Borgward BX7 – first official images surface online!

borgward-bx7-first-official-images-5

The first official images of the Borgward BX7 have surfaced prior to its debut at the 2015 Frankfurt Motor Show this month. After 54 years of inactivity, the German carmaker is finally back in business with its revival spearheaded by Christian Borgward and Karlheinz Knöss – the former is the grandson of company’s founder.

So, what exactly do we have to go on about the Borgward BX7? For starters, it looks to have been equipped with a front grille directly plucked from the folks at Buick but with the marque’s rhombus-shaped logo embedded within instead. The whole front fascia, in fact, carries a heavy dose of Teutonic attitude.

Elsewhere, a panoramic glass roof is present on top while the rear of the SUV looks almost like a cross between a Porsche Cayenne and a Hyundai Santa Fe. As for technical details, Auto Bild reports that the Borgward BX7 measures in at a length of around 4,700 mm and will boast a seven-seater layout – the BX7 will also be available with a five- or six-seater configuration.

Under the bonnet, said SUV is reported to be powered by a turbocharged 2.0 litre four-cylinder petrol engine with 224 PS – said mill will be mated to a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission. All that power will be diverted to the road via an all-wheel drive system with an electronically-operated BorgWarner-sourced multi-plate clutch. Also joining the petrol unit at launch will be a plug-in hybrid variant.

borgward-bx7-first-official-images-6

The plug-in BX7 will feature the same combustion engine coupled to an electric motor for a total output of 401 PS. A fully-electric range of 55 km has also been touted. Other specs include a maximum boot capacity of 1,344 litres as well as a 12.3-inch infotainment system with WiFi and smartphone connectivity.

Additional driver assistance features will include a 360 degree surround view camera and adaptive cruise control. As for standard safety kit, expect a decent number of airbags and a braking assistant system with pedestrian protection along with the usual plethora of acronyms.

At launch, the Borgward BX7 will only go on sale in China and other emerging markets while European customers are expected to wait a little longer till they can get their hands on one. According to reports, the SUV is expected to be priced from €26,000 (RM125,882).

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Javino on Sep 11, 2015 at 7:48 pm

I smell Audi at the rear…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Nothing inspiring. Just another ah-beng style modified Audi Q5

• BOYRACER on Sep 11, 2015 at 8:40 pm

Looks like all the German marques’ design cues are there.

• dongdong on Sep 11, 2015 at 8:47 pm

Trying to imagine how different the reaction would have been if this was made in china instead of germany…

• Elements of the latest German offerings present. However the proof of the SUV is in its terrain-tackling abilities. How this will turn out should determine the production future of the brand. If it can run with the big boys and cost less it will have a future. Telling your friends what you drive would take some getting used to. ‘Borgward’ sounds alien. Either you’ll get chuckles or worse – someone mistakes you for trying to be disrespectfully cheeky till you convince them it’s a real car make. Anyway good luck to the brand.

• brazbuz on Sep 11, 2015 at 8:57 pm

Emerging market? Msia included?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 11, 2015 at 9:19 pm

doomed to fail

• Kancil Hybrid on Sep 11, 2015 at 9:53 pm

Proton, please JV with Borgward to produce SUV.

• albag on Sep 11, 2015 at 10:12 pm

BX-7.. sound so china…

• old dog on Sep 11, 2015 at 10:34 pm

What a price!!

• DPCraft on Sep 11, 2015 at 11:05 pm

Front Styling looks like china car

• Raja Azhar on Sep 11, 2015 at 11:05 pm

At first, when i saw this car i thought it was a china made Kia Sorento.

• Aero (Member) on Sep 12, 2015 at 2:49 am

Most from the younger generations have no idea what Borgward is and what they used to represent… in a nutshell, they’re like Germany’s version of Britain’s Rover, but lesser known and less fortunate… Borgward used to sell cars in Malaysia (or Malaya ?)… but those days are long gone. Only memories remain.

• kadajawie on Sep 12, 2015 at 10:11 am

Nobody knew what is Proton car in Germany also. A too distant memory from those Wira Satria days.

• This looks like a rebadged Audi Q5 and with that low price, it is real steal!
    Looks like it also has the Audi-Volkswagen mechanicals. Very good deal!

• heybadigol (Member) on Sep 12, 2015 at 10:56 am

Is it using the VW group’s MLB platform (north-south engines & torque vectoring AWD) or a FWD biased platform (similar to Honda, Toyota etc). If its on the MLB, then this should perform well on the road (as the Q5 and the amazing Porsche Macan handles bloody well for SUVs).

• Ash Crimson on Sep 12, 2015 at 8:53 pm

This thing just screams china.

• bokwok on Sep 12, 2015 at 10:57 pm

Its hard for me to digest as, like many of you here pointed out, if I did not read the article and just by the photos, it seems ‘china-car’ to me.

The whole mix of that large top tier grill, the Borgward lettering in range roveresque location, similar to Landwind – soft looking. But it could just be the way the photo is taken, looks ‘thinly made’.

Just have to wait to see in real life.

• longjaafar on Sep 14, 2015 at 10:23 am

I remember Borgward had 2 models in Malaysia. The smaller Arabella and the Isabella. Very good and sporty cars, especially the Isabella S.

• Leonardo on Sep 14, 2015 at 12:45 pm

Some Baby Boomers might still remember this brand, as some of these cars were still running in the 70s. But I too remembered this car and brand, because my late grandfather used to own one of these for a short while. I don’t particularly liked the styling, as the proportions and form looked unbalanced and disjointed.
    As for this new model, it looks like it is a ‘cut and paste’ of several components and parts of different models, assembled together. I would question where the styling cues is heading?
    And time will tell if the gamble to reignite the Borgwald name is worth it, or not.

• LittleMin on Sep 14, 2015 at 1:32 pm

http://www.digitaltrends.com/cars/2016-borgward-bx7-news-specs-pictures/

“Borgward is being revived by Beiqi Foton Motor, one of China’s biggest commercial vehicle manufacturers”

No wonder…..