2016 Honda Civic Sedan officially unveiled in the US

2016 Honda Civic Sedan Touring

The 2016 Honda Civic Sedan has been officially unveiled for the North American market! Touted as the “most ambitious remake of the Civic ever,” the tenth-generation sedan is the first of many body styles to be made available with the lineup said to be comprised of a hatch, coupe and the first Civic Type R for the US.

Looks wise, the 2016 Honda Civic Sedan features a “more athletic stance” thanks to lower and wider proportions. Compared to the outgoing Civic, new model is 51 mm wider, 25 mm lower and touts a wheelbase that’s longer by 30.5 mm. Up front, the new Civic Sedan sports a single-piece horizontal bar that spans the entire length of the grille. Said assembly gets flanked by standard inline LED headlights.

In profile, the 2016 Honda Civic Sedan adopts a sloping roofline that gives it an almost coupe-like silhouette while the rear features C-shaped LED taillights as standard. “The new Civic really is the embodiment of our global design team’s goal of styling a dramatic form that follows and speaks to the dynamic function of this ambitious redesign,” said project leader, Jarad Hall.

Under the skin, the all-new Civic Sedan is powered by a choice of two petrol engines, a naturally-aspirated 158 hp 2.0 litre four-cylinder engine sits alongside a 174 hp turbocharged 1.5 litre inline-four mill – the latter is a first for US-market Civic models and also the most powerful ever to be “offered on a non-Si Civic in America.” Full numbers with regards to the engines have yet to be disclosed by the Japanese carmaker.

The 2.0 litre mill will be paired to either a six-speed manual or a CVT gearbox while the turbocharged 1.5 litre unit will be exclusively mated to the latter transmission choice. Additional details and specifications “will be announced closer to launch,” according to Honda.

Inside, the 2016 Honda Civic Sedan boasts an interior space that is 105 litres larger than the outgoing model along with an additional 51 mm worth of rear legroom – said improvements are touted by Honda to be the best figures in its class. On certain trims, 60:40 split-folding rear seats are available while overall boot capacity has been increased by a further 74 litres.

Standard equipment includes automatic climate control, auto up-down front windows, electronic parking brake with Brake Hold and a “larger, reconfigurable new centre console” with 7.2 litres of secure storage capacity. Elsewhere, a seven-inch HD touchscreen with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto support is featured.

Last but not least, the new Civic will be made available with the Honda Sensing safety platform. Features included under the Honda Sensing umbrella include Collision Mitigation Braking, Road Departure Mitigation and Adaptive Cruise Control with Low-Speed Follow function – the latter a first in a Honda.

GALLERY: Honda Civic Concept

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Masturbator on Sep 17, 2015 at 11:29 am

Wait i go toilet now

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 9
    • Toyota Showroom Toilet on Sep 17, 2015 at 12:23 pm

Come here!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
      • Same L0rrrr on Sep 17, 2015 at 2:09 pm

Exterior wise, just a bigger city. But is ok, as I always said, you won’t go wrong with sushi cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 41
        • Same L0rrrr on Sep 17, 2015 at 2:39 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 154
          • Toyota Showroom Toilet on Sep 17, 2015 at 3:53 pm

Rich people don’t get Toyota or Lexus…you are a noob salesman with poor taste in life, please don’t write things that are discriminating and not palatable…we need to keep you from meeting any more clients in Toyota Showroom Toilet.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 1
          • yahoo, malam ni malam jumaat!

• Watchful on Sep 17, 2015 at 8:09 pm

Boastful but only a low standard prick if compared to BMW or Merc class ..!

• carlies on Sep 17, 2015 at 12:46 pm

This could be the end of the legend.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
      • ferrari on Sep 17, 2015 at 1:10 pm

Civic not even a legend

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 20
      • anonymous on Jun 13, 2016 at 7:41 am

Civic before is 200% more beauty than this… what the hell of the new Civic..look very poor

• sudonano (Member) on Sep 17, 2015 at 11:33 am

The side profile is actually not bad, but the front and the rear, what the actual f*ck Honda, it looks like an Accord face with the Civic Euro’s butt.

The interior does look reasonably good quality, but a pity the dual tier display is gone.

And a CVT for the 1.5 Turbo? You guys have the excellent 8 speed DCT, why not that…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 49
    • kington on Sep 17, 2015 at 12:03 pm

Interesting design, hope we get this. For years such notchback designs have always been reserved for EU markets and it’s nice to see Asia embracing this. Hope it does well. The Civic has always been our hero car, but of late their products are a bit short of the EG and EK we worshipped in the 90s.

It will be interesting to see how DRB will price the Civic range, assuming we get both 2.0 NA and 1.5 Turbo.

Honda Malaysia, you are selling Honda products which have amazing packaging such as the HR-V and CIty, but please do not remove the NVH insulation pads like UMW Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
      • Same L0rrrr on Sep 17, 2015 at 2:40 pm

UMW take out insulation pads but give you free sanitary pads.

• “WHILE the turbocharged 1.5 litre unit will be exclusively mated to the latter transmission choice”

• mystvearn on Sep 17, 2015 at 5:03 pm

Need to see in real life. Otherwise rear end does not look that great. Front end is polarising

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 02, 2015 at 1:12 am

Yep the rear end does not look good in any way IMHO. They could have also done a better job with the front end.

• NoNickname on Sep 17, 2015 at 11:36 am

The butt just like new Perdana

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 33
  • Sammy Loo on Sep 17, 2015 at 11:51 am

You will not go wrong with sushi cars

• vtecbocor on Sep 17, 2015 at 1:11 pm

If turbo bocor how?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
      • Sammy Loo on Sep 19, 2015 at 5:26 pm

There is 5 years warranty. If it happens after 5 years you can sell it with high RV and get a new Toyota Corolla Altis without turbo.

• Barang Jepun on Sep 25, 2015 at 9:16 am

This is same like a question, if your current car engine bocor how? Road going turbo parts are usually reliable. I will not be worry to much about turbo bocor :)

• Definitely buyyyy!!!!
    When is it coming??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Blue travel on Sep 17, 2015 at 8:18 pm

Well, you have to wait a loooooooooooooong time lor. As this is the North American model. Where as we here usually get the UK design, which in the past have always been different from it. Let’s hope that Honda get it right this time.

• thepolygonal on Sep 17, 2015 at 11:53 am

Woo… I thought the current Civic is wide and long enough and then comes this. 1.5 turbo should be the one people look for here I guess… cheaper roadtax but what about maintenance… hmm…

• viosfan on Sep 17, 2015 at 1:13 pm

Expensive, Vios maintenance much cheaper. RV high summore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
      • freelance on Sep 24, 2015 at 9:31 pm

like seriously?why should we downgrade to vios?its ugly plus come with old techs..sorry dude,but its not even better..

• I hope the Perdana will be launched earlier than this.If the price is about the same…..hmm…

• Looks like Panamera

• amirad on Sep 17, 2015 at 12:04 pm

Dashboard looks nice, compared to the new altis dashboard.
    Looks like Honda is on a roll.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • michaelooi on Sep 17, 2015 at 12:06 pm

Looks good enough to make me actually want to buy one. But we do not know if we’re going to have a good deal from Honda Malaysia…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • finally..i could revert to honda after my last integra sir-t which i missed a lot..hopefully the cvt wont be a deal breaker

• nosushi on Sep 17, 2015 at 1:20 pm

I’ll sell my current civic and old old Altis
        Both suck, better go for kimchi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • i like everything bout this car, except the CVT, cant wait to see it here

• nice.. even better with spoiler.. and that exhause tho… hmmmm.. fap fap fap fap

• the HRV is doing so well.Now it’s civic.just went to Honda last week to scout for a sedan.but the current FD is not as good as the 1st edition.

• Farhana on Sep 17, 2015 at 12:21 pm

Price will be dirt cheap in USA with starting price USD15K for the base model

However when reach PROTON land price starting becomes RM129K

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • jinggo on Sep 17, 2015 at 12:26 pm

ini civic “touring”.. sedan punya model mana? haiyyaaa…

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Sep 17, 2015 at 12:28 pm

Sexy Butt, the front end mixed between Accord and new city

• The interior is ok, quite pleasant tot the eyes if not being too bland; but I have no idea of what to say about the exterior, especially the rear end.

A Civic in my opinion, doesn’t have to pretend to be a BMW-3GT kind of thing. It’s weird, just weird.

• neemfa on Sep 17, 2015 at 12:46 pm

Too Accord’ish.. but not too bad considering its sedated look. less rice.

but anyway Asian market will probably have a different nose and rear..

• Bob_B78 on Sep 17, 2015 at 12:49 pm

If it comes to Malaysia with 260Nm for the 1.5l turbocharged engine, it will definitely worth to buy. But if, better look elsewhere.

• nabill (Member) on Sep 17, 2015 at 12:54 pm

the rear actually looks very volvo-ish…
    looks good , RIP to the trusted 5 speed auto , hello to life’s worst invention , CVT!

• camtakpro on Sep 25, 2015 at 12:31 pm

There’s something even more worse than CVT, called DSG. (ok, Honda called it DCT.)

• shawal on Sep 17, 2015 at 1:11 pm

well , it is built to a price point , interior quality is much better than its predecessor but nowhere near accord levels, which is understandable..
    honda city’s switchgear on the armrest is evident..

otherwise lots of cubbies and electronic parking brake is welcomed

• kzm (Member) on Sep 17, 2015 at 1:34 pm

I like the back design..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Muhd Taib on Sep 17, 2015 at 1:35 pm

the Toyota showroom toilet is filled with UMW salesman abusing themselves and relieving themselves cause there are no sales on sales floor of UMW showrooms

• shawal on Sep 17, 2015 at 1:48 pm

steering wheel is ok….
    wish it’ll be more sportier…

or at least honda malaysia can change the buttons, those plastic coated buttons are ugly….but maybe was chose d/t reliability and clarity on the long run

• jobless on Sep 17, 2015 at 1:53 pm

wat an ugly sob the front..the dashboard copy Altiss

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • eVaz88 on Sep 17, 2015 at 2:35 pm

Downgrade from 2 display to 1 display. Sigh!! How to beat Altis la ini macam. 2008 Civic anytime looks better than this!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • eVaz88 on Sep 17, 2015 at 2:35 pm

Downgrade from 2 display to 1 display. Sigh!! How to beat Altis la ini macam. 2008 Civic anytime looks better than this! Honda Malaysia, pls say smth!

• HondaMalaysia on Sep 17, 2015 at 6:13 pm

I agree with you, our Civic FD looks best, we wish to get a different facial and rear designed Asia model for this 2016 Civic. The I-MID screen does looks good, but in the 2016 civic we implement it with our speedometer with better graphics.

• Laa laa on Sep 17, 2015 at 5:18 pm

Not really like honda steering design

• boobslover on Sep 17, 2015 at 5:37 pm

I think this new CIVIC is ugly

• Simpleguy on Sep 17, 2015 at 5:55 pm

The look is decent. Just a slight concern.. the current civic rear door C-pillar already low and tends to knock rear passengers head whenever going in or out, and this model is even lower the head clearance??…just curious how many can climb in and out comfortably.

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 17, 2015 at 9:50 pm

Dat ass! Nice, huge improvement over the current Civic.

• ARM Yusof on Sep 18, 2015 at 1:12 am

the back end is freakin ugly . what a let down -.-

• heybadigol (Member) on Sep 18, 2015 at 8:57 am

I love that 1.5 turbo DI engine!! Rumours peg it at 170++ bhp.

The instrument cluster looks amazingly sleek & minimalist, and the colour resolution is very sharp. Looks like Honda kept to the digital speedo which had been in the past 2 generations of the Civic. But while those old Civics had the speedo high up (and in direct line of sight), this one isn’t anymore, though its so sharp you should see it no problem.

The centre console surrounding the gear lever looks familiar – like it was taken from the Honda City. The storage cubby beneath the centre console is a nice touch, but I do I hope it is better designed than the HRV, in which the cubby was difficult to access.

The exterior design looks great in the first 50% from nose until the B pillar. After the B pillar all the way to the rear bumper looks a bit over-done and its too bulky. Hondas usually have a lot of glass compared to metal. But this has way too much metal, and too little glass to balance it out. Hence the bulky look. Bright colours will make the car look even bulkier. I think it would look better in dark colours, which will give a slimming effect.

That sloping roofline means getting in and out of the rear quarters will be painful for tall people. The high shoulder line in the rear (again) means short people sitting inside (like kids) will not be able to see outside.

Also, where is the rear AC vents? Even the lower segment City has those. And while we are at the rear, where are the door mounted woofers & tweeters? Even the City has those.

• Vorsprung Durch Technik on Sep 18, 2015 at 5:06 pm

like that boot a5 style (hatch)… seriously it must be my new car next year.. after 3 years waiting for car choice, now ths is it… juz 4get about to take 2010 unregisterd audi a4…huhu…:(

• 1.5 turbo with only come with CVT gearbox?? What a joke. At least also come with 6 speed manual for performance car..CVT not exciting for driving with turbo

• camtakpro on Sep 25, 2015 at 12:38 pm

Not only that, with Honda CVT track record, it will have CVT firmware upgrade 1 or 2yr later, and your 1.5 turbo zoom passed by 1.5L 4spd auto.

• What a beautiful new model for the Civic that looks like a 4 door coupe. But unfortunately, when is arrives at our shore, our economy may not be so good as a result sales will be slow. I believe.

• Mr.Kuek on Oct 28, 2015 at 11:49 am

the roof looks short, exposing passenger backs to direct sun.Yet to see an image that can solve my question .