BMW i3 appears on oto.my – “first” in M’sia, RM490k

bmw-i3-ad-oto

Check this out! An ad for the BMW i3 has surfaced on our sister classifieds site, oto.my. According to said ad, the “first (unit) in Malaysia” is priced at RM488,000 – which is a fair bit of dough for what is, basically, a five-door electric runabout. Well, no one said standing out would be affordable.

So while you’re away doing the numbers, allow us to remind the rest of our readers what the BMW i3 is all about. Said five-door hatch was the first model to be launched under BMW’s new sub-brand, dubbed BMW i, in 2013. The BMW i3 is powered by a rear-mounted synchronous electric motor that puts out the equivalent of 170 hp and 250 Nm. An optional range extender arrives in the guise of a 647 cc two-cylinder petrol engine.

With said option equipped, the BMW i3 possesses an operational range of 240 km. Charging the i3 takes more or less three hours via BMW’s i Wallbox Pure while utilising a rapid charging option can slice the time taken down to a little over 30 minutes.

Unfortunately, eco-friendly BMW fans will either have to opt for this grey unit or plonk down RM1,188,800 for the BMW i8 as the latter was the only i-branded model to be officially brought into Malaysia. If you’ve got about half a million burning a hole in your pocket, check out our test drive of the BMW i3 to find out whether or not it’s worth taking that plunge.

GALLERY: BMW i3 tested in Cyberjaya

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• MR RIGHT on Sep 07, 2015 at 4:42 pm

Not a practical price for Malaysian… although he is millionaire… billionaire…

• venven81 on Sep 07, 2015 at 5:07 pm

so true especially when the MB GLC is priced below RM350k. those who would go for this i3 are either die hard BMW fans or i-don’t-care-i-have-money fanatics

• beakes on Sep 07, 2015 at 5:58 pm

Exterior wise Proton emas wannabe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
        • Beng P1boy on Sep 07, 2015 at 9:53 pm

Iriz still going to win this car hand down… Global car never let us down but lousy BMW are expensive and no power !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • better buy Iriz. Our Government cares for us and has given us a good car like Iriz. Rm50k vs RM500k. Orang bodoh sahaja beli BMW.

What money you gonna save on fuel? In one year, this car become RM200k after RV jatuh like crazy.

Thank you BN. Thank you Malaysia for Iriz

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 08, 2015 at 11:52 am

The Iriz not yet sold already RV so bad. This year discount RM8888, next year RM18888?

I will consider when a new Iriz drop till RM200. Why pay so much for a junk?

• You mean, incredibly-stupid-people-with-more-money-than-sense fanatics.

• I love the Tiny tyre in this BMW i3.

mat rempit always love tiny tire.

• nameless on Sep 07, 2015 at 7:22 pm

very bad RV..

• iiAMGPackage on Sep 08, 2015 at 9:57 am

BMW owners don’t give a damn about RVs. They have the money to buy.

• nabill (Member) on Sep 07, 2015 at 4:45 pm

Damn cool… Id rather go for the range extender makes more sence!

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 07, 2015 at 4:53 pm

You don’t pay RM490k to save fuel, somemore it is neither a sport car nor a luxury car. Save the money and wait for our Mirai better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • I rather pay substantially less and get Nissan Leaf. At least its here now, officially supported and the infrastructure around KL is available. Your Mirai, slow slow wait lah.

• dugongx on Sep 07, 2015 at 10:51 pm

You mean that ugly junk design that was inspired by a pig?

• hijau on Sep 07, 2015 at 5:24 pm

490k? byk lg opsyen
    ewok, makan, 2 bmw aktif tourer

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 07, 2015 at 5:39 pm

Giler babi, for that kind of price there are a sea of options to choose from.

• Jimmy on Sep 07, 2015 at 5:57 pm

Basikal beroda tiga.

Top up a bit and you get an ……… yes, X5 !

• maybe this is the Most Beautiful BMW on earth.

• joejambol on Sep 07, 2015 at 11:17 pm

wut do u mean maybe?? its not maybe, it IS the most beeautiful bmw on earth..sekian, terima kasih

• erwinkarim on Sep 07, 2015 at 6:57 pm

government suppose to make EEV cars tax free. too bad it has this one requirement that it needs to be built in malaysia.

so you end up w/ an S400 hybrid that is tax free for rich folks, while the common people end up paying taxes for that MyVi / Iriz / Persona and Saga which doesn’t qualify….

Well played, well played….

• This doesn’t make sense. In the UK it’s the same price as a 320d M Sport. Even with all the options ticked & the maximum amount of tax it shouldn’t be more than rm350k

• Ajisen Ramen on Sep 07, 2015 at 8:15 pm

Such pricing shows how messed up is our country’s auto policy. This car isn’t meant to be insanely expensive, and for the eco friendly. But with such pricing, a Mercedes S400 Hybrid isn’t that far away. Only an insane person would buy such a car.

• I ate on Sep 07, 2015 at 9:29 pm

This is just an expensive toy

• Kancil Hybrid on Sep 07, 2015 at 10:05 pm

I rather buy two Iriz. One for road, one for track use.

• Tamiya (Member) on Sep 08, 2015 at 12:29 am

To be honest, that’s one ugly half a mil car…

• symusty on Sep 08, 2015 at 6:01 am

I have seen this car in person a few times, even sat in one. This car should not be twice the price of a 3 series, at most the rm300k. Almost half a million for an electric compact? No way.

• Leafable on Sep 08, 2015 at 9:13 am

Somethings wrong with this country.

• tinmilo on Sep 08, 2015 at 10:24 am

This kind of price…
    It makes our ringgit feels like banana money now.

• PeterGriffin on Sep 08, 2015 at 4:58 pm

I know this is kinda crude, but I’d rather buy a Hummer and guzzle RM100k worth of fuel to drive around Malaysia rather than buying the i3. I might have extra money to buy a small house after my escapade.