta.

And this is perhaps the most sought after of S660 variants – the Concept Edition, one of only 660 units built. It’s marked out by the Premium Star White Pearl paint, two-tone wing mirrors, red fabric roof, red interior stitching and an aluminium plaque aft of the gearlever.

Also fitted are LED headlights, two-tone turbine design alloy wheels, leather upholstery, keyless entry, push-button start, cruise control, stainless steel pedals, a Honda Internavi infotainment system and City-Brake Active System.

Under the rear cowl sits a mid-mounted 660 cc turbocharged twin-cam three-pot sending 64 hp and 104 Nm to the rear wheels. Fitted to this particular unit is a CVT automatic with paddle shifters, but a six-speed manual transmission is also available – with just 830 kg to lug around, it’s a very appealing prospect indeed.

The price, however, isn’t. According to the importer, the S660 is priced at a staggering 800 million rupiah – that’s RM240k! In fact, it’s nearly double the price of the Daihatsu Copen, officially imported through PT Astra Daihatsu Motor and priced at 417 million rupiah (RM125,000), although that one is only available with a five-speed manual.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• tinmilo on Aug 28, 2015 at 11:04 am

240k?!!
    hahaha… Didn’t know this is a Audi TT challenger…

• Toyota No VSC Car on Aug 28, 2015 at 1:09 pm

So many news on Honda. All good news. No wonder why their cars sell well.

I am sorry Sam Loo, Same Lorrr and SamShowedMetheHilux.

We all know abut your lies. Now Toyota has the worst RV. Altis 1.8 2013 September model, low mileage and accident free asking for RM65k. I call the used car dealer, he said even RM60k also he settle.

New Altis RM139k. In less than 2 years, Altis can drop more than 60% of the price.

So what RV you talking about? Also, Kia and Hyundai now got better RV than Toyota.

You have been found out Sam Loo! People know your tricks.

Go ask your boss to put VSC lah in your Toyotas, maybe then, it will have better RV and can sell. Until then, Toyota is just a moving coffin and considered Jamban material.

• 65k Altis on Aug 28, 2015 at 7:50 pm

Not a Toyota fanboy but where did you get that price of 65k bro? I will sapu all of them lol..

• Same L0rrrr on Aug 28, 2015 at 2:11 pm

For that price, get a 86 better.

• mohdjiman on Aug 28, 2015 at 11:09 am

nice but the price….

• eVaz88 on Aug 28, 2015 at 11:13 am

My Kancil Turbo can run faster than this car. Tsk! RM240k, eat my dust la!

• What the…..

• Zoom Zoom on Aug 28, 2015 at 11:24 am

Pay RM 240k for 64hp? no thanks…

• uncle Honda on Aug 28, 2015 at 11:44 am

You can get Merc CLA with such tag price lorr

• Plainbullshit on Aug 28, 2015 at 12:13 pm

I would buy MX-5 instead, if I REALLY need a Japanese convertible.

• thomas bondan on Aug 28, 2015 at 12:36 pm

Honda S660 too expensive because circulated by parallel importers. If passed by Honda Indonesia, the price will be much cheaper

• heybadigol (Member) on Aug 28, 2015 at 1:04 pm

Very very nice looking car. But for RM240k, you could just buy (in Malaysia lah) a brand spanking new MX-5 with warranty & free service! If it costs that much in Indonesia, imagine how much it will cost here. Close to RM300k wouldn’t surprise me.

• Maybe you dont know indonesia tax on imported car also as high as malaysia. If malaysia still have AP for student to bring back car, indon forbid their citizen to do that..

• Why so expensive?! Ini mesti semua salah Najib/BN/UMNO/GST!

• well, that look like privately imported, not through honda indonesia, so that price, i assume is after the 200% + 40% tax,

• jclark on Aug 29, 2015 at 12:01 pm

wow rm240k…if imported to here…rm400k++? O.o

• S660 has 3 grade in Japan.
    This model is “Concept Edition”(CE), price is 2380kJPY= 82,264.70MR.
    CE model only 660 units were produced.
    Serial № of 1-660 are numbered.
    α model is 2180kJPY, β model is 1980kJPY.
    This car is very exciting and fun.

• paparazi on Aug 31, 2015 at 5:57 pm

WOW RM240K! Really the power of Dreams only…congrats!
    Rather go for European’s brand.

• Ong Chee Boon on Mar 01, 2016 at 10:46 am

Wow look at this S660, totally awesome! However, if this is priced RM240k when it comes to malaysia (if), it is too much. But then, this is Malaysiabolehland, so anything ridiculous can happen here.

Given such chassis, displacement, build quality and honda brand, no way it is gonna be priced the same as european coupe.

On a sidenote, this car is meant to be driven in Japan, where speed limits are harsh and their roads are mostly curved roads or short burst highways.

They did mention export markets, I do hope they can launch a s1000 model where the displacement will be 1000c turbocharged while maintaining lightweight uber handling. (similar as Ford’s Ecoboost)!