VIDEO: Volvo XC90 earns five stars from Euro NCAP

The video above shows the Volvo XC90 undergoing Euro NCAP’s stringent battery of tests, and the latest Swedish SUV passed with flying colours, earning five stars for its solid all round safety results.

Tests included a frontal impact that takes place at 64 km/h, with 40% of the width of the car striking a deformable barrier. In the full width test, 100% of the width of the car impacts a rigid barrier at 50 km/h. While in terms of the pole test, the car is propelled sideways at 32 km/h into a rigid pole.

For AEB Inter-Urban systems, Euro NCAP evaluates the automatic braking and forward collision warning functions in three different driving scenarios: driving towards a stationary vehicle (30-80 km/h), closing in at a slower vehicle in front (30-80 km/h) and following a car in front which suddenly starts braking (50 km/h, gentle and harsh braking).

The Volvo XC90 scored 97% for adult occupant safety, 87% for child occupant safety, 72% for pedestrian safety and 100% for safety assist systems. These scores are slightly higher than those achieved by the Audi Q7, a similar class of vehicle recently tested by Euro NCAP.

The full Euro NCAP report highlights a certain glaring issue, as a side curtain airbag failed to deploy as its rearmost edge during the side pole test. Volvo subsequently modified the trim panel to allow the airbag to deploy as intended. Another issue the report had was with the lack of protection to pedestrians in the pelvic region. Nonetheless, its bumper, windscreen and overall autonomous emergency braking system that recognises pedestrians and cyclists scored top marks.

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• Asia Volvo on Sep 03, 2015 at 12:33 pm

My Iriz 5 stars Asean NCAP, can match Volvo

• krs189 on Sep 03, 2015 at 12:57 pm

Is the test is relevant?

1. Who in the earth would put a child facing backward in the rear seat? has anybody been success doing it?

2. and even if the child is able to be buckled up, what mechanism can prevent the child from unbuckled the seat themselves while you happily driving it?

3. In ASEAN NCAP test, the child seat is from BRITAX/ has anybody able to buy BRITAX ISOFIX child seat in Malaysia? then there’s question of affordability. A test using normal of the shelf chidl seat would be better represent Malaysia or ASEAN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
    • Paul Tan on Sep 03, 2015 at 1:05 pm

You’re kidding with question number 1 right? Kids are supposed to rear face until a certain weight. My kids are both rear facing at 15kg and 10kg respectively.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • krs189 on Sep 03, 2015 at 4:28 pm

My Question refer to toddlers… maybe my question is incomplete

Try getting your 2 year or more old toddler to sit in a rear facing child seat…

No problem for child below 2 years old….

Is the test supposed to also include toddler?
        Why the previous NCAP has 1 child facing forward and 1 rearward. why the difference now? just to show the current car more safe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • i put my 7mth baby on rear seat facing backward . this can prevent baby neck from broken when sudden stop .

• tokmoh. on Sep 03, 2015 at 2:08 pm

Bodoh sombong nak ajar Volvo about safety? Kek.

• volvoxlaku on Sep 03, 2015 at 2:12 pm

Volvo if got 20 airbags baru safe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
        • salesman on Sep 03, 2015 at 3:30 pm

Volvo more laku than Proton, k?

• Lol, joke of the year, dun care with outside bolehland sales number

• volvomacai on Sep 03, 2015 at 4:27 pm

Why drag in p1? Compare it with those luxury cars is more appropriate.

• budleee on Sep 03, 2015 at 2:42 pm

Apparently there are plenty people on earth who does this…

http://www.iihs.org/iihs/topics/t/child-safety/topicoverview

http://www.safercar.gov/parents/CarSeats/Right-Car-Seat-Age-Size.htm

http://csftl.org/why-rear-facing-the-science-junkies-guide/

http://csftl.org/rear-facing-car-seat-myths-busted/

http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/127/4/e1050.full

Gosh the list are too long…

• krs189 on Sep 03, 2015 at 4:32 pm

My question again… you have toddler 2 years old and more?

Have you successfully seat him/her in rear facing??? tell me how?????

• ultraiman on Sep 03, 2015 at 5:49 pm

i have 2 yrs old kids and successfully seat rear facing. just add portable phone holder to view some movie to make him relax and not grumpy. short or long journey so far no complaint. if long journey u need to stop more at RnR to rest.

• Your comment shows how ignorant you are about child safety seats. Paultan has posted numerous posts regarding child safety seats so i guess you did not bother to see any of them and come here to troll and show your absolute ignorance. Actually from your comments you most likely never used a child safety seat before, am i right?

Money can be earned while your child has only 1 life. If you can afford to buy a car i don’t see the reason why you can’t afford a proper child seat unless you really don’t care about your own child safety.

• krs189 on Sep 03, 2015 at 4:29 pm

FYI I have 1 BMW ISOFIX Child seat and ISOFIX BRITAX Child seat mind you….

Thank you for your judgment…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
        • ultraiman on Sep 03, 2015 at 5:50 pm

so what’s your problem? you failed to put ur child in car seat?

• The answer to your first question.
          Both AAP(American Academy of Pediatrics) and the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) recommend children face backward until they outgrow their seat. That means most children should remain in a rear-facing car seat until they’re at least 2 or 3 years old.
          Many rear-facing car seats now accommodate kids who weigh 40, 45, or even 50 pounds, and are up to 49 inches tall. (Many kids exceed the height limit long before the weight limit.) Hoffman recommends keeping your child in the safest seat option for as long as possible and moving to the next step only when you absolutely have to.
          The guideline is AS LONG AS POSSIBLE even if your child is above 2 years old as its the safest position. If you can’t then move on to front facing position when you need to.

Question 2:
          Child safety seats although designed to make it hard for a child to unlock but eventually they will master it. Only way will be to either buy buckle covers, clips, turning buckle inwards and firmly educating child against it are some of the ways. Other than that can look at forums online on how others deal with this problem as each child is special and require different methods.

Question 3:
          In the child fairs i have went the Britax child seat on display in Malaysia does not come with Isofix. Some of the brands that i know of with Isofix would be Kiwy, Maxi-Cosi and BMW. Cheapest i have seen so far is Kiwy Isofix about RM1399 with AS 1754 standard.

• Watch out! We’ve found a caveman. YabaYaba-do…!!

• heybadigol (Member) on Sep 03, 2015 at 3:38 pm

No surprises there. One expects Volvo to score highly in safety. Just like one expects a 3 Series to excite. And Jeremy Clarkson to review cars in the most sarcastic manner possible.

• shawal on Sep 03, 2015 at 3:49 pm

was there ever any doubt…..

• In B4 onli EURONCAP is the real NCAP cuz they only gip Waja 3 stars. All other NCAPS ie ASEAN NCAP, ANCAP, etc are tipu, paid by Najib, cuz they gip Preve,Suprima,Iriz 5 stars.

Aussies so easy kena tipu by Proton.

• Ok nothing special to shout about. After all this is expected from Volvo.

What I want to see is how this car flairs in the small offset frontal collision which ihss employs. That will be worth shouting about.

I am sure this Volvo will pass that test with with flying colours as well

• Sonyman on Sep 03, 2015 at 7:44 pm

Seriously sexy. Anyway for those of you who no nuts about safety. Don’t talk so much till you know something. Anyway those of you could not face you kids backwards. Face them forwards. Problem solve.