Mazda 3 modified by BBR – two stages, up to 185 hp

BBR Mazda 3 2.0-litre Skyactiv

Can’t wait for the Mazda 3 MPS to make its debut? UK-based tuner, BBR GTi, may have the perfect solution for you, then. The firm has just introduced its two-stage engine tuning programme for variants of the Mazda 3 equipped with the 2.0 litre SkyActiv-G engine. Said mill puts out three different power figures starting from 120, 145 and 165 PS (162 hp) – all Malaysian variants possess the latter figure.

According to the firm, both tuning maps are designed specifically to help unleash “the full potential of the new direct-injection powerplant” via the removal of “key electronic and mechanical restrictions.” The base package, dubbed BBR Super 170, includes the firm’s Starchip ECU software package and “revised fuel and ignition calibration.” The firm claims that said package is best paired with the 120 PS variant.

With the package bolted on, peak power is said to have been recorded at 169.7 hp at 6,300 rpm with torque figures listed at 221 Nm at 4,250 rpm. The BBR Super 170 package is priced at £499 (RM3,316) including installation. Stepping up, the BBR Super 185 package features a stainless steel exhaust manifold with a 4-2-1 layout for improved “engine flexibility whilst maximising the spread of torque.”

BBR Mazda 3 2.0-litre Skyactiv-2

Click to enlarge image.

Also included in the package is a K&N high flow filter and the firm’s Starchip ECU calibration programme. All of the changes equate to a new peak power output of 185 hp at 6,300 rpm with 235 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. The BBR Super 185 package is priced at £1,795 (RM11,929) including installation.

Additionally, customers can also choose to equip their Mazda 3s with a BBR sports exhaust system, which is comprised of a 2.5-inch diameter centre section for £495 (RM3,289) and a BBR-branded stainless steel rear silencer with 3.5-inch exhaust pipes for £395 (RM2,625). BBR Sport lowering springs are also offered at £467 (RM3,103) including labour while throwing in Koni adjustable dampers brings the total up to £877 (RM5,828).

GALLERY: Mazda 3 CKD Sedan

GALLERY: Mazda 3 CKD Hatch

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• gaviny on Sep 09, 2015 at 9:50 am

this is a warm hatch only, MPS would be above the 200hp mark

• mazdasucks on Sep 09, 2015 at 1:31 pm

Rubbish. Max torque at 3750rpm. Even old engine 4G18 got at 2750rpm

• 4G18[edit]
        The SOHC 4G18 displaces 1.6 L (1,584 cc) with a bore and stroke of 76.0 mm x 87.3 mm. It is a 4-valve per cylinder engine, fuel injected. Output is 105 PS net at 6,000 rpm (Middle East specifications), 122 PS gross at 6,000 rpm (Gulf Countries specification),[1] 98 PS net with 150 Nm (European specifications). It uses a COP (Coil-On-Plug, also known as Plug-top coil) ignition rely on one coil to fire two cylinders, one of which was by spark plug wire.

APA kau cakap? 2750rpm?

• alldisc on Sep 09, 2015 at 10:12 am

and when it reaches sunway garages – marked up 100%!

maybe 200% (in order to give huge discounts!) – TAKE IT OR LEAVE IT.

not surprisingly there will be many takers.

• if u dont appreciate specialist’s skills and manpower.
      you can buy it and install yourself.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 11, 2015 at 12:33 am

actually quite easy….nowadays car modification is basically just ecu remap…which can be done using a laptop….unlike previous days which included a lot of mechanical work

• car_expert on Sep 30, 2015 at 10:53 am

dont be sohai la …

those so call tuner also use the tuner kits come with the package. the only thing they did is they keep those tuner kit themself. they suppose to pass it to customer as the tuner kits come with package.

I bought standalone before and last time will come with tuner guide and CD. It is included with the package.

Do not buy from local shop, buy from manufacturer directly.

• Nice, tuning is really hard on skyactiv engine since it got really high compression ratio. Messed up with the exhaust manifold alone could end up with engine knock. Good to see someone have done their research on this engine. The technology got a lot of potential. High compression forced induction might be possible with skyactiv concept

• Junk ofa car.I rather buy a Proton Preve. Better quality. Support my own national car better than support bodo jepunis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 33
    • Bodoh. I rather take Satria Neo CUSCO edition. Best of both worlds.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
    • Parts will fall off from your Preve over time. Best is to prepare a list of contacts of towing companies since you’ll need them occasionally.

• Kenneth Fook on Sep 09, 2015 at 10:58 am

It will never made it to Malaysia.

• Kancil Hybrid on Sep 09, 2015 at 11:06 am

I bet Racechip Suprima S will outdrag this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • Protonhero on Sep 09, 2015 at 11:23 am

132hp CVT. Sila cari tong sampah yg paling dekat, masuk suprimak tu. TQ.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
      • LOL butthurt? It’s 140PS without racechip. With racechip ady can do below 8 secs

• Bob_B78 on Sep 09, 2015 at 2:04 pm

Dun underestimate a turbocharged car like preve/suprima s, a mere ECU upgrade can increase about 40hp and 40nm. All this at a cost less than 3K. In comparison, u need to fork out about 10k to get a similar power upgrade for N/A like mazda

• Why dont you people work harder and buy better cars rather than try to defend rubbish proton?

• I got a mazda 3 sedan I’m interested about this Can I know where ur shop is?

• If im not mistaken, BBR is a tuning company based in the UK only. You will not find their stuff here

• We just want high spec M3 Hatchback instead of just in between spec….but remain the price same as M3 Sedan high spec….