Suzuki Baleno – front pic of production hatch revealed

suzuki-baleno-front-01

Suzuki has released more official images of the new Suzuki Baleno that will make its debut at the Frankfurt show this month. This time, we see the Baleno’s face in full. Previous teasers showed the five-door hatchback’s side profile.

The production version of Geneva 2015’s iK-2 concept will raise the bar for compact hatchbacks, the Japanese small car expert claims.

Official dimensions have yet to be released, but the iK-2 measured 4,023 mm long, 1,920 mm wide and 1,450 mm tall, with a 2,520 mm wheelbase. If the Baleno doesn’t deviate much, it will dive straight into Europe’s competitive B-segment supermini market. Players include the Volkswagen Polo, Ford Fiesta, Opel Corsa, Peugeot 208, Citroen C3, Renault Clio, Hyundai i20 and Toyota Yaris, among others.

Looking a lot like the showcar, it will have a rigid, lightweight new-generation platform, new 1.0 litre direct-injection turbo Boosterjet engine and SHVS (Smart Hybrid Vehicle by Suzuki), the latter featuring engine assist by an integrated starter generator.

Suzuki iK-2 Concept

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Areyousure on Sep 01, 2015 at 10:05 am

Front grille is so “Nissan Pulsar”

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 01, 2015 at 2:50 pm

Here you get your new Saga. Proton is better with rebadging. 100% own R&D? Puih~~~

When a mamak is selling good of its roti canai, it won’t suddenly change to fish n chips.

• nameless on Sep 01, 2015 at 10:09 am

yo suzuki, why u wanna look like Toyota..

• Ggsamlok on Sep 05, 2015 at 6:43 am

Nice

• Looking for Car on Oct 27, 2015 at 9:48 am

Is this car coming to Malaysia? I am looking to purchase a 2nd car for our family.