Ford reveals Focus RS performance: 4.7 sec, 266 km/h

Ford has finally released performance figures for its Focus RS, which is now available to order in Europe, with delivery to customers from early 2016. It will be built in Saarlouis, Germany.

0-100 km/h in 4.7 seconds and a top speed of 266 km/h is what the 2.3 litre EcoBoost hot hatch can do. This is thanks to 350 PS and 440 Nm of torque between 2,000 and 4,500 rpm, with 470 Nm available for up to 15 seconds on transient overboost during hard acceleration.

The third-gen Focus RS optimises acceleration by introducing Launch Control technology to a Ford RS model for the first time. It also debuts the new Ford Performance All-Wheel Drive with Dynamic Torque Vectoring.

Ford Focus RS Geneva Live 19

The driver selects Launch Control from the cluster menu, engages first gear, applies full throttle and then releases the clutch. To achieve maximum acceleration through the gears, a performance shift light in the instrument cluster alerts the driver when approaching the optimum upshift point of 5,900 rpm, and flashes if the engine hits the limit of 6,800 rpm.

The AWD system uses twin electronically-controlled clutch packs to manage the car’s front/rear torque split, and also can control the side-to-side torque distribution on the rear axle – delivering the “torque vectoring” capability.

Focus RS drivers can select four different Drive Modes that configure the AWD system, damper controls, ESC, steering and engine responses, and exhaust sound – Normal, Sport and Track settings are available alongside a special Drift Mode for controlled oversteer drifts.

A 0-100 km/h time of 4.7 seconds means that the AWD Focus RS beats the FWD Civic Type R by a full second, although the 310 PS/400 Nm turbo VTEC car has a slightly higher top speed of 269 km/h. The 280 PS/380 Nm VW Golf R, with AWD and DSG, does its thing in 5.0 seconds

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• hailthepurist on Sep 17, 2015 at 10:25 am

that’s bloody fast, if not faked..

• Areyousure on Sep 17, 2015 at 2:15 pm

Audi S4 (B9) can achieves that from a smaller 2 liters

• A45 AMG could also do it as well. Generally speaking, cars of these size with 300+HP and AWD could do at least 5sec.

• Before you can complete your task of going to the cluster menu and select launch control ON, the Civic already reached 100kmh! As usual, Ford always do stupid things.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 44
    • AKULA on Sep 17, 2015 at 12:04 pm

if you know nothing, please SHUT UP…MORON!!!!

• Chris Ong on Sep 17, 2015 at 12:06 pm

Tell the same story to GT-R Merc-AMG BMW-M.. And any other car with the same LC feature

• Nissan on Sep 17, 2015 at 1:23 pm

Before your civic achieve that, iriz already flying at over 200km/h

• …and during corner civic kena tapao kaw kaw. thanks to 4wd stability vs fwd configuration.

• lonelyobserve (Member) on Sep 17, 2015 at 11:35 am

Mitsubishi Lancer Evo left this segment with no more new Evo (other than X and its predecessor) and here comes Ford Focus RS, taking both 2WD and AWD C-segment performance cars.

• Kancil Hybrid on Sep 17, 2015 at 12:24 pm

4.7 seconds is nothing new. 4WD Wira GSR with 500 bhp achieved similar result long time ago. And no need to deactivate everything on the menu because there is none.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
    • Myvi fans on Sep 17, 2015 at 12:54 pm

My quad exhaust myvi extreme turbo can easily smoke this

• wowowow on Sep 17, 2015 at 3:27 pm

ya and remember to put 999 on speed dial for when it blows up

• go hit a tree. see who’ll come out walking.

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 17, 2015 at 5:19 pm

500hp only do 4.7 seconds?

All you need is 300hp.

I think the RS can even be quicker if launched properly. The launch isn’t the most clean. Not sure what launch control it uses, but it seems to not be making boost off the line. AWDs are notoriously difficult to launch properly when not in boost.

I had an ignition retard system (aka mis-firing system) on my car that got me off the line a lot cleaner and quicker despite only 300hp…. the big difference comes from the 5psi of boost I get at standstill with the launch control activated.

• Jezebel on Sep 17, 2015 at 10:46 pm

300hp Golf R can do century sprint in 4.5 seconds (our market get a de-tuned 280hp, 0-100 in 5 seconds)
        quite surprised 345hp Focus RS is just 0.2 seconds shy of Golf’s

• tinmilo on Sep 17, 2015 at 1:38 pm

Too bad it doesn’t say that it will only run for 10,000km before it will breakdown.

• focus riceboys on Sep 17, 2015 at 3:55 pm

It is one serious ugly looking fast car. The interiors dials look yucky though.

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 17, 2015 at 4:04 pm

That’s quick enough…anything which does 0-100kmh under 5 secs is fast enough for me =]

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 17, 2015 at 5:32 pm

too bad keyboard warriors don’t actually know how fast a sub 5 sec century run is.

But it is deceptive. An AWD 5 second run feels a lot faster than what you think 5.0s feels like.

I used to scare my passengers with a 4.8s century run. Because the launch is from an AWD, the first gear pull is brutal (assuming you don’t bog the engine). My 60′ times are in the 1.6-1.7s, besting 600hp supercars with fat sticky tyres.

AWD is also why the GTR is so insanely quick off the line.

• Jezebel on Sep 17, 2015 at 4:15 pm

0.5 seconds shy of Mercedes A45 AMG 4MATIC’s 0-100 km/h. otherwise still a great car
    just hope it wont be found on the road dead

• Is the Focus going back to WRC? This looks like a big hint