Ops Samseng – 45 would-be street racers arrested

polis operasi PT

According to a report by theSun, a total of 45 traffic offenders have been arrested by the police during the five-hour Ops Samseng operation. Said clampdown, conducted between 12 am and 5 am on Sunday morning (September 6), took place in several locations in the state of Penang including Jalan Bukit Gambir, Jalan Sultan Azlan Shah, Jalan Sungai Dua, Jalan Masjid Negeri and around George Town.

The operation was initiated following a public tip-off on a group of street racers, who were believed to be in the midst of organising an illegal race meet around the vicinity of Padang Kota Lama. “With the arrest of 45 people out of the 114 picked up, we averted an illegal road race,” said North East district police chief ACP Mior Faridalathrash Wahid.

Both owners and passengers were among the 45 detained, all aged 18 and above. “Police also seized 11 motorcycles out of the 88 vehicles screened,” added Mior. Additionally, the operation also saw a total of 257 summons issued for various offences such as driving without valid licences and expired road tax.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• azhar on Sep 07, 2015 at 11:09 am

congratz police!…eradicate this fast & furious wannabe scumbags!

• George Abdul on Sep 07, 2015 at 11:13 am

When will Ops Mat Rempit will be operating? ?? Is countless at this country… do Government do anything on this? Beside only arresting stomping picture?!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • ok congrats polis. now eradicate the 1mdb scumbags!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Not job scope of polis trafik. Please direct ur komplen to fmt, mkini, rocket. TQ

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • alldisc on Sep 07, 2015 at 11:24 am

dangerous to other road users. congrats.

they are not difficult to recognise. noisy exhausts, lowered suspension, huge bootlid spoilers, aggresive looking bodykits and stickers and more often than not upgraded turbocharged power plant (either endorsed or not)

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 07, 2015 at 1:40 pm

LOL.

Your description does not fit real racers. Real racers are very low key.

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 07, 2015 at 2:45 pm

Yea, I had seen a lot of Wira Waja Persona Saga matching your description but they are CRAWLING on the road.

Proton’s legendary fuel consumption keeps the driver’s leg lighter than balloon.

• Wayang on Sep 07, 2015 at 11:24 am

Ek eleh… Mat rempit ni.. Hari2 racing all over malaysia… Now polis wann wayang2 catch in Penang oni. This is to cover up other stories!

• Just lately a police officer was killed by a rempit. Please catch them too. Need to know where the rempits usually hang out at? Ask the public, we are more than willing to give you some tip-off.

• old dog on Sep 07, 2015 at 12:23 pm

i seen those throw away their bike and run away by feet in LDP turn Sg Buloh police check…

• Ah Beng Vios Turbo TRD godcar on Sep 07, 2015 at 12:47 pm

You can’t catch me even with your slow poke Evo X. Hahaha

• Albert on Sep 07, 2015 at 1:45 pm

The mat rempits must be jailed at least 2 years.
    But the real culprits are the underage without helmets roaming your neighbourhood at breakneck speeds.
    They are killing machines roaming your tamans each day.In fact,the bike owners should also be charged and sentenced to jail.I almost got knocked down by these f..up bastards one day while crossing the road.Lazy enforcement, done haphazardly is a norm now.Don’t expect to see any improvement sooner.

• Every sunday morning at 2am, Pantai expressway behind seri sentosa school, the local racing begins….go and catch laa.

Busier than Sepang.

• Careful ah Sam Loo. Your Vios later kena

• Congrats, but I believe there are way more that 45 scumbags here… And don’t forget mat rempit as well ya…

• Especially Myvi killers, arrest them all.