2015 Kia Sportage 2WD brochure leaked – RM119k

kia-sportage-2wd-brochure-leaked-1

Well, well, look at what we stumbled upon – a brochure detailing the 2015 Kia Sportage 2WD has been leaked online and is now believed to be making its rounds on social media. First things first, there are no mechanical changes touted save for the obvious exclusion of an all-wheel drive system.

Under the bonnet, the brochure reveals that the 2015 Kia Sportage 2WD will arrive powered by the same Nu 2.0 litre MPI engine with DCVVT found in the 4WD variant – said mill puts out a total of 154 PS at 6,200 rpm and 191 Nm of torque at 4,700 rpm. A six-speed automatic transmission sends power to the front wheels.

So what exactly do potential buyers get (or lose, in this case) when compared to the full-fat 4WD variant? In terms of exterior kit, the Sportage 2WD features projector-type headlamps with LED positioning lights – the 4WD model possesses LED daytime running lights. Elsewhere, the 2WD variant wears 17-inch alloy wheels shod with 225/60 tyres instead of the larger 18-inch units on the 4WD version.

kia-sportage-2wd-brochure-leaked-2

Click to enlarge image.

At the rear, the 2WD variant now comes with bulb-type combination taillights instead of the 4WD’s LED combo units. Also, the colour schemes appear to be limited to just Clear White, Mineral Silver and Bright Silver this time round. Another noticeable difference from the outside is the lack of a panoramic sunroof.

On the inside, the brochure mentions a fabric interior as opposed to a leather-trimmed layout on the 4WD variant. Also gone is the Supervision Cluster, replaced by a dot matrix instrument cluster. The dual-zone automatic air-conditioning system has also been swapped out for a manual unit while the variable Flex Steer steering system is nowhere to be found.

Click to enlarge spec sheets.

While keyless entry remains, the 2WD variant goes without the push-start button found in the costlier 4WD model. Also, the eight-way adjustable electrically-operated driver’s seat has been replaced by a manual unit while the brochure seems to have omitted any mention of the two-step reclinable rear seats.

On the bright side, the 2015 Kia Sportage 2WD appears to have retained the same amount of safety kit as its upmarket twin with six airbags with ABS, ESP and the like. A reverse camera is also featured on the more affordable variant. How affordable, you ask? The leaked brochure notes a price tag of RM118,888 inclusive of on-the-road (OTR) costs and insurance – the 4WD variant, on the other hand, is priced at RM137,800.

GALLERY: Kia Sportage 4WD facelift

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Power Rangers on Sep 01, 2015 at 6:35 pm

alright! game on! with 5 years warranty..

CX3 bye bye..

• http://paultan.org/2015/08/27/2016-kia-sportage-suv-officially-revealed-first-pics/

Clearing Old stock only..
      new facelift is coming..

• Pampers for UMW salesman on Sep 02, 2015 at 10:27 am

Habis lah Toyota Salesman. All crying like baby now. Who would buy a car for Rm150k and still get no VSC and 2 airbags (Camry)???

Now all the Toyota salesman are hiding. this Kia, so reasonable in price and yet it is packed with safety features.

And go and check in mudah, oto and carlies, Korean cars have the SAME RV as Toyota and Honda.

All the rumours in the past about Korean not having good RV is done by disgruntled Toyota salesman having ZERO sales in their office. They come online and try to bad mouth Korean cars.

the truth is, Toyota has got the worst RV ever. 1 year old 2014 Camry 2.5 now selling for RM98k, down from RM180k. Accident free and low mileage.

2013 Altis 1.8 selling for RM65k. Dealer so desperate, he told me even RM60k also he take. Brand new Atis is RM139k. In 1 year 10 months, the Altis can drop to RM60k. More than half price.

I hope we all here can help the Toyota salesman crying like a baby. Let us all buy pampers for them and also some formula milk and donate to all UMW showrooms

• Power Rangers on Sep 01, 2015 at 6:41 pm

Should consider bring in the Diesel Engine now…

• Zoom Zoom on Sep 01, 2015 at 6:52 pm

Good pricing. 20k cheaper than CRV 2WD and even cheaper than CRV younger brother HRV V spec.

• Trying to eat into HRV’s market eh? nice try

• brazbuz on Sep 01, 2015 at 7:37 pm

Not bad actually, especially on safety spec. the spec is almost the same as 2wd mid-spec cx5 that almost 10k more expensive

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 01, 2015 at 8:03 pm

RM20k cheaper but some stuff have been taken out…at least its not as bad as the bare bones Cerato and heck its priced the same as a HRV!

It also feels weird while u can enter the vehicle without needing to press the button on your key, u will need to use the key and manually start the engine and it makes the vehicle feel cheap when its smallest sibling the Picanto has keyless entry AND push start!

• Almond on Sep 01, 2015 at 8:23 pm

Waiting for CX3. See whether price bargain or I might to consider Kia Sportage

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 01, 2015 at 8:57 pm

bosan…new sportage already launching soon

• dated on Sep 01, 2015 at 9:29 pm

new model will launch soon…what is this posting trying to do?

• This is within my price range. I will definitely consider this Kia Sportage along with HRV and CX3. Can’t wait for test drive.

• BRYAN on Sep 01, 2015 at 10:00 pm

I saw it in a Kia lorry today… I feel suspicious about it’s rim. So it’s the 2WD…

• tiffany on Sep 01, 2015 at 10:03 pm

Kia Sportage 4wd has been a heavy fuel guzzler though.

• ayamas on Sep 01, 2015 at 10:51 pm

Most petrol 4wd suv have bad fuel consumption unless you are talking diesel. If you have owned kembara, you will know that is also fuel guzzler. You want economy, just get a sedan.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Sep 01, 2015 at 11:19 pm

Please head to the nearest showroom and get one.

No need to think twice one

• qwertyuiop on Sep 01, 2015 at 11:45 pm

Najib: there goes your car price reduction!

• Mark Nat on Sep 01, 2015 at 11:57 pm

front or rear wheel drive?

• Shadowsniper on Sep 02, 2015 at 8:07 am

wow.. Segment C with RM119K price tag nice… For sure 1 who die is renault captur…… which sell with that price…good work Kia…

• BUY NOW,
    REGRET LATER.. :-)

• Haha…. Nice statement… Shorter champion….longterm…. Hua hua