BMW X6 xDrive35i CKD launched in M’sia – RM667k

bmw-x6-ckd-launched

BMW Group Malaysia has launched the CKD F16 BMW X6 at its headquarters in Cyberjaya. The BMW X6, presented in sole xDrive35i trim, is the ninth model to be locally-assembled in Malaysia and is equipped with the M Sport pack. If you’re currently experiencing a bout of Déjà vu now, we don’t blame you. The CBU BMW X6 xDrive35i M Sport was launched in April this year at the BMW World Malaysia 2015 event.

The major difference this time round is, of course, the significantly lower price tag. While the CBU variant went for RM719k, the CKD BMW X6 xDrive35i M Sport is priced at RM666,800 with on-the-road (OTR) costs sans insurance – that’s a drop in price of about RM52,000! The car carries a five-year unlimited mileage warranty with BMW’s Free Scheduled Service Programme.

In terms of its exterior design, the F16 BMW X6 retains its predecessors rather bold, blunt front end which is made all the more aggressive thanks to the stylised front bumper of the M Sport kit. The immense front kidney grille assembly gets flanked by Adaptive LED headlights and LED fog lights as standard.

Moving back, Air Breather side vents are to be found by the front wheel arch while the wheels themselves are 20-inch M double-spoke light alloy wheels. Tyre sizes employ a staggered setup with the front units measuring in at 275/40 and the rear at 315/35 – all Dunlop SP SportMaxx GT run-flats. Also, Adaptive M Suspension with pneumatic rear suspension is featured as standard, as is a panoramic glass sunroof.

bmw-x6-xdrive35i-m-sport-ckd-launched-14

Under the bonnet, the X6 xDrive35i is powered by a 3.0 litre TwinPower Turbo six-cylinder engine that pumps out a total of 306 hp at 6,400 rpm and 400 Nm from 1,200 to 5,000 rpm. An eight-speed Steptronic Sport automatic transmission sends all that grunt to all four corners via the xDrive all-wheel drive system. Performance figures include a 0-100 km/h time of 6.4 seconds while top speed is rated at 240 km/h.

Official fuel consumption figures are listed at 8.6 l/100 km while CO2 emission levels stand at 200 g/km. Also available as standard is a Launch Control function and the marque’s Driving Experience Control interface – the latter allows owners to tailor suit the driving characteristics of the car to suit his/her current driving style. With ECO Pro mode selected, a coasting function is enabled.

On the inside, the interior of the CKD X6 xDrive35i is trimmed in Dakota leather with a choice of three colour schemes – Black, Coral Red and Cognac. The front sport seats are electronically-operated units with memory function. Elsewhere, the “anthracite-coloured” BMW Individual headliner serve to complement the Aluminium Hexagon interior trim finished in Chrome Pearl Grey.

Standard interior goodies include an automatic four-zone air-conditioning system and ambient lighting at “shoulder height.” Elsewhere inside, a M leather-wrapped multifunction steering wheel and paddle shifters are featured, as is a ‘Sports’ gear selector. Also, BMW’s ConnectedDrive infotainment platform is present.

bmw-x6-xdrive35i-m-sport-ckd-launched-51

Said platform comprises of a HD head-up display as well as a massive 10.25-inch centre display screen with Navigation system Professional and BMW Mobile Apps – the latter allows for the integration of smartphones which enables owners to access Facebook, Twitter, Spotify and the like. A 600W Harman Kardon surround sound system with 16 speakers and USB, Bluetooth and AUX connectivity is also featured as standard.

Additional driver assistance features include cruise control with brake function, a surround view camera and Driving Assistant System – the latter is comprised of Lane Departure Warning with Approach Warning and Pedestrian Collision Warning. A reverse camera is also standard, as is Park Distance Control.

As for standard safety kit, six airbags are featured along with Isofix mounts at the rear, Dynamic Stability Control (DSC), ABS, ASC, CBC and DTC. The CKD BMW X6 xDrive35i M Sport is available in four different colour schemes – Alpine White, Flamenco Red, Carbon Black and Space Grey.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Tigerkonga on Sep 09, 2015 at 3:22 pm

Price not justify it’s wrong later buy from grey importers

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 09, 2015 at 4:22 pm

Get a Lexus better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
      • Mark Tan on Sep 09, 2015 at 4:52 pm

it depends, many rich man are conservative and old school.

• BMW can you pls stop cheating Malaysians. We are not stupid. Pls don’t overcharge your cars thinking Malaysians are stupid.

• Alan Harris on Sep 09, 2015 at 5:00 pm

BMW Malaysia bunch of liars. This car CBU less than US$60k. BMW Malaysia will get this car at cost price of US$40k. They CKD it, it will be about US%35k. But sell here near to RM700k.

• Gargantia on Sep 09, 2015 at 7:05 pm

Don’t forget AP system tax and Govt taxes. Rakyat been fool by Government but still not realise after 30 years.

• They should CKD the xDrive30d & xDrive40d

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 09, 2015 at 3:51 pm

Nice price cut but my pay does not warrant me to own one of these yet…sigh =/

• Therealmaserati on Sep 10, 2015 at 9:43 am

If you are still earning a ‘salary’ then u definately do not qualify to own the X6.

• dugongx on Sep 11, 2015 at 11:09 pm

Nonsense, lots of ppl are earning 6 figure salary and can easily afford this.

• rapid on Sep 09, 2015 at 4:07 pm

660k. buy 1 of this or 2 X3

• Buy 1 brand new Porsche Cayenne.

Different Class, Same Price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
      • Areyousure on Sep 09, 2015 at 10:13 pm

Porsche Cayenne = VW.
        Why should I settle for VW when I can own a BMW?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • Mark Tan on Sep 10, 2015 at 2:30 pm

u got the point,
          VW company has no ethics.

1. they produce lemons.
          2. they screwed suzuki contract.
          3. they dont give buyers good service.

very money minded with ethic-less.

• Welcome my Gen2 big brother!

• Proton better

• You mean better in terms of:
      Value for money? Yes
      RV percentage? Yes
      Servicing? Yes
      Reliability? Yes
      Ease of Parts Sourcing & Time to Replace? Yes
      Parking? Yes
      Less Encouragement for the Drivers to be Assh*les? Yes

I believe I agree with you too.

• WeMissSammyVellu on Sep 09, 2015 at 4:21 pm

Despite charging over the top prices for their cars, BMW Malaysia are always stingy when it comes to selecting alloy wheels for its Malaysian customers.

I noticed they always give you the smaller of the two options available. In this case they provide 20 inches instead of the 21 inches. Same goes for the 3 & 5 series M sport options.

Somehow despite getting the M sport package, you always feel the wheels that come with the car is one size smaller!

• Kancil Hybrid on Sep 09, 2015 at 4:25 pm

The price shows how out of reach this type of vehicle to many Malaysians.

And the kaki songlap billionaire doesn’t care at all about this obviously, as long as he knows his anak cucu can buy this car without blinking their eyes, using the RM2.6b.

857 days since GE13. The promise of car price reduction is as good as dead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Old engine?

• Jimmy on Sep 09, 2015 at 4:59 pm

More reasons not to buy recond unit.
    Good panoramic glass roof.
    Much much better buy than the new A7 Sportback, price wise.

• Saya Anak Malaysia on Sep 09, 2015 at 6:37 pm

Get pre-owned unit, maybe at Rp 550K. Car should be ard 3 months old.

U can nego wit BMW like this I heard. u sign some kind of undertaking letter & then BMW lets u drive the car for 3 months starting from new. Upon 3 months, BMW will do car ownership transfer to you and u start paying the instalment.

fantastic deal rite?

• jinggo on Sep 09, 2015 at 8:40 pm

ini haramjadah punya kerajaan.. menafikan hak rakyat untuk memiliki kenderaan berkualiti pada harga yg murah.. siap sedia lah wahai kerajaan zalim untuk menjawab di hadapan Allah di akhirat kelak.. Takbir!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 09, 2015 at 8:44 pm

i’d happily wait for recon version,,,,at least got cbu quality