SPYSHOTS: W213 E-Class prototype loses some camo

The W213 Mercedes-Benz E-Class prototypes that have been going around on test have dropped some of the heavy camo they’ve been wearing.

Seen here is a “sport grille” unit with most of the side camo gone, with only some tape covering the crease lines on the side of the body.

Since Mercedes-Benz have already revealed what the headlamp and taillamp of the new E-Class will look like we can pretty much piece how the car will look like together in our mind.

It’s only a matter of time before some graphic artist like Theophilus Chin whips out a rendering of the car based on the headlamp and taillamp images released.

Our spy photographers also sent another interior shot together with this latest set. As you can see the interior design is heavily influenced by the W222 S-Class, but the E-Class makes do with just one large COMAND display as the instrument cluster uses physical dials instead of a digital cluster.

There’s no clock in between the four air cond vents on the centre of the dashboard as it’s been moved lower below the climate control panel. The climate control panel itself appears to be lifted from the C-Class.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• will Mac on Sep 03, 2015 at 6:37 am

Looks like a 90’s MG Rover

• Rm2.6 Billion Curi on Sep 03, 2015 at 9:25 am

E400 Hybrid in US only US$55k. So powerful the engine.

If there was no corruption, our GDP Per Capita will be like Singapore, the Ringgit also will be very High in Value.

It is like in the US, even McDonalds worker also can afford to buy a Mercedes E class if he saves.

What to do. here, even people curi RM2.6 billion also can escape. Many others like him also escape.
      This is why we cannot afford such good German cars.

• C, E, S Class now all look the same…

• I ate on Sep 03, 2015 at 7:57 am

A very subtle evolution looks-wise. I’m not sure if this will win them new fans the way the A class did for that category.

• dodgeviper88 on Sep 03, 2015 at 9:12 am

The end of the big/small eye E-class era

• underskinned on Sep 03, 2015 at 9:17 am

Theo, please no.

• Looks like a Junior S-Class and a Senior C-Class. Which I guess is starting to apply to all their models.

• cleaner on Sep 03, 2015 at 10:23 am

Nice E
    Rather than BR1M
    If Dr M is back, each household could get 1 E

• heybadigol (Member) on Sep 03, 2015 at 10:23 am

Gaya, mutu, keunggulan. Looks like a smaller S Class and a bigger C Class. For once the “family look” actually looks good (take note Audi & BMW).

Noticed that there is very little wheel fender gap to the tyres. Either it has small wheel fenders, or this particular variant is using large rims/tyres – which indicate a top or mid spec W213.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 03, 2015 at 11:04 am

No point spending so much money for German sausages.

Want a luxury car with prestige and status? Get our Camry with proven reliability and RV.

As I always said, you will never go wrong with sushi cars.

• Carter on Sep 03, 2015 at 12:40 pm

I’ll work hard to get one Mercedes Benz but not this model lah.

• Current version Camry not proven yet is reliable and previous version Camry RV not as good as Accord.

• jambancamry on Sep 03, 2015 at 1:40 pm

Camry is one of the cars I didn’t want to be seen in one.
      It’s too junky.

• ganni on Sep 03, 2015 at 11:10 am

seems that it will look nice..however, the current e-class fl version still look good/fresh and i would say it still can be sell another 4-5 years..