VIDEO: G11 BMW 7 Series – a look at the fancy BMW Display Key, what exactly can it do?

The BMW 7 Series has this feature called the BMW Display Key. The i8 was actually the first car that offered the BMW Display Key but it’s safe to assume that the 7 Series will put more of these fancy keys on the tables of hotel cafes while the owner enjoys afternoon tea than an i8 would.

The key is a US$250 option in the USA, but it is such a huge conversation piece that we won’t be surprised if markets that don’t offer customisation (like ours, for example) will just make it standard for the 7 Series variants they have on sale.

It’s larger than a regular BMW key fob so it’ll take up more space in your pocket. There’s a touch screen display which you will need to swipe upwards to unlock. From then on you have access to various controls.

You can turn on the parking lights, side lights, open and close the windows, and schedule the climate control system to turn on so that when you enter the car it’s nice and cooling. An option is the Remote Control Parking feature which adds another button on the side of the key fob.

Naturally with all these features the BMW Display Key will consume significantly more battery than a regular key fob. It’s powered by a lithium ion battery and can either be charged using a Micro USB port or a Qi wireless charger. The 7 Series has a Qi wireless charger in the armrest storage area so you can charge it in the car, or you can also use any Qi wireless charger to charge it – there’s no vendor lock in here although BMW does plan to sell its own home Qi charger later.

We recorded a video of a BMW representative demonstrating the BMW Display Key’s features to us at the international press drive event earlier this week. Watch the video for a walkthrough of all the features.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Datuk Seri James Bond on Sep 04, 2015 at 9:17 pm

YAY, now I can avoid JPJ checkpoint by controling with this key from the back seat like I did in Tomorrow Never Dies. One teh tarik please, not Stirred or Shaken !

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Sep 05, 2015 at 10:17 am

Sometimes I wonder if you’re just a bot warrior… People talk about Contis, you talk about Kimchis… Damn Jap loser…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • Proton Loser on Sep 05, 2015 at 11:50 am

Where he talk about Kimchis? Sometimes i wonder if you’re a Proton bot

• droll on Sep 04, 2015 at 10:11 pm

how long does the battery last on that key?? and how long does it take to recharge and what happens if it is flat? what do you lose?

• Bet you they’ll make an app for the Apple Watch like the i remote app.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 04, 2015 at 10:38 pm

when police ask why u speeding…i say not me…my car drive itself

• tinmilo on Sep 04, 2015 at 10:39 pm

Oh great… now we even have to charge the car key…

• No, we won´t have to charge the car key.
      Because we ain´t got the money to even buy the key..! :-)

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Sep 05, 2015 at 12:59 am

Dear Paultan & the GREAT TEAM,
    I hope you guys can channel this suggestion to BMW Malaysia because by now is been turn deaf towards safety need & technology which offer by other makers.
    I really hope BMW Malaysia will consider this 2 option in upcoming F30 LCI

1) Comfort Access
    2) Lane Change Warning (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=djLV7lX5wbs). Is very useful especially at night where we encounter motorcyclist without front lights!! & they just ride with speed beside your car.

Is not that useful offer “Lane Departure Warning” on 7-Series because KL road road white lining is not quite visible & kind of useless. And also only available in 7-series, how about the rest of drivers??? Since majority drive 3-series.

P.S: Been posting in BMW Malaysia official facebook but their reply was: We offer Lane Departure Warning on our 7-series :( :(

Thanks in advance & hope or wish to get these when time comes.

• Lolol on Sep 05, 2015 at 11:04 am

when the do include, I hope u won’t start posting that the price is expensive.

• Real BMW on Sep 05, 2015 at 11:55 am

When “BMW of Asia” is gone, BMW will be cheaper

• myvipower on Sep 05, 2015 at 11:57 am

Next time buy vios. Fly also can

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Sep 05, 2015 at 2:59 pm

If want to buy premium brand DON’t complaint price. Since Mazda, Camry offering to their vehicles (Japanese brand) in affordable price, I don’t see any EXTRA high prices increase. I won’t say anything about others regarding complaining prices but I always tell everyone “You paid What You Get”.

• p1alsogot on Sep 06, 2015 at 10:00 am

I though toyota macai said all new bmw got Comfort Access?

So now I know they talk kok just to bash p1, sigh

• You can get Lane Departure System and a load of other useful features with more practical cars such as Mazda 6.

• sick&tired on Sep 05, 2015 at 3:40 pm

i think it’s an overkill. so many things can go wrong. imagine if your lost your key! how much will a replacement cost??

• 4g63t dsm on Sep 05, 2015 at 7:26 pm

Eh. .let me guess ? $250usd plus programming and taxes?

I’m more concerned about how secure this bloody thing is.

• If you worry about the COST for key replacement!! This car is not for you!!

• There will be many ‘If’ if we make an assumption. Then there will be no improvement. In your entire life, have you ever lost your car key?

• i_the_kiasu_people on Sep 05, 2015 at 11:50 pm

This tech is too ahead of its time…please remember, this kind of car is only going to be owned by an owner who still checking newspaper reel on his door step instead on the tab.

• sick&tired on Sep 06, 2015 at 9:59 am

A poor jealous in denial mode…

• youngnrich on Sep 06, 2015 at 10:04 am

Nowadays a lot of young people can afford BMW lor. If you cannot afford this dun assume other people cannot afford too.

• Jamil Ahmed on Sep 06, 2015 at 8:06 am

Is the key secure enough? If not then Your Butt Is Mine

• Khallid on Sep 06, 2015 at 8:08 am

Im working at a company assembling bmw for malaysia market..theres only one company..all the design,safety and whatever it is ,the spec given by germany..they decide it,based on the market..

• Harvey B Jackson on Sep 06, 2015 at 1:11 pm

I love this, if I was in the market four a four door sedan I would look toward BMW 7 series

• It’s cheaper to hire a driver that does more than this. A 7 not meant to be driven by owner, its meant for you to be driven in!

• I ate on Sep 06, 2015 at 11:30 pm

In Malaysia maybe. Many mat sallehs drive their own S class and 7 series daily.

• Teh tarik une on Sep 06, 2015 at 6:07 pm

Who cares my saga using apps for find it own parking lot using a lenovo phone 199 only

• Chai Brothers on Sep 06, 2015 at 8:55 pm

proton the best