Mazda CX-3 to be built in Thailand to meet demand?

all_new_mazda_cx-3_action_1-v2

It seems there might be some side effects to Mazda’s meteoric rise in popularity after all – the Nikkei Asian Review reports that the Japanese carmaker is running out of capacity at its main Hiroshima plant, forcing production of the Mazda CX-3 to be pushed out to the AutoAlliance Thailand plant in Rayong.

The move could take place as early as this year, as strong demand for cars like the CX-5 is expected to push Mazda’s Hiroshima and Hofu plants to run at 95% capacity this fiscal year, causing the company to rethink its strategy for the CX-3. President Masamichi Kogai previously said during the launch of the B-segment crossover in February that there were no plans to produce the car overseas.

The inheritance of production equipment from Ford – Mazda’s partner in the AutoAlliance joint venture – means that the Thai factory still has extra room. Rayong will import CKD kits from Japan to be assembled, with output projected to reach as much as several thousand units a month. If it comes to fruition, the CX-3 will join the Mazda 2, Ford Fiesta, Everest and Ranger and BT-50 pick-up twins in the Land of Smiles.

all_new_mazda_cx-3_action_15

Apart from alleviating undercapacity in Japanese sites, the move of production to Thailand will also help reduce risks associated with currency exchanges through exports. It will also enable Mazda to dodge the heavy tariffs imposed by Thailand on imported vehicles.

Over the past few years, Japanese carmakers such as Subaru and Toyota have been hard at work optimising and consolidating their production facilities, opening plants closer to markets to avoid or mitigate import duties. The report states that seven out of the eight Japanese carmakers reach record levels of overseas production in the fiscal year of 2014.

Over in Malaysia, the Mazda CX-3 will make its local introduction sometime before the end of the year – it will reportedly arrive with a high specification, powered by a 150 hp/204 Nm 2.0 litre SkyActiv-G petrol engine, a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission and a choice of either front- or all-wheel drive. Prices are estimated to start around RM120k.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Malaysia - ZERO investors on Sep 04, 2015 at 6:04 pm

This what happens when leaders are stealing billions. not just one leader but the whole pack of wolves. All of them are stealing left right and centre. Not just one person but every other leader or politician is stealing

This is why investors don’t want Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • Malaysia - ZERO investors on Sep 04, 2015 at 6:16 pm

Now everybody running away from Malaysia because of the Bandits of thieves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • BNaik on Sep 04, 2015 at 6:19 pm

Don’t talk kok politic here, can you only talk automotive in this blog…
      BN still going to win next GE, BN never lie.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 47
      • Then, your next generation will die.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
        • BNaik on Sep 04, 2015 at 9:00 pm

That you, worst you won’t have next generation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
        • BNaik on Sep 04, 2015 at 11:01 pm

BN generation will never die… but yours will be.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
          • piiiraahhh…mabuk

• comeonla on Sep 06, 2015 at 4:17 pm

Pls improve your English before you try to criticise people. You are just making a fool of yourself and your BN with that kampung grammar.

• Malaysia - ZERO investors on Sep 04, 2015 at 6:07 pm

We just lost a couple of billions of Ringgit and also maybe about 10 to 20 thousand jobs.

• All politician are the same la. Be it ruling government or opposition. Business people are opportunist they support both party by donating to its political coffers. You think Mr. LGE & LKS is clean meh…..Dont be fooled la. In Singapore also there are cronies system. Lee Kuan Yew & his families are super rich….please read http://johnharding.com/2011/08/is-singapores-lee-kuan-yew-the-worlds-richest-man/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
    • BeemerFreak on Sep 04, 2015 at 11:01 pm

So what are you implying? Continue to support to bunch of donkeys at helm, let them ruin this country or at least give a chance to someone to try to change this shit……singapore might be cronied by the Lee family, but have the Singaporeans ever rallied against them? So long you feed the people well and ensure everything else is top grade, who the hell cares how much you pocket.

Unlike in some land that you and I share, currency devaluate, money missing consistenly through whatever investment done whether it’s 1mdb, or national feedlot scheme, or whatever…..have all these benefitted the rakyat????NO……..

Bullshit……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Annoying on Sep 05, 2015 at 7:25 am

Better talk on the topic cx-3 ..you fool…singapore still got ISA haha2

• gearboxx on Sep 05, 2015 at 1:21 am

Keyboard warriors like you all also same!

• Hope CX3 will be launch earlier in Malaysia after this but why not Bermaz built the CX3 instead of Thai?

• Thaiboy on Sep 06, 2015 at 2:58 pm

Even BMW are building them in Thailand, our goverment and their minister focus on going forward

• eeeriz on Sep 06, 2015 at 4:11 pm

‘Prices are estimated to start around RM120k.’

The mid spec CX5 is also within that range. Why would i buy cx3 when i can have bigger and better spec CX5?

• The difference lies between the facts that the CX-5 2.0L model is CKD but the CX3 will be CBU; and the CX5 in halfway through its lifespan already.

• eeeriz on Sep 09, 2015 at 12:47 pm

True, but in real world, would people buy CX-3 over CX-5 because price is not much difference between the two.

Mazda, you have to lower the car price some more, at least to HRV price. Then we will have a healthy competitions.

• Murderonthedancefloor on Sep 07, 2015 at 8:12 am

I heard mazda cars are slow, is that true

• eeeriz on Sep 09, 2015 at 12:42 pm

I also heard BMW cars are slow too… is there any truth in there? ;)

Come and drive one (any Mazda 3, 6, CX5, CX9, MX5) you will know whether the claim is true or not.

• car lover on Sep 08, 2015 at 10:00 pm

120k CBU Thailand? BETER get local made cx5. Value for money. Thai quality is too far behind Japan build quality. Bermaz may think that boleh land people tai lin gong.