Second Penang Bridge cannot afford delays to halted Bayan Lepas Expressway construction

second-penang-bridge

Jambatan Kedua Sdn Bhd (JKSB), operator of the Sultan Abdul Halim Muadzam Shah Bridge a.k.a. Second Penang Bridge, will sustain huge losses if the Bayan Lepas Expressway is not completed on time, The Star reports.

JKSB’s MD Datuk Dr Ismail Mohamed Taib said that about 12,500 vehicles used the second bridge each day, but the massive congestion on August 17 had caused a drop in users with only an average of 500 vehicles crossing the bridge daily.

“This is certainly a big drop. However, we can still accommodate the losses during the project period. We just do not want a delay,” Dr Ismail said to reporters at the “Sultan Abdul Halim Muadzam Shah Bridge Merdeka Hunt 2015” event yesterday.

Penang chief minister Lim Guan Eng had issued a stop work order on the construction of the 390-metre special spans, which link the Bayan Lepas Expressway to the second bridge, after road closures caused a massive traffic jam last month.

Things will be brighter for JKSB once he work is completed. Dr Ismail said the project connecting Batu Maung to Queensbay and Batu Maung to the Penang International Airport could increase the usage of the second bridge by 20% in the future.

“Once the highway is open next March, we believe this problem can be overcome. We expect more than 17,000 vehicles to use the bridge daily then,” he said, hoping that parties involved can find an alternative plan to prevent another massive traffic jam when construction resumes.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Are you sure? I don’t think so… even the flyover is completed, the number of user will not increase that much, unless you lower down the bridge price and people will consider using 2nd bridge.

• Beckscum7 on Sep 01, 2015 at 6:37 pm

Penang, what a big joke. built bridge then after the highway linking it. Heard they will built undersea tunnel soon. Since they are so smart, very likely will built the tunnel from the middle of sea onwards, then flood the tunnel. Then continue from land onwards and suck the water dry. I know it doesn’t make sense, so does built bridge and then highway connecting it later

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
    • Dumb donk on Sep 01, 2015 at 6:57 pm

Eh hello, check yr facts, this is a federal project donk…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
      • Jarred on Sep 01, 2015 at 7:08 pm

Tunnel is Guan Eng’s project.

• Yeps. Bridge is federal, BL expressway under state jutisdiction. Federal project has completed, state project still ding dong. Hidup tokong !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
          • Tokong sez, if he finish the hiway, then it will make federal projek bridge successful. So to make sure they look bad, he must search his “1001 Lawfully Legal Excuses” playbook to make the hiway slow-slow. So now the rakyat there belip him.
            He winliaolor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
          • Dave dave on Sep 02, 2015 at 12:02 am

Lol BL expressway or Lim Chong Eu Expressway is federal road (https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tun_Dr_Lim_Chong_Eu_Expressway) the project under federal control. Dun talk nonsense if u not in penang. If u in penang drive on Lim chong eu expressway to bayan lepas exit (beside queensbay mall), u can see a big 1Malaysia logo there.

• Your comment sound like coming from a very smart ape… I am entertained .Really.

• Dave dave on Sep 01, 2015 at 11:57 pm

U must not in engineering field or and field. Are u graduate fr standard 6?

go google search undersea tunnels. See how the design works, not every highway tunnel like malaysia smart tunnel which use as drain during heavy rain.

For built bridge then highway. A bit difficult. I not sure but my assumption is the federal gov plan bridge 1st is to reduce traffic fr island to mainland thn only built highway to connect it in island. But their plan failed tat not knowing most ppl work in bayan lepas n batu maung free trade zone stay in northern area of mainland, eg sg petani,kedah or seberang perai tengah n butterworth.

State government propose underground tunnel is to split the traffic to northern area in mainland. So those work in town can use undersea tunnel to bagan ajam where quite near to sg dua area and PLUS highway. And those work in factory area in island south can use old penang bridge. N southern can use 2nd link.

• The MD must be also counting sheep. You have got to be kidding right?. 12,500 vehicles per day?. During the off hours even during weekdays, you could be the only soul on the bridge.

• BNaik on Sep 02, 2015 at 8:33 am

Project any how still need to go. However, JKSB & state Gov have to sit down come up plan for solving any massive congestion HEAVY traffic jam for half year. Don’t simply said close road without any plan let jam happen again.

• kumar on Sep 02, 2015 at 9:11 am

Widen the stupid stupid old highway roads from Pinang bridge 1 until sungai Petani…needs 3/4 lanes..or build flyover from seberang jaya until toll sg dua…brainless BN

• Souya Tempe on Sep 02, 2015 at 9:36 am

12500 vehicles sharie? Keta hantu ka. Aku duk ronda naik siang malam duk nmpak berapa kerat ja reta atas jk2 ni.