Honda Project 2&4 Concept: half car, half MotoGP bike

HONDA PROJECT 2&4 POWERED BY RC213V TO DEBUT AT FRANKFURT: A COMBINATION OF GLOBAL CREATIVITY AND CRAFTSMANSHIP

Building motorcycle technology into cars is something many companies have been experimenting for ages. The most famous example, of course, is the Ariel Atom – which paired bike-inspired construction with a screaming 2.0 litre engine from the FN2 Honda Civic Type R – but we’ve also seen plenty others like the Ducati-engined Volkswagen XL Sport.

Now, Honda itself has thrown its hat into the ring with its new Honda Project 2&4 concept, which will make its debut at the 2015 Frankfurt Motor Show next week. The result of the company’s in-house “Global Design Project” competition, it’s a diminutive little machine – measuring 3,040 mm long, 1,820 mm wide and just 995 mm tall, with a weight of just 405 kg.

HONDA PROJECT 2&4 POWERED BY RC213V TO DEBUT AT FRANKFURT: A COMBINATION OF GLOBAL CREATIVITY AND CRAFTSMANSHIP

The latter is just as well, because power comes from a 999 cc V4 engine from Honda’s MotoGP challenger, the RC213V, albeit tuned for public roads (it’s likely the mill from the production RC213V-S). It produces over 215 PS at a staggering 13,000 rpm (rev limit 14,000 rpm) and over 118 Nm at 10,500 rpm, all sent through a six-speed dual-clutch transmission.

Taking cues from the race-winning RA272 Formula One racer from 1965, the styling of the Project 2&4 is minimalism at its best – sparse fairings revealing the core frame and functional components beneath, much like a bike. It’s a strict one-seater, with a “floating seat” design completely exposing the driver to the elements – Honda says it evokes “the freedom of a bike.” No good for side impacts, but a thrilling ride for sure.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• bodoh car. This car sounds as stupid as Bersih supporters. Decide lah whether it is a car or bike bangau Honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 35
    • bomoh on Sep 09, 2015 at 11:22 am

you sound like someone’s daughter…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • I agree. So bodoh to waste rakyat to come out with this ugly hybrid when they should put all their money into making a competitive F1 engine.
      These japs only know how to syok sendiri, go europe with F1 circus just to enjoice life makan here makan there. But come out shit result.
      Somemore their tak apa attitude is bringing down a illustrious team such as McClaren. Real topkek.
      Oso the nihon rakyat no choice but to support them so long yet they can only come out with these pet projects. This is corruption & protection I tell you.
      And and and if they get into financial trouble, they just ask Jap Gov for donation. Once get money, they then fire a lot of their staff, just so their shareholders get bigger dividends.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
      • Bomoh on Sep 09, 2015 at 1:46 pm

Somemore you mentioned they waste rakyat…wake up lah duke, this is Honda not Potong…

• makko on Sep 09, 2015 at 11:00 pm

You understand sarcasm? If bolehland people bash p1 you approve but why when Jepunis being bashed you said something?

Use your brain.

• Sindiro Sarkam on Sep 09, 2015 at 11:42 am

Relating a car to a bersih shows your stupidity at maximum level.
      There are few small compact performance car that uses motorcycle engine, suzuki has made one too.
      Still can’t blame you, i think you just came out from a cave.

• hailthepurist on Sep 09, 2015 at 1:51 pm

yo bro-girl, this is stil a concept..

• Mat angan on Sep 09, 2015 at 10:11 pm

Mamat ni bengang sbb die pakai ex5 dream je.. Berangan lah jwb nyer..

• heybadigol (Member) on Sep 09, 2015 at 11:46 am

That looks amazing. Sadly, its only a concept. It may never be produced cos it won’t be safe enough (where to put side & curtain airbags?).

• lolzer on Sep 09, 2015 at 6:06 pm

Even if it’s a reality, it’s more likely to be a track-day car like the Ariel Atom and BAC Mono where there will be no air conditioning, no radio, no cup holders etc. It is safe due to its low height and wide surface area (low centre of gravity), but depends on how you drive though. Most track drivers know what they’re doing but no doubt accidents happen (eg. wet ground)