Only 7-9% buckle up, stricter enforcement to come

3-Point Seat Belt

In what is truly a shocking statistic, Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai has stated that only seven to nine percent of car passengers are buckling up. As a result, he said the ministry is going to intensify its campaign on wearing seat belts for rear passengers, by enlisting the Road Transport Department and police to do their bit too.

“I hope the people accept the advice because it is for their own good. I don’t like to penalise the people, but if there is no enforcement, there will be very low compliance of the law,” he told Bernama.

Liow believes the time is ripe for more firm and effective measures to be taken to affect a change towards reducing the overall rate of accidents in the country. Apparently, Liow said that about 180,000 road accidents were reported nationwide last year, and unfortunately, 6,674 fatalities were recorded too. As we reported earlier, MIROS had conducted studies on the compliance rates of rear seat belt rules, and they found out that most motorists were only buckling up because they feared being fined above anything else.

“Serious injuries that can result in deaths are normally caused by failure of passengers to wear seats belts. Upon impact during accidents, passengers are thrown out or knock into hard objects while motorcyclists or pillion riders who do not wear proper helmets can suffer critical injuries or death,” said Professor Dr Wong Shaw Voon, MIROS director-general.

So remember everyone, always make an effort to buckle up, because it’s better to be safe than sorry.

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• ask all policeman and JPJ to buckling up their seat belt first lorh.. they are not using the seatbelt.. i ask them once to wear it, but then they ask me back.. “mau i saman you ka?” which i always buckle up mine. WTF.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • So if they dun wan take care their own safety, you also dun wan to take care your own. So if you get into accident, becum veggie, you masih lagi nak salah siapa?

• If only Malaysians were as committed to road safety as they are to Bersih, there will be much less traffic accidents on the roads.

• rally_fan (Member) on Sep 03, 2015 at 10:07 am

thats a dumb comparison.. safety is everyones responsibility regardless of your beliefs or political preferences.

• Leonardo on Sep 02, 2015 at 12:54 pm

With the increasing fatality rates on the highways, it should be implemented now. Yes, there is always the excuses like if there are more than 3 passengers at the back, not enough seat belts, etc…but if we dely the implementation, more people would be seriously injured or dead daily.

• anonymous on Sep 02, 2015 at 1:51 pm

Really weird the way people think..is fastening the seat belt really that hard? It is also for family, friends and own good to fasten the belt. And when there is accident and some body is dead, people tend to forget, that they did not fasten seat belt hence the person died. Maybe in the future, car maker can install an engine start blocker when the computer detect there is somebody in the car that has not buckle up then the engine cannot start….

• FlipFlop on Sep 03, 2015 at 3:23 pm

Sorry. I didnt know that rear passengers need to buckle up by LAW because the last time i heard its enforcement is delayed.

Thanks for flip floping of LAW by the relevant ministry.

Anyway, we always buckle up at the back.

Can the non functional ministry improve their communication?