Free bus ride for 11 schools in Petaling Jaya – MBPJ

pj free school bus route

Beginning October 1, there will be a free bus pick-up service for children studying at schools situated within the vicinity of Petaling Jaya. The free one-way shuttle service, provided by the Petaling Jaya City Council (MBPJ), will start its run at 6 am in the morning, and will ply a 16 km route stopping at some 11 schools, The Star reports.

It will stop at Sekolah Rendah Agama Kampung Medan 1 and 2, SK Petaling Jaya, SK Jalan Selangor 1 and 2, SK Assunta 1 and 2, SMK Assunta, SK and SMK La Salle, Catholic High School, SK Alam Shah 1 and 2, SMK Sultan Abdul Samad, SK Sri Petaling 1 and 2 and SMK (L) Bukit Bintang.

PJ South 3/2 bus hub is where the bus will begin its journey while the end point will be at the Taman Jaya LRT station. Total time travelling time from start to finish is estimated to be about 55 minutes. The service is one way only, for now.

PJ Mayor Mohd Azizi Mohd Zain said a qualified bus driver would be chosen and his background checked for good behaviour. “We will have the bus driven by the same driver each day. This way the driver gets to know the children’s routine and in addition the parents build up trust in the driver,” he said.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Mig29 on Sep 11, 2015 at 3:52 pm

Good idea…

• OMG…Need to say goodbye to all old school buses soon…sayonara.

• In b4 which kroni kompeni got the contract? Oh wait, this is Selangor, so its “symbiotic partnership with mutual gains”. Almost forgot to put some PR/marketing spin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 35
    • George Abdul on Sep 11, 2015 at 9:52 pm

What’s wrong in helping “next generation of Malaysian” compare to Cronies monopolies industry that only helping “donation” to own benefit. Selangor Govt still way behind corrupted dumno.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • Kanji on Sep 13, 2015 at 4:49 pm

Dont be jeles la john. I can imagine how furiously hard you’re typing this.

• kumar on Sep 11, 2015 at 4:10 pm

good idea. superb Pakatan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • Veera on Sep 11, 2015 at 4:15 pm

This is like the US where school bus rides are taken by the Local Districts run by the schools. Not 1 bus but based on the student counts, every school gets at least 2 buses to ferry their respective students and pre-school. They run 2 shifts – one in the morning and another at noon for the pre-schools. Students are not allowed to cross the roads when boarding as the other bus will ply the other side for those staying opposite the roads. This are free rides and all vehicles are not allowed to overtake these school buses when they stop at each stops. Drivers do carry a log of students and report them to the schools daily …. I get calls if my kids are not in school that day due to any medical reasons etc…this way the teachers tracks their students and this is a very good system. BTW, lunches are also provided for those opting for them at school for free……

• schoolboy on Sep 11, 2015 at 4:53 pm

awesome!!!!!!! this is what gov suppose to do!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Wee fuk yew on Sep 11, 2015 at 5:30 pm

This is what we want from a government. Hope the trend will go viral for malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Not if you dunno whose pocket this contract goes to.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 36
      • apamau on Sep 11, 2015 at 7:41 pm

I don’t care who pocket this contract, as long as money are being throw in to help those necessary to use it, for those if you can afford to attend or your kids attend private/international/g school with private van, there are countless who’s really cant afford to even send their kids to school via a private bus.

Also this shold not be a profitable project and should extend to more place where the poor live.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
        • So your view is as long as the songlap is to the benefit of the team u support, it is okay. But if it benefits the ‘other’ side, must bash in forums, Bersih on the streets, demo whole world.

Now I understand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 32
          • the dentist on Sep 11, 2015 at 9:32 pm

Use that 2.6bil charity money can provide more free buses for more school nationwide. John… John…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
          • George Abdul on Sep 11, 2015 at 9:45 pm

What’s wrong with once, Compare to Cronies monopolies industry for more then 30 years… Selangor Govt still way behind compare to dumno.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
          • @RBAs
            The point is yous should not be saying we should fight all corruption.
            Just admit it and say we want to fight your corruption, but if its my corruption its okays.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
      • the dentist on Sep 11, 2015 at 9:33 pm

Whose pocket? Ada evidence? Ke butt hurt because it wasn’t your pocket?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • Easy. Do Selangor has a setup like RapidKL to manage the fleet, people, day-to-day stuff & run the service? Do they have the expertise?

Im sure your answer is no. Then it would have to be outsourced. But to whom?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
          • Kanji on Sep 13, 2015 at 4:50 pm

Does barisan have the expertise? Also no what lol

• superdriver on Sep 11, 2015 at 5:38 pm

Finally something good for the people and our children from the goverment. Terima kasih Tuan En.Mohd Azizi!!!

He is helping the basic neccessacity of the people that the people actually want. Not sending a tourist to space with tax payers dollars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Just want to debunk ur misconception, actually our Angkasawan went up with RM0. It was paid for with tons of palm oil, a virtually renewable resource.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 25
      • Goldie on Sep 11, 2015 at 11:42 pm

Free school bus is money well spent. Wish it was available 35 years ago. Sending Angkasawan to space, its value depends on the results of the scientific research performed by him in space. Show us the results to justify the expense.

• apamau on Sep 11, 2015 at 7:38 pm

Yes, this is the services the poor may need. Not everyone can afford private school bus / van services, government should provide this services to more place, so those mom and dad can save their money.

• Susukotak on Sep 12, 2015 at 6:37 am

Should it be coloured with yellow? Wait for JPJ.

• I dun see why not? Yellow is a colour usually related to royalty. Just becos some organisation use it doesnt make it any lesser than others.

• Bn loyal voters in rural area of Sarawak, what they get? No need to talk about transport. Water supplies is a main problem. At least build roads for them. Those stay on the lake of Batang Ai. Bn territory, use sampan & left their bikes across the lake. Yet worry their bikes stolen by those Indonesian. Only sweet when election time. Now the lollipop only left plastic stick.

• Darrel on Sep 12, 2015 at 4:56 pm

Good steps by Selangor Govt in making PJ and Klang Valley a more livable city.

• kapchai on Sep 14, 2015 at 8:26 am

Of course the government has to spend money. But this is spending it in a good way, for the benefit of the people. Anyway, Selangor state gomen got lots of money