Hyundai Malaysia to announce price increase soon?

Hyundai Veloster Turbo 24

Here’s something that might pique your interest – an image of what looks to be an updated price list for several Hyundai models has emerged on the Santa Fe Club Malaysia’s Facebook page. Allegedly, prices of the Elantra 1.8 Premium, Veloster and Santa Fe models will all go up.

The image states that should the price increase come into effect, the changes are set to be implemented on September 16 2015. As noted in the image, customers who place an order for the listed models prior to said date will be entitled to the old price.

The supposed price increase is a rather large one with figures leaping by as much as around RM10,000 on the Santa Fe range. Oddly enough, only the above three models were mentioned, so it’s safe to assume that the rest of the range will continue on in the market with unchanged price tags – for now, at least.

Should the price increase come into effect, we reckon that the cause for it could be pointed at the weakening ringgit. In a separate report, BMW Malaysia was also said to be mulling over the idea of announcing a price increase as a result of the same issue. “If the situation continues (weakening of the ringgit) I do not rule out the possibility of price increases by early next year,” said the group’s CEO, Alan Harris.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• berserker on Sep 15, 2015 at 4:36 pm

thanks jibby.

• Gargantia on Sep 15, 2015 at 5:22 pm

GST implanted reduce max RM100 to 50 cents. When increase price start from thousands “RM3000”. Thanks BN and cronies company in Malaysia. BN supporters come out defence your boss ass !!!

• Wise Guy on Sep 15, 2015 at 4:55 pm

Price increase?? Nobody want to buy Hyundai.. hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • Same L0rrrr on Sep 15, 2015 at 5:54 pm

Hyundai can increase their cars to whatever price they like, but second hand value still very very bad.

Buy used unit from me better, don’t waste your hard earned money in this tough economy.

• Apa cerita Jibby? Negara dah maju ke? Ko ni cuma minat warna tshirt, jadilah penjual baju. Ko ni bazir masa kita semua duk kat Putrajaya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • CHINESE will all wear RED shirt during…chinese new year. Not bcoz support Ajib Abang.

• Majuperak on Sep 15, 2015 at 5:01 pm

Price increase for recommended retail price but discount is still given for 2014 made cars and slow moving cars …. haha

Bengong punya Sime ….

• I thought the purpose of weaken the ringgit is to promote and boost up the Malaysia’s tourism market?

• ckd master on Sep 15, 2015 at 5:14 pm

Bad moves as current economy condition consumer very skeptic on price and compare to similar model to decide on best buying…even good gadgets and superior design fail to attract customer due high price…

• zetty on Sep 15, 2015 at 5:17 pm

RM jatuh, hyundai naik

• x-city on Sep 15, 2015 at 6:14 pm

then when ringgit naik all of us dont expect the price will go down…typical gov…

• jobless on Sep 15, 2015 at 5:28 pm

Wonder who will be the waterfish who buy the Elantra 1.8 which is more expensive rhan a comparable King Car Altiis

• SmallFart on Sep 15, 2015 at 5:54 pm

Sam Kimchi, give it a rest will you.
      No matter what name you put, its your hole that betrays you.

• Hyundai hage naik. Toyota hage turun. P1 sales naik, P2 sales turun. Sam Loo RV can go to drain.
    Say yes to safer kroni DRB Honda, say yes to safer kroni SD Hyundai, say yes to safer kroni NAZA Kia, say no to LGE preferred milotin Toyotas!

• Kimchi Naik, Euro Beamer Naik, Sushi pun akan Naik.
    P1,P2 ikut juga Naik.
    Jibby kenal turun.