SPYSHOT: 2016 Proton Perdana shows rear, tail light

2016-Proton-Perdana-rear

The civilian-issue 2016 Proton Perdana has been spotted a number of times out on the road already, being tested covered in copious amounts of camouflage. Today we have another spyshot to add to the pile, thanks to reader Yong Roni.

The photo shows a close-up of a tail light, and while the distorted disguise still makes it very hard to make out what the rear end will look like, it seems it will take after the Prevé somewhat. One thing that will differentiate the Perdana, however, are the LED brake lights, as seen in a previous video where the brake lights flashed on quickly when the driver of the mule braked – this differs from the Prevé’s slower bulb-type lighting.

Other points of interest on the mule also garnered from the video are the familiar Proton front fascia, a shallower rake for the rear windscreen – for a sleeker, more coupé-like profile – as well as what looks like an integrated tail pipe; the latter would be a first on a Proton.

It definitely looks different from the eighth-generation Honda Accord on which it is based, correlating with an earlier report – and it’s also a change from the current government-use-only Perdana, which was little more than a straightforward rebadging.

Expect the Perdana to be launched sometime next year, equipped with a range of engines lifted from the Accord – 2.0 litre and 2.4 litre i-VTEC mills, mated to a five-speed automatic transmission. As always, we’ll publish more details of the 2016 Proton Perdana as we get them. Excited?

Current government-use Proton Perdana

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• I ate on Sep 02, 2015 at 12:01 pm

‘Spyshot’ lol no serious auto publication is checking on their products

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 30
  • RemoX on Sep 02, 2015 at 12:06 pm

A 2000cc turbo would be better…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • OMG…Turbo?got money do reseach? Preve & souplimau turbo, how the sales? DOnt waste time and $…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
    • A Plus badge would be better…

• OMG…what we need is a new 2.0liter good engine with less fuel consumption. Turbo with the old 1.6 Campro…..hahaha…no thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • If this shit doesn’t sell below RM80K Proton can close shop.

Design must also be modern, timeless and beautiful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 48
    • alldisc on Sep 02, 2015 at 12:34 pm

Totally agree with you Siti. How to get excited when the price is more than 120k.
      Remember proton excitement to charge hefty premiums to malaysian whenever they introduce something new.
      1986 introduced saga 1.5I, with power window and pwr strg, increased price from 22 to 28k.

Then when introduce wira 1.6 with all the goodies (1.6, efi, 4 speed auto, 4 pwr windowswindows. All disc brakes), they shot the price up from 52k (wira 1.5 carb) to 63k.

Intro perdana for the first time (e55), 77k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • lowprofile (Member) on Sep 02, 2015 at 12:50 pm

Seriously? This is the best joke of the morning.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • policeman on Sep 02, 2015 at 1:26 pm

What is your price? Boobs must also be big, flawless and beautiful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • If Proton were continue to follow the path of somewhat much better interior quality of Iriz..then I’ll say it will be a good value for money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • Frugal on Sep 02, 2015 at 12:53 pm

If same design with Iriz then i want cancel my Ford Fucus sedan

• OMG…u like Iriz design? U pay more than 100K bcos Iriz looksss???U see the sales, u know lah…hehhee

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
        • Frugal on Sep 03, 2015 at 12:22 pm

I no need see the sales, i just want spend my money to get what i want. Seriously.

• Luke-16 Twin Carburetor on Sep 02, 2015 at 1:06 pm

Agree with that ;)

• ahmad ariff on Sep 02, 2015 at 12:39 pm

how sure are you its a proton?… where does it indicate so?…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • frossonice on Sep 02, 2015 at 3:06 pm

Trade plate. Haishh… Paultan have been reporting about this many times already. Look at the trade plate. Proton development cars always use the same trade plate number.

• Bruise on Sep 03, 2015 at 12:28 pm

Only Proton do testing in home ground, other brand no need bcos they do testing at their own country. Perodua just copy and assembled the previous generation car model bcos they not involve in RnD so no need test.

• Power Rangers on Sep 02, 2015 at 12:51 pm

how should we pity Protong?
    when majority is moving to SUV or with smaller car, Sedan based like Camry is suffering in sale, launching a Perdana in RM110-RM120K range sure wont help ..another shiok sendiri project that cant sell…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
  • photong on Sep 02, 2015 at 12:57 pm

no need spy..the only surprise we get is when we use it.

• haiyya, bila la mau release, mau tgk jer, x mampu nak beli, hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Same Lorr on Sep 02, 2015 at 2:51 pm

Dont buy proton, buy Toyota Camry second better than this new Perdana.. Toyota good RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 20
      • RV Plus on Sep 02, 2015 at 3:02 pm

Buy Saga Plus, best RV ever

• SAM VHL Loo on Sep 02, 2015 at 6:49 pm

Both Saga Plus and Toyotaik jamban junks got best among the best RV mah, only when they are crashing the taik jamban cars so ‘high’ RV can help them to buy casket if lucky (however Saga Plus with CVT automatic is much more easier to skid and crash since no ABS brakes plus non-existent engine braking). Once emergency brake in Saga Plus with CVT, that’s it (skid and crash)

• Enough of spyshots on Sep 02, 2015 at 1:26 pm

Enough of spyshots here spyshots there about this car, PT just published a spyshot on this car yesterday, why make another bu ha ha today?

Remember those numerous spyshots of Proton’s GSC aka Iriz back in 2013/14? After all those fanfare and syiok sendiri teasers, where does Iriz stands in the sales chart today?

Come 2016, the sales chart figure will speak the truth, see whether this piece of thing will be Proton’s yet another game (no)changer (yawn)…. or just another masturbation, syiok sendiri media launch but with abysmal sales figure.

Oh ya, Proton is currently standing between 15% to 16% TIV as of July. No matter how many new models introduced, Proton’s still continue to decline on an average 2% TIV annually. After Preve, Suprima and Iriz, it seem the more new model Proton produce, the faster they declined! Way to go Proton! Make more new model! We fully support Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 26
    • You must be a fan of Myvi. 10 years in, no innovation, just facelift ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
      • Myvi is the bestseller on Sep 02, 2015 at 2:21 pm

Nope, I don’t drive a Myvi ;)

Anyway, what’s wrong with the Myvi? It’s economical, it’s popular, reliable, and despite being in the market for 10 years, people still buy it in droves and beat the newly launched Iriz! And Perodua’s marketing strategy works wonderfully in capturing the hearts and minds of the Malaysians! Unlike Proton who tried umpteen times with their non-cohesive and stupid marketing but only with syiok sendiri results.

Making car is a business my friend, and the ONE AND ONLY, MOST IMPORTANT aim of running a business is to make money, everything else is secondary. Proton can claimed it’s the “BMW of Asia”, “Lotus Handling”, “Come back game” and all sorts of bullshit, in the end of the day, sales chart speaks the truth. And truth hurts for people who can’t face reality.

And how “innovative” Proton could be? It’s essentially the previous generation Accord anyway, what’s that to proud of?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
        • confusesikit on Sep 03, 2015 at 8:01 pm

by your logic, soichiro honda or even Dodge brothers only start building honda/Dodge cars because he only want the profit and not his passion on all things about the cars. tbh, you said you’re not a fan of the Myvi yet your comment look damn fanboyish towards the myvi. Bullshit la woi

• taknaktoyota on Sep 02, 2015 at 2:09 pm

Hello Same Lorrrr you afraid it gets attention kah?
      Go away and promote your bodykits lor, lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • protonbanana on Sep 02, 2015 at 2:38 pm

Wow. Everyone that comments is Same Lorrrr. You must be a fan of Same Lorrrr

• DonkeyKong on Sep 02, 2015 at 4:11 pm

“Bu ha ha”

That says it all about your level of education

• roque on Sep 02, 2015 at 2:33 pm

hahahaahhahahhaahhahahahahahahahhahahha hahahahaahahahahhahaa hahahaahahaa hahahahahaa ahhahaahaha ahhhhaaha ahahahaahahaahah hahaahahaha ahahahaahaha ahahhaaha hahahaha ahaaaaah ahhhhaahahaha ahahha aahahaahah ahahahaha ahhaaha.. leave it in the warehouse hahaahaha haahhhah ahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • cool Audi-esque C pillar

• Same Lorr on Sep 02, 2015 at 2:49 pm

What another crap… Buy toyota better.. u will be super dupper surprise with the RV, compare to this crap Proton Perdana RV!
    Proton trademark==> Buy now, regret later!
    Toyota ==> Moving Forward, good RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 20
  • Cheung Love Sam Loo on Sep 02, 2015 at 3:00 pm

Tun already announced before that the platform and chassis they got from Honda but the drivetrain Proton build themselves.

Lets wait and see what type of drive train they will offer.

Looking forward for this luxury model.

:D

• fed up fella on Sep 02, 2015 at 3:01 pm

Well I’m obviously waiting for it….just hope it comes with the petronas engines instead of the honda’s

• thedarkside on Sep 02, 2015 at 6:16 pm

whatever engine they are going to use it has to be reliable lah. kemon sort this one out proton and u might have a winner.

• Uncle Lim on Sep 02, 2015 at 4:30 pm

Go proton go..forget about the haters. This is most awaiting car for D segment. Hey come on lah, rebadging car is common practice by all car manufacturer. Eventho P1 use same platform with Honda but I do believe P1 will introduce their own powertrain which is same or much better than Honda.

• Be patience guys, after launch it’s going to be on our road for decades before Proton introduces the next generation Perdana……

• Hahaha on Sep 02, 2015 at 11:53 pm

That’s ooooone long rear overhang

• kalabumalami on Sep 08, 2015 at 11:19 pm

definitely it’ll hv big boot space without sacrificing rear passenger spaciousness. major criteria for big family for long trips balik kampung. Also good for chauffeur driven kinda car for boses.

Theopolis Chin pls come up with some styling ideas. I crave for more of this spyshots pls.

• Suzuki kizashi