VIDEO: Porsche 911 facelift’s turbo engine detailed

The 2016 991-generation Porsche 911 facelift was revealed just a few days ago but we wouldn’t have blamed you if you didn’t pick up on it. Understandably, we don’t blame Porsche either as the iconic rear-engined sports car‘s silhouette has remained pretty much the same since its introduction in the early 60s.

So, what exactly has changed externally? For starters, you get new headlights with four-point LED daytime running lights, new wheel designs, integrated door handle recesses, redesigned taillights and most noticeably, a new rear deck lid with vertical louvres and central twin exhaust pipes on select variants.

Optional equipment include rear-wheel steering and Sport Chrono Package – the latter adds on a redesigned multifunction steering wheel with a rotary switch that allows drivers to select from four different operating modes. The four available modes are Normal, Sport, Sport Plus and Individual. Speaking of the interior, the rejuvenated 911 also receives a new Porsche Communication Management infotainment system.

2016-991-gen-porsche-911-carrera-carrera-s-facelift-12

The highlight this time round lies under the bonnet as the facelifted 911 Carrera and Carrera S models are equipped, for the first time, with a turbocharged 3.0 litre flat-six engine. As such, Porsche has released a new two minute-long video that illustrates the all-new blown mill. In the base Carrera, said mill has been tuned to put out a total of 370 PS and 450 Nm of torque while the Carrera S touts as much as 420 PS and 500 Nm.

Coupled to a seven-speed PDK double-clutch gearbox (a seven-speed manual is standard), the Carrera sprints to 100 km/h from rest in just 4.2 seconds before topping out at 295 km/h. The more powerful Carrera S does the century sprint in 3.9 seconds and has a top whack of 308 km/h. Aside from that, the 911 Carrera and Carrera S models also get Porsche Active Suspension Management (PASM) as standard.

GALLERY: 2016 Porsche 911 Carrera, Carrera S facelift

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• myvipower on Sep 11, 2015 at 5:28 pm

My quad tail piped myvi smokes this junk day night

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Go ahead.. I really like to see that. Do take movie of your Myvi smoking the 991 ok?

• Jezebel on Sep 11, 2015 at 7:51 pm

whatever you say, your moving coffin still loses to sperior Tesla Model S

• KarTiN (Member) on Sep 11, 2015 at 9:44 pm

My kids used to have battery powered cars, no soul man.

• KarTiN (Member) on Sep 11, 2015 at 9:42 pm

You poor thing in myvi, get a real car and quit smoking.

• Tanker on Sep 11, 2015 at 5:51 pm

Where is the classic rickety exhaust note ? Turbo just ruined it.

• If given the choice porsche will not go for turbo route sans its ultimate model which is 911 Turbo. Carrera has been on NA engine for the longest time but tighter EU omission regulation means that turbo charged is inevitable. If you really like the crickety sound of exhaust note of NA engine, go for 996 997 and even 991.1

• The sport exhaust note for the facelifted 991 can really put racun… Tempted to trade in my 997 for this. 4-point LED headlights follow Panamera, Cayenne and Macan already which is really nice to see head-to-head.

• Jezebel on Sep 11, 2015 at 6:08 pm

boys at Jalopnik simply says it sounds broken
    piss off Porsche, I’m going to buy either Corvette or Ruf RGT-8

• KarTiN (Member) on Sep 11, 2015 at 11:12 pm

I prefer the 997 or 993 series, shopping for my third Porsche currently.

• Jezebel on Sep 12, 2015 at 5:24 pm

I also like 993(or Ruf CTR2).
        no, the air-cooled 911. they’re awesome IMO. I’m currently looking for a pre-89 911 & 964 carrera 4 cabriolet/targa

• Same L0rrr on Sep 14, 2015 at 1:42 am

Only a loser will buy a porsche. Same old ugly design for decades. Everyone knows lexus is a better car. I’ll be buying my 4th lexus next week

• porsche designer on Sep 11, 2015 at 6:10 pm

I can facelift any Porsche anytime.. they will all look the same. lol

• yes.. There’s always facelift but Porsche purists can tell the difference. And don’t forget that you can facelift the exterior but the interior will always tell why generation the 911 is…

• shawal on Sep 11, 2015 at 7:52 pm

I need one….in my life…

• Kancil Hybrid on Sep 11, 2015 at 10:07 pm

1997 Wira 1.8 GSR with MIVEC cylinder head sounds thousand times better.

• KarTiN (Member) on Sep 11, 2015 at 11:14 pm

Lucky you, cheap car with cheap thrills, I hope your sound travel faster than your car. No soul. Obviously never had a flat six.

• Kancil Hybrid on Sep 12, 2015 at 8:20 am

The sound travels faster than my car obviously, because my car speed will never go beyond mach 1. Your flat six must be the fastest in the world.

• CooShyRee on Sep 12, 2015 at 10:19 pm

Even the basic carrera has taken the forced Induction route. I guess wit the ever stricter emissions rules these days, going turbo is sumthin inevitable. Can’t say that I’m really that worried, becoz they have been masters at turbocharging, n when Porsche makes an engine, they don’t mess about. They may be rubbish at doing exterior looks, but engines r pretty much wat they do best. 2 things though, it may ruin the sound that a proper 911 shud make, n it may ruin the feel of how a proper 911 shud feel like. But take this into consideration. We were worried when Porsche decided to go electric power steering on the 991 a while back, they’ve proven us wrong that time rite???

• Guess there’s only one way to find out – test drive! I don’t doubt the exhilaration of driving a Porsche (I have a NA 997 4S)… And somehow I don’t agree that they suck at doing exterior looks, because it was this iconic design language that define what 911 is today! And the only reason why I bought a 911 instead of Panamera.

• KarTiN (Member) on Sep 13, 2015 at 12:27 pm

The 911 is iconic and the shape will always remain. People either love it to hate it. agreed that Porsche are also masters of turbo technology. I am not too concerned as with stricter emission guidelines, certain aspects has to change somewhat. As long as it looks like one and feels like one, it is the one 911. Having owned a few toys and driven many others, I can truly say the 911 is the best all round driver’s can and a daily usage car. Not many in this category.

• heynekko on Sep 19, 2015 at 5:16 pm

Next even the Cayman/Boxter will be torbued too??