KL-Singapore high-speed rail – details out by 2017

Hitachi Super Express

While it’s known that a KL-Singapore high-speed rail (HSR) will in future connect the two cities, there are few details about the mega project other than the parties interested in developing the line – Japan, France and China have stated their intent.

Not so soon it seems – details of the contracts for the construction of the HSR will likely be known in two years, Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) chief development officer Dr Prodyut Dutt told The Star.

“Given that the development takes about five years and we aim to complete it in 2022, working backwards, we should see the details of these contracts by the year 2017,” he said on the sidelines of the Rail Business Asia 2015 exhibition.

“There is a lot of preliminary work that needs to be done before the tender documents can come out. And these works are currently in progress. While this is a project by both the Malaysian and Singaporean governments, there is always a need to jointly consult Singapore,” Dutt said, adding that the cost-sharing formula has not been fixed.

The KL-Singapore HSR will run along the same route as KTM’s double-tracking project in the peninsular, but there will be no duplicates or redundancy.

“Our preliminary studies show that the returns are positive. If you look at the experiences abroad where there is HSR, whether it is China, Japan or France, you will find that the benefits would not just be in the terminus cities, but also the cities in between, as it helps to regenerate those in between as well,” Dutt explained.

“We think the HSR project is a different mode and targets a different market (compared with the double track). All things considered, we believe the social and economic development will be positive overall,” he added.

The SPAD man also revealed that KTM’s double-tracking line from Gemas to Padang Besar will be launched in November this year.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Albert on Sep 03, 2015 at 11:54 am

The KTM double tracking MEGA PROJECT from JB to padang Besar cost taxpayers easily above rm 15 Billion from day one,inclusive of all the delays.
    Tell me,apart from festive seasons,do you know what is the load factor for the trains?Hardly 40 percent.
    This high speed train will definitely affect the existing double track train schedules and profitability.If KTM bleeds further,we will need the Middle east Santa to donate RM Billions to plug the huge shithole.KTM,like protong has been bleeding profusely for donkey years.
    History/fairy tales needs to be re written.Santa now originates from the Middle east,not Scandinavia.
    Shambolic.Dont jump for joy yet.This may mean more hardship for the taxpayers,if Santa is just a dream.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • frossonice on Sep 03, 2015 at 12:46 pm

It has not even operating at full potential yet, how to quantify? The KL-Padang Besar ETC which run once daily are fully booked nowadays.

Furthermore, by having separate rail system, the double tracking can be fully utilised by cargo trains as it is more profitable.

• carlies on Sep 03, 2015 at 12:54 pm

If they put the HSR alignment away from the KTM track alignment, i.e. more to coastal line, both systems will survive.

If they put the both alignment at the same line and even more stupid have the same location of the station, both system will die! The HSR will die before it runs!

There is no point serving the same area while the other area is hungry for the railway service. Putting the bet at those dyeing small towns with the aging KTM station will lead the nation to the bankruptcy even faster.

• Make sure it will not a different or separate entity in terms of management and operation.

• Black Dog on Sep 03, 2015 at 3:26 pm

Of course malaysia and singapore cannot come to an agreement. Singapore’s track only 1% but have to pay 30%?

Can’t they just forget about singapore?

• 30% cost for Singapore might not a problem but how about the profit sharing ratio?

• alwayslateneverearly on Sep 03, 2015 at 4:44 pm

See the planned route properly. It’s at least 15-20% of the route. It’s the size of your eyes that’s 1%. Get your facts right. And whats the point of doing a HSR between Johor and KL?

• alwayslateneverearly on Sep 03, 2015 at 4:39 pm

In Malaysia things only get late – never earlier. Earlier say completion by 2020 and suddenly now it’s moved back. Surely due to lack of ‘incentives’ to expedite it. And then blame costs.

Then what about the sudden purchase of a French carrier? Suddenly billions didn’t become an issue for something that Malaysia clearly doesn’t need at the moment. Gomen talking about budget deficits to implement unpopular measures such as GST and miraculously still has billions to buy something as unnecessary as a carrier. Pffft.

• Where is carrier u mumbling about? Just bcoz some idiot blast it… u swallow it wholly without seeing what it is.

• alwayslateneverearly on Sep 04, 2015 at 9:49 am

read the news, dimwit. don’t just hang around paultan all day and troll.