ETC cashless toll system gaining acceptance – SMART

TnG SmartTag

As we reported earlier, 12 more toll plazas will be going cashless on September 9 and according to SMART Tunnel’s COO, Mohd Fuad Kamal Ariffin, public acceptance for the new system has been positive so far.

The quantitative measurement in which the company used to gauge this finding is through the sales of e-payment cards, including Touch’n Go and SmartTAGs. Highway concessionaires have been actively promoting both items and in return, sales have increased.

“With our current promotion activity on full ETC (electronic toll collection), we have witnessed a penetration of usage from 77% in January 2015 to 81% currently,” Ariffin told Bernama. The promotions undertaken include discounts for Touch’n Go cards and SmartTAG devices.

In total, concession holder of the DUKE expressway, Konsortium Lebuhraya Utara-Timur (Kesturi) has sold some 32,000 Touch’n Go cards and 4,000 units of SmartTAG units, while Prolintas, operators of the Ampang-Kuala Lumpur Elevated Highway (AKLEH) have sold 7,377 cards and 4,564 devices since.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Did he study SPM? What kind of statement is this? You force people use TNG card, of course the card is “gaining acceptance”.

When I announce that rice will be banned and only noodle can be sold, automatically noodle sales will go up right? Even my dog knows this theory. As always, we have too many dumb people running this beloved country we call Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
    • Yes, semark pipu wanna use cold-hard cash. Semark pipu wanna queue long long at toll. Semark pipu dun believe in technology. Semark pipu says everybody dumbo, they veli semark. Semark pipu should postage a type-written letter to Gov to protest. Semark pipu should be running the Gov.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
      • RM10 Per Month BN Cybertrooper on Sep 04, 2015 at 9:28 am

This John fellow, our friendly BN Cybertrooper. I can’t believe he earns RM10k per month just to come online and counter any negative argument on BN. My friend in Putrajaya verified his pay packet.

Amazing, we are paying this dude with our LHDN money to goyang kaki and from home, just to post a few here and there and RM10k falls onto his lap monthly

• Why Gomen want you to use Touch and Go very simple. One of the Ministers got the contract to supply the chip for the Touch and Go card. But you cannot catch him because it is deep buried. It is probably a company run by the sister of his abang ipar.

• Nobody can spoil my mood today. Malam jummat has made me happy. now I can sleep well

• BNaik on Sep 03, 2015 at 7:01 pm

Don’t talk political here, go home if u insist to continue…
      BN love Rakyat, that’s why Government didn’t charge GST on tolls… the end !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
      • You oso go home, you failure of a reverse-psycho troll. Never come back again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • cheong on Sep 03, 2015 at 9:20 pm

there is no GOODS nor SERVICES delivered,only JAM, y need to pay GST????

• joker on Sep 04, 2015 at 9:18 am

i dont know whether u r being sarcastic or just plain dumb.or provoke perhaps?u r the one mentioning ‘BN’ and ‘government’ here.

• RM10k Per Month BN Cybertrooper on Sep 04, 2015 at 9:31 am

Too many BN Cybertroopers. Go ask your boss return the RM2.6 bil he stole

• Actually its RM12k. Can work from home or use smart phone when I jaan jalan Mega Mall. just 10 postings per day for my quota

• jongos on Sep 03, 2015 at 9:24 pm

u should running the country.

• cheong on Sep 03, 2015 at 9:17 pm

macam la ada option lain…syiok sendiri MAXIMUM!!!

• Betul ke ni? How many got stuck at highways on Sunday? Guess why the jam? Acceptance konon..

• kimi's fan on Sep 04, 2015 at 4:50 pm

simple opportunity cost theory here..
    by top-up RM100 for touch-n-go card and keep a month without spending
    in other words..user has lesser RM100 cash to do other things…

and touch n go company has RM100 advance from user for their interest

..just a mamak talk..