Kia Sportage 2WD now here – 2.0L, 6 airbags, RM119k

Sportage-2WD-front side view

After brochures surfaced on the Internet earlier today, Naza Kia has finally announced the availability of the Kia Sportage 2WD. This cheaper base variant of the once-popular C-segment crossover comes in presumably in an attempt to nip the success of the burgeoning B-segment – which includes the popular Honda HR-V – right in the bud.

Its arsenal starts with a very attractive price – RM118,888 on-the-road inclusive of insurance, GST and a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty. This undercuts the current AWD Sportage (facelift launched early last year) by nearly RM19,000, and is within RM1,000 of the best-selling, range-topping HR-V 1.8 V. Coincidence? I think not.

Anyway, what do you lose by putting close to RM20k back into your pocket? Doesn’t seem like much, actually, at least on the outside. The projector headlights still feature LEDs, but they’re positioning lights rather than the brighter daytime running lights on the AWD (although this writer feels they’re actually better looking, as they form a seamless light guide rather than the DRLs’ individual diodes).

Sportage-2WD-rear side view

Elsewhere, the alloy wheels (in a Y-spoke design) are an inch smaller – measuring 17 inches – while the tail lights are now of a bulb type rather than LEDs. There’s less kit inside, too; the driver’s seat loses electric adjustment, dual-zone automatic climate control has been swapped for simple manual air-conditioning, and leather upholstery has given way to good ol’ fabric.

We’re not finished yet – there’s no Bluetooth, sunroof, keyless entry, push-button start or the rather gimmicky Flex Steer variable steering weighting system, either, and the Supervision 4.2-inch colour TFT LCD multi-info display has been ditched for a monochrome dot matrix screen.

However, you still get automatic headlights, power-folding side mirrors, a 4.3-inch touchscreen infotainment system with reverse camera, an Infinity seven-speaker sound system, a cooled glovebox and an auto-dimming rear-view mirror. Most importantly – and unlike the similarly basic Cerato KX – you still get six airbags, stability control, hill start assist and Downhill Brake Control (DBC).

PMA-SPORTAGE-2WD

Whether you choose two-wheel drive or all-wheel drive, power comes from a 2.0 litre Nu MPI four-cylinder petrol engine developing 154 PS at 6,200 rpm and 191 Nm at 4,700 rpm, sent through a six-speed automatic transmission. Although putting out the same amount of power, the 2WD’s lower weight should enable it to edge out the AWD model in terms of performance and fuel economy.

As for colours, the Sportage 2WD is only available in Clear White, Bright Silver and Mineral Silver. What do you think, guys – this or the HR-V?

Kia Sportage AWD facelift

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• What to do with the keyless ? Using keyless entry to enter still have to take the key to start

• Anonymous on Sep 02, 2015 at 9:31 am

Still have problem with immobiliser?

• Pampers for UMW salesman on Sep 02, 2015 at 10:29 am

Habis lah Toyota Salesman. All crying like baby now. Who would buy a car for Rm150k and still get no VSC and 2 airbags (Camry)???

Now all the Toyota salesman are hiding. this Kia, so reasonable in price and yet it is packed with safety features.

And go and check in mudah, oto and carlies, Korean cars have the SAME RV as Toyota and Honda.

All the rumours in the past about Korean not having good RV is done by disgruntled Toyota salesman having ZERO sales in their office. They come online and try to bad mouth Korean cars.

the truth is, Toyota has got the worst RV ever. 1 year old 2014 Camry 2.5 now selling for RM98k, down from RM180k. Accident free and low mileage.

2013 Altis 1.8 selling for RM65k. Dealer so desperate, he told me even RM60k also he take. Brand new Atis is RM139k. In 1 year 10 months, the Altis can drop to RM60k. More than half price.

I hope we all here can help the Toyota salesman crying like a baby. Let us all buy pampers for them and also some formula milk and donate to all UMW showrooms

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
        • SmallFart on Sep 02, 2015 at 2:29 pm

We have one still in his zaman kebodohan down a few comments.

• Johan Kia on Sep 02, 2015 at 12:42 am

suppose to be 191 NM and not ps.

• It is not bad to make consideration before rushing a purchase.

http://paultan.org/2015/08/27/2016-kia-sportage-suv-officially-revealed-first-pics/

new facelift is coming..

• Jennifer on Sep 02, 2015 at 12:53 am

still better looking than HR-V.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • Kia Sportage 4WD, drinks fuel like water.
    I wonder how 2WD perform.

anway, it makes HR-V a very cheap and ugly looking car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • suppose to be HRV 1.8V, not 1.5V

• jibbyjilake on Sep 02, 2015 at 7:01 am

i’ll take sorento over hrv any day. better looking & better equipped compared to hrv. for me, giving full size alloy rim as spare tyre is very generous

• BigBalls on Sep 02, 2015 at 11:28 am

Why compare SORENTO against HRV, different segment la

-BigBalls-

• Ismail on Sep 02, 2015 at 8:01 am

Over priced.

Shortage really drink fuel like water.

Car is very heavy at 1650kg.

Cx5 and hrv are better deal.

The ckd hyundai Tucson too only at 106k

• azhar on Sep 02, 2015 at 12:08 pm

wow quite heavy..performance wise HRV should be better with their 300kg+ lighter weight

• azrai on Sep 02, 2015 at 8:28 am

No thanks. So sacked another 300 personnels at Gurun.

• shawal on Sep 02, 2015 at 8:49 am

Is this CKD or CBU..?

• Same L0rrr on Sep 02, 2015 at 10:49 am

Buy all you want. Don’t cry and beg me to accept this junk with 25k next year. After few years can’t even be traded in.

As I always said, buy Toyota better, good RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
    • skipod on Sep 02, 2015 at 11:33 am

You understand or not? We want VSC and more airbags, not those useless bodykit!

• Are you sure Toyota has good rv nowadays?

Kia K5 has better rv than camry with better kits, specs and safety features.

• YeapyEvo on Sep 02, 2015 at 5:50 pm

Nobody wants to buy Toyota now, UMW shares drop from RM10 to below RM8 today , very bad RV

• hahaha on Sep 02, 2015 at 11:37 am

zzz get the HR-V better. At least HR-V got some premium features like keyless entry push start and automatic climate control electronic parking brake that this Sportage 2.0 2WD lacks.

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 02, 2015 at 11:56 am

The all new Sportage was unveiled just a while ago and hopefully they will bring in the 2WD version to make things cheaper

• azhar on Sep 02, 2015 at 11:57 am

me too miskin to take risk by buying KIA..i rather play safe and buy HRV..no regrets

• Banga on Sep 02, 2015 at 4:14 pm

Stock clearance?

• Kia better RV than CAMRY….joke of the century….which MUDAH is this….the one in MARS