Toyota Hilux Legend 45 – a monstrous 450 hp one-off

toyota hilux legend 45 03

Nothing like a special to commemorate the millionth mark – Toyota South Africa has come up with a one-off Hilux to celebrate the milestone set in July by the pickup, and the special is quite the monster output-wise.

The 3.0 D-4D Legend 45, as it’s called, is equipped with a 5.0 litre V8 from the Lexus IS-F, tweaked to offer 450 hp at 6,000 rpm – in a race configuration, the mill is also seen in the Toyota Motorsports Hiluxes used in the South African cross-country series.

The specs of the unit are close to that of the race Hiluxes, but obviously the special has been given enough to make it street-legal. Aside from the reworked engine, there’s a Dakar-spec inlet manifold, a Pectel Cosworth engine management system and an AIM electronic instrument panel, a full tubular exhaust and a twin-plate AP racing clutch working with a standard D-4D transmission.

toyota hilux legend 45 05

Elsewhere, the sump on the lump has been modified to make room for the Hilux’s front-axle differential, and both front and rear diffs have been given revised gear ratios to accomodate all that power. The power steering pump has also been upgraded and the steering ratio upped to make for a quicker, responsive rack.

The suspension has also been lowered by 50 mm, with fully-adjustable dampers on call, and the brakes have also been upgraded, with 350 mm Power Bake discs and billet calipers bolted on. Rounding off the rework are 18-inch wheels.

The special cost about one million Rand (RM310,200) to build, but has found a home with Pretoria businessman Shabier Aboobaker. There are reportedly many other enquiries for a similar job, though Toyota SA has said the project is very much a one-off.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• jhchong on Sep 07, 2015 at 11:22 am

any body donate 1 unit to me?

• I donut u 1 internet

• allen on Sep 07, 2015 at 11:51 am

Ask Sam Loo

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 07, 2015 at 2:47 pm

Buying Proton or foreign cars, you are donating this to your beloved government. One is through the cronies pocket, another is through the crazy car taxes.

• so. what yu wud do ?

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 08, 2015 at 12:02 pm

I will buy tax free car, like Camry Hybrid. Only GST paid with superb quality and fuel consumption.

• wilson on Sep 07, 2015 at 12:50 pm

1 unit enough meh?
      i donate u 2.6 billion units la

#chickengor

• kurangak on Sep 07, 2015 at 11:53 am

meh…they swapped the engine out

• Meh. This is not legend enuff compared to UMW Hailat “Sam Loo sez I am Lejen”.
    This pickup is legendary for using the same old boring body design, legendary for using outdated dinosar enjin, legendary for having no safety features, legendary for having no safety yet allowing their sohai ahbeng chinaman company owners to drive way over speed limit and cucuk whateva cars on the fastlanes, legendary for propping up UMW sales despite other toyota models dropping like birdshit, legendary for able to fool so many owners despite better equivalents in the market, legendary for a sorry excuse reason for Sam Loo to justify his high RV. This is the real legend.

• ABTguy (Member) on Sep 07, 2015 at 12:02 pm

Haiz, pls stop posting this type of news on Samseng cars, especially road bully pickup truck.

They are meant to be for work use, I hope the Govt impose some regulations on the capacity and engine to limit the power of such cars. So at the end there will be no interest for wannabe to buy such things !

• Same L0rrr on Sep 07, 2015 at 12:55 pm

I am gonna import one of these to park outside my beautiful cheras low cost flat.

• Jezebel on Sep 07, 2015 at 3:36 pm

not toyota biased but a remember that top gear conquers north pole in a hailat. a euro spec hailat with vsc

• High HP, but same amount of Torque..hmm..since the stock gearbox can take the punch from the V8

• this is the hilux that can be considered trd version. not the one trd with stupid bodykit in malaysia market