Volkswagen Polo Trophy launched – 100 units, RM90k

volkswagen-polo-trophy-launched-2

Volkswagen Group Malaysia (VGM) has just launched the limited edition Volkswagen Polo Trophy. Available in a run of just 100 units, the jazzed up hatch was unveiled to the media by none other than Volkswagen Motorsport’s Finnish duo, Jari-Matti Latvala and his co-driver, Miikka Anttila. The pair, fresh from their second-place finish at the 2015 Rally Deutschland, were in town for a meet and greet session with the fans.

The launch of the Volkswagen Polo Trophy was, of course, no coincidence as it marked Volkswagen Motorsport’s momentous one-two-three WRC win on home turf. “We are proud to have with us today Jari-Matti Latvala and Miika Anttila at the launch of this limited edition Polo Trophy, designed especially for Malaysian WRC fans,” said VGM managing director, Armin Keller.

To keep matters relatable, the Polo Trophy treatment extends only to the hatch. Changes are mostly cosmetic with the addition of stylised decals on the bonnet and along the sides of the car plus a contrasting wing mirror treatment and a WRC-inspired rear spoiler. Other additional goodies include Ecotint window film and a Blaupunkt Philadelphia 835 seven-inch touchscreen head unit with navigation.

Click to enlarge images.

No mechanical changes, though. The Volkswagen Polo Trophy soldiers on with the same naturally-aspirated 1.6 litre MPI four-cylinder engine that puts out a total of 105 PS at 5,250 rpm and 153 Nm of torque at 3,800 rpm. A six-speed Aisin automatic transmission sends the power to the front wheels.

As mentioned, the Volkswagen Polo Trophy is only available in a limited run of 100 units. The rally-inspired hatch is priced from RM89,888 sans on-the-road costs and insurance. To those who are interested in checking out the car in the flesh, head on over to the Setia City Convention Centre.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Areyousure on Sep 04, 2015 at 10:37 am

The blue sticker on the side looks nice.
    Fiesta have similar sticker also right?

• VW Tipu 5 year warranty on Sep 04, 2015 at 11:42 am

Stay away from VW. Though this car got no DSG, their service sucks. You got to wait 5 weeks just to make an appointment. If your mileage cross the service limit, they void your warranty

Secondly, their 5 year warranty is TIPU. It is only 2 years. 3 years is insurance warranty and ALL VGM VW owners can confirm to you, 9 out of 10 claims done, is turned down by insurance company.

So, after 2 years, anything goes wrong, you will cry cry cry cry cry. Gearbox alone about RM30k. Although not DSG, the VW gearbox also prone to failures.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
      • What are you trying to say.. “Sucks but no DSG”.. apa lu mau cakap?

VGM gave the mileage tolerance period already, why I always can make appointment just 1 week before

This is Aisin Toyota Gearbox, apa lu cakap “VW gearbox also prone to fail”

Are you slandering for the sake of slandering?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
        • Everybody know VGM service is bad. Go buy Proton. It is better

• The Power of Dreams on Sep 04, 2015 at 12:42 pm

Nowadays I wonder who would still buy this overrated & underpowered car over the almighty Honda City

• German Junk on Sep 04, 2015 at 12:14 pm

No need to slander. I had a Polo before and it was in SC Glenmarie every month. No need DSG to breakdown. Everyday got noise and electrical failure.

• Malu VGM on Sep 04, 2015 at 11:58 am

VW has got the worst RV now cause everybody knows about VGM scandals and their problematic DSG. Yes this car got no DSG but nama sudah busuk lah. Now 1 year old Jetta also want to get RM70k also susah. Used car dealer also say tak mau!

• Got DSC complaint
          No DSG also complaint.
          Go for stick shift then.

let me guess… You either dont have it in your garage or you are ‘so-called’ I rather put my money on Toyota kinda guy.

BTW the gearbox is cap sushi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • Terrence on Sep 06, 2015 at 12:00 am

Agree! VW Service sucksss

• Harry on Sep 05, 2015 at 10:01 am

5 weeks waiting for service? Which center?
      I never have such long wait for service at Jalan Ipoh or Sg. Besi, always couple of days sometimes next day.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 04, 2015 at 11:04 am

Soon you will see more cars like this breaking down by the roadside due to their infamous DSG.

As I always said, you will never go wrong with sushi cars. Buy Toyota better, good RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
    • YeapyEvo on Sep 04, 2015 at 11:28 am

How to have a DSG problem in a car using 6 speed automatic ? Your Vios turbo failure?

• VW Tipu 5 year warranty on Sep 04, 2015 at 11:47 am

though this car got no DSG, go to VGM facebook page. Until today, got such stinking comments about their poor service, the poor quality of their cars and the lies VGM staff like to tell.

• Curious?? on Sep 04, 2015 at 8:04 pm

Can u let me know which brand of car got no problem at all?

• Annual Leave in SC on Sep 04, 2015 at 11:50 am

German car with problem after problem. Spend your 21 days annual leave in the SC sorting out problems

• This one not DSG lah dey

• mr_em on Sep 04, 2015 at 11:21 am

wowww… nice stickers and HU upgrade but no mechanical changes… how inspiring @RM89k… VGM should hv made it on a Polo GTi instead of this run-of-the-mill Polo…

• Bomoh on Sep 04, 2015 at 11:27 am

Old stock, add blue sticker, launch in event,stock clear

• German Junk on Sep 04, 2015 at 12:23 pm

old stock or new stock does not matter. The word German is no more the word it used to be 20 years ago. Now, even my Perodua gives less headache than my ex Polo junk

• Kumar on Sep 04, 2015 at 11:36 am

This one does not use dsg.

• Tow Truck Association Malaysia (TTAM) on Sep 04, 2015 at 12:04 pm

We have towed so many non DSG VW. But our main income earner is from DSG cars. Many of us have sent our kids to UK to study Medicine just from towing VW cars in Malaysia.

• can’t believe VGM also joining the likes of P1 and P2, selling so called “limited edition” with stickers and cosmetics..

let me tapao this Polo Trophy with my Polo TSI..

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 04, 2015 at 11:58 am

The stickers look crap to me

• This brand is good for those who like to take urgent leave…”Hello boss, i cant go office today as my car broke down again…i need to apply urgent leave to fix it,thank you”.

Leave approve

• SAM VHL Loo on Sep 05, 2015 at 8:07 pm

Do it frequently and company ask you to f*#k off. Sorry to say, but what i say is quite true, generally Malaysian not even fit to land or work in any job industry, even general worker or other low post job. Give them job, they don’t appreciate it, instead complaining. Plus, they like to slack too much and go minum teh 5 – 6 times (each time 30 minutes) during office hours and unnecessary long hour lunch.

• Henry on Sep 04, 2015 at 1:39 pm

Car distributors are pretty creative. They can really resurrect a dead horse and flog it again.

• CrapLo on Sep 04, 2015 at 1:47 pm

Yet another gimmick from VGM to sell unwanted cars to ignorant consumers. Buyers beware. Service sucks. They are just desperate to see. Once sold, you can take the promises they give you, wipe your butt and flush it out. Cos thats the only real benefit you are ever going to get from their promises.

• Mr. Paul, where are the girls closeup photos? You dissapoint me…

• Alex Chan on Sep 04, 2015 at 2:58 pm

hahahahahahha..
    every car maker mention or highlighted in paul tan will get NEGATIVE comment from malaysia..the worst is toyota & proton..
    awesome u malaysian..hahaha, btw i did notice most of the comment came from the same person.

seem like all car in the worls is worst..so..what car actually good to buy? cow cart? hahahaha

• Alex ha ha…ha ha….u can buy 1VW collect dust ha ha…ha ha

• P1 nowadays is not as bad as before. Comments also better even than some sushi

• intermilan on Sep 04, 2015 at 7:45 pm

Yet another cheap marketing gimmick unshamely brought to you by vgm…

• Marson on Sep 05, 2015 at 12:25 am

Look like a Katak sold at RM89k plus.
    What Jari-Matti Latvala and his co-driver, Miikka Anttila has to do with the performance upgrade? There is no performance upgrade other than plastic upgrade.