MyLesen to cut number of unlicensed motorcyclists

Motorcyclist

It was reported yesterday that the MyLesen programme, due to come into effect on September 15, will see the cost of obtaining a class B2 motorcycle license reduced from RM350 to RM299. It is hoped that the scheme will reduce the number of riders without license.

National Road Safety Council member Tan Sri Lee Lam Thye is all for it. “As stated by the Road Transport Department recently, a total of 3.35 million motorcyclists in the country do not have licences, and one reason is the high costs. With this programme, at least this number will be reduced,” he told Bernama.

But should the programme take off, there will be a higher number of youth on motorcycles on the road, and Lee is urging the relevant authorities to pay more attention to the discipline of motorcyclists to reduce the risk of accidents among them.

“With this programme, there will be more motorcyclists especially youths on the roads. Hopefully they will more observant of the regulations and will be better motorcyclists in order to avoid accidents. The authorities have to monitor this,” he said.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• mnk696 on Sep 02, 2015 at 3:57 pm

Halo bro… Get a grip ! Ur expectations are too high ! Saving rm51.00 to reduce the number of riders without license … Sorry bro …..I just don’t buy it

• motorist on Sep 02, 2015 at 4:02 pm

Great…more motorcyclist, just what our roads need more of.

• Banga on Sep 02, 2015 at 4:03 pm

New Bangalesh program?

• M'siaboleh on Sep 02, 2015 at 6:44 pm

Yes, more Mat Rempit clubs on the road!

• It makes no difference. If you can afford RM299 you can also afford RM350. Cannot afford RM350, also cannot afford RM299.

• Got discount you don’t want arh kamu bodoh atau cacat? You want more unlisenced rides to be more on the road? Wth kinda person you’re?