Proton to work with China on ASEAN car project?

2014_Top_Five_Proton_Iriz_MT_ 005

Here is something that’s bound to pique your interest. According to Channel News Asia, Malaysia’s second International Trade and Industry minister, Datuk Ong Ka Chuan, has said that Proton could very well enter into a partnership with one or more China-based car manufacturers in an effort to develop an ASEAN car.

“We have our own policy – Proton car – so we have our own national interest to look after,” commented Ong. “But if we can join with China’s automobile manufacturers, we can together manufacture an ASEAN car for the ASEAN market that’s to the benefit of both countries. We have to look into that possibility,” he added.

However, it should be noted that Ong was speaking in the context of upgraded China-ASEAN FTA (free trade agreement) – of which negotiations are expected to conclude by the end of 2015 – at the 12th China-ASEAN Expo (Caexpo) in Nanning, China. Additional details surrounding the possible tie-up remain scarce.

asean car

Proton Iriz and PT Inka GEA (right).

Separately, it was understood that Proton and its Indonesian partner had signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) in February 2015 to intensify efforts to build an ASEAN car. Earlier in 2014, Proton had expressed its interest and willingness to collaborate with regional manufacturers to produce an ASEAN car.

It was also widely believed that Indonesian president, Joko Widodo (also known as Jokowi), is a staunch supporter of the ASEAN car project. In a separate report by Bernama, it was stated that “a feasibility study of a possible joint production of the ASEAN car by Malaysia and Indonesia will be undertaken and it (the idea) was welcomed by President Jokowi who wants the idea to be pursued further.”

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• thebosssedangbercakap on Sep 18, 2015 at 7:07 pm

Work with this, work with that. at the end none of it works.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 25
    • Pekerja Proton on Sep 19, 2015 at 1:18 am

Tak apa lah, sendiri syiok boleh lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
      • Malu Malu Malaysia - Really ASEAN?? on Sep 19, 2015 at 11:58 am

Proton can’t even sort their own quality problems. the car company is failing. It has used tens of billions or even hundreds of billions since 1985 just to keep the company afloat. This money is your money and my money.

Even with protectionism and from 1985, all other cars were raised up substantially so Malaysians had no other choice but to buy Proton, the company can still go on the verge of bust.

Now they want to venture with China? Come on Proton, jangan bawa malu to Malaysia lagi. You cannot even stay afloat with your current range of Proton cars due to very low and bad quality, you want now to create ASEAN car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
        • nosushi on Sep 19, 2015 at 6:18 pm

Noone cares, even killer takata airbags can be sold like hot cakes!

• Wisdom on Sep 21, 2015 at 9:51 am

Come on bros..
            We have new perdaccord. Should survive for another few years.

• protonsushi on Sep 21, 2015 at 11:01 am

I wonder if new Perdana uses the killer takata airbags you described?

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 21, 2015 at 11:23 am

Proton 5S principles:
            1. Sendiri Cakap
            2. Sendiri Syok
            3. Sentiasa Rosak
            4. Sepuluh Ribu Discount
            5. Siapa pun Tak Beli

• China workers VS Proton workers on Sep 19, 2015 at 9:51 pm

See below and you will know why Proton cannot work with China to build an ASEAN car.

China workers :

“We must work hard. We must focus in our work. We take pride in our products and must deliver excellent quality. Only then, we can enjoy our remuneration for the hard work done. We must aim to be more hardworking than our other Chinese car plants. We must make Beijing proud!”

Proton Malaysia workers:

“Rilak lah bang, buat apa nak keje ni. rilak lah, nanti boleh buat. Letih lah ni, mari meh tido sekejap kat bilik stor, boss takde ni. Eh tengok awek kilang cun tu, bess lah dapat kongkek dia. Syok. Jom lah, mari pegi kantin minum teh dan makan kuih lapis. Tak payah keje kuat ni, kerajaan nanti tolong. Buat apa keje kuat ni?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 19
          • proveme on Sep 20, 2015 at 10:54 pm

Proof?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 21, 2015 at 8:38 am

I tot China workers who are the worst in terms of quality. They do prefer intercourse with prostitutes than their own wife. I think you’re 喝醉 to much. Please get yourself sober..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
          • Proof? Red Shirts La! on Sep 21, 2015 at 9:50 am

Go see the red shirts. That is proof enough. Lazy and want Government to help

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
          • Kahwin 4 on Sep 21, 2015 at 9:52 am

Better than getting 4 wives la brader

• Ah Beng, that’s better than Proton workers doing ‘funny business’ with their daughters. Proton car like Accordana also ‘Mix Breed’. You think your people won’t meh?

• tom tom on Dec 23, 2015 at 11:32 am

What is bad quality?….long time ago yes. But not for recent model.

• How Hyundai Can Succeed Proton? on Sep 19, 2015 at 10:15 pm

Proton is just not a focussed company. Proton and Hyundai started about the same time. Hyundai maybe started about 8 years earlier. just see where both companies are.

Hyundai is a global player. They sell about 7 million cars per year globally. they are No 4 in world rankings for car sales.

Proton, which stated about the same time, with MITI 100% protecting them and making 30 million Malaysians buy Proton is a “forceful manner”, all Government departments strictly told to buy only Proton every year, PDRM also strictly told to buy Proton every year, Bombo, Telekom Malaysia and all GLC also told to buy Proton every year and yet, it can go into financial difficulty and about to be bankrupt.

How can Hyundai and Proton be so different. Both started about the same time. But Korean Government never force GLC and Government department to buy Korean cars and yet, they can do so well Globally.

Something is wrong with Proton. It needs to be shit down. The same with MAS. The whole Government strictly sends Government officials using Business Class and yet, it can go bust.

MAS and Proton has the same problem. Both given so much of help and BOTH also now sucking the Government big time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
        • Spoiled child.

• bezel on Sep 20, 2015 at 10:54 pm

Learn economies of scale, plus you think p1 and hyundai is same size company?

• globalplayer on Sep 21, 2015 at 11:11 am

Learn to grow up, p1 still need protection after 30 years?

• Learn business, gomen all over the world has such incentives, tax reduction, protection etc, even in China

• driver on Sep 19, 2015 at 8:10 am

further, China is not ASEAN…

• China and Proton Crony on Sep 19, 2015 at 12:16 pm

You see Proton is actually a good concept. But when Mahathir created Proton, he made sure every single part of the Proton car is supplied by his crony buddies.

Now, with this ASEAN car, how is the crony vendor system going to be maintained?

And these crony buddies overcharge Proton by ten times whilst giving poor and inferior parts. That is why your Proton always falls apart and everybody blames quality control. That is the reason also why Proton makes only RM500 per car that they sell. It is solely because of the crony vendors who are overcharging Proton. For example, per car Mat is sold to Proton for RM100 whilst you can buy the same car mat from brothers for RM10.

All his buddies have got the contract to be vendors to Proton. Mahathir will just ensure that all the vendors for Proton remain the same. All his buddies and relatives, so why upset his relatives when he can continue his past misgivings?

Proton will still get the same low inferior quality parts it has been getting for the past 30 years and it will still be overcharged by 10 times for each part the vendors supply. China will get angry because this ASEAN car will have the same low quality as other Protons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • Open Letter to Proton on Sep 19, 2015 at 3:09 pm

Hello Proton, it is no secret that you are kerajaan. Even in DRB hands now, you still suck so much of money from kerajaan. So, let me advice you as if you are a kerajaan body.

Please sort your internal country problems. Already internal corruption you cannot handle, how you want to handle International relations which also may involve corruption?

Sort your corruption first in Malaysia. Because of corruption, the cost of living has gone up so much. Due to corruption, the Government cannot use the money they lost to give the rakyat better schools, hospitals and other subsidies.

Because of corruption and stealing, the government has no money, so they have to raise taxes on cars so high and even implement GST.

So, my advice to Proton the kerajaan body, pls, sort yur internal corruption first. Then later, do ties with China

• Nissan on Sep 19, 2015 at 1:17 pm

If Succeed, would they name their first model as JinaBabe?

• Proton User on Sep 18, 2015 at 7:19 pm

Please concentrate more on “Malaysian car” project 1st. Inside 1st, then outside. This the right time to show the “value” to public. Make us proud again like 30yrs ago..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 19
    • DonkeyKong on Sep 18, 2015 at 9:51 pm

Don’t be stupid. The Malaysian market is way too small for them to be able to leverage on economies of scale. They can spend RM200 million for R&D and the ROI will be too slow until they won’t be able to muster the R&D budget for another car 3 years later.

This is a good move by Proton. Go into low cost markets like China, Bangladesh, etc. Increase production volume, leverage on the economies of scale from the larger market there, and it will directly have a beneficial effect on what they can offer us over here.

Too bad most Malaysians only know how to bash and are too stupid to understand simple economics. No wonder our ringgit has crashed, thanks to stupid Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 51
      • KingKong on Sep 19, 2015 at 1:00 am

Why work with chinaman companies? I thought Proton quality better than China cars? Better build it yourself lah. What benefit does Proton bring to the rakyat? After 30 years, Proton is still protected by G and people still buy expensive cars because of Proton. The only benefit is more money going into the pocket of UMNO cronies. What you’re talking about is benefit to Proton, not to Malaysians

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 16
        • MalaysiaBaguss on Sep 19, 2015 at 1:56 am

Some Malaysian rather buy “China made” car with louzy spec rather than driving Malaysian nasional car with better spec.
          That why Proton need to work with Chinaman to find it out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
          • thank you Proton, I look forward to buying this ASEAN car. I always believe in your products and you have given us best cars in the past. I myself use a Preve and it drives better than a BMW or a Mercedes.

Kami sayang Proton. Proton prihatin terhadap rakyat! Thank you BN!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
          • Proton Please Close Down on Sep 19, 2015 at 12:12 pm

Most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices

If we did not have Proton sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an addition 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants. Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM billions from LHDN.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).

They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to give 30% of their hard earned company free away as well as being told by MITI what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.
            Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs.

Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.
            Car companies are flocking to invest hundreds of billions in Thailand despite Thailand being an unstable government, unstable economy and full of bomb blastings and terror.

Yet, global car companies still prefer Thailand. This is another rape like when Mitsubishi raped us for 20 years with low quality engines and parts. If Proton was not in Malaysia in the first place, you will have a few hundred thousand ringgit extra in your pocket!

• Corrupted Proton on Sep 19, 2015 at 3:15 pm

Won’t work. this is why VW ran away so fast from Proton. they could not stand the amount of corruption Proton is involved. All the vendors are cronies making big bucks suplying Proton with super duper low quality parts.

VW also ran tak boleh tahan.

You think China won’t run away?

• driver on Sep 19, 2015 at 8:07 am

this is your flow of thoughts:

chinaman -> build it yourself -> rakyat -> protected by G -> UMNO -> benefit to Proton

see? it’s choppy in every other way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
          • 1Malaysia on Sep 19, 2015 at 10:37 am

So what is your great thought then other than criticise?

• Proton is the best. Stop condemning our pride and joy. I love Proton. If you cannot love Proton, go jump a cliff.

• George Abdul on Sep 19, 2015 at 8:14 am

30 years tongkat R&D still not enough? or spaco sdn bhd Govt give millions every years still not enough? Talk economic and you’re the one that don’t even understand Bolehland “donation” economic !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
        • messu on Sep 19, 2015 at 6:26 pm

Who are you to say about tongkat or not?
          Even other foreign companies got incentives etc

• Kenny on Sep 18, 2015 at 7:19 pm

Still waiting for Proton Wagon-R

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • kennyjay on Sep 18, 2015 at 7:25 pm

work with this, work with that, end up still the same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 21
    • Albert on Sep 18, 2015 at 11:46 pm

Talk 3 ,Talk 4 and finally tokok.
      Protong is not even at base camp but boasted it is already reaching Mount Everest.
      Naza already chopped 300 staff at their Gurun plant.
      What about the white elephant Tanjong Malim plant which produces less than 40,000 cars a year? Shah Alam producing 60,000 cars.Pathetic and shambolic.
      Remember people got to bribe Protong salesmen those days to get a fast car?
      Up to 31st Dec,Protong will only touch 100,000 sales volume whereas adik Perodua easily can double their volume.
      Protong gets distracted too easily by politicians.
      No wonder,it is HOPELESS to expect any positive development from Protong.Just wasting our readers time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
      • Potong on Sep 19, 2015 at 2:01 am

And wasting our internet bandwidth as well. Everyday also see Proton news but no progress from the company. Time to potong

• yourlogic on Sep 19, 2015 at 6:34 pm

Say that it wastes your eyes to see the news, the money because you are the CEO, effort because you design produce all the cars

That way you can show your stupidity in best way

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
          • logicbodoh on Sep 19, 2015 at 11:14 pm

Apa kebodohan ni? You are the CEO or designer of Proton meh?

• topkek on Sep 20, 2015 at 10:48 pm

Apa kebodohan ini? Relate p1 with bandwidth?

• Work together in the end kena copy.

• Proton 15% TIV in 2015 on Sep 18, 2015 at 8:45 pm

I have lost count how many empty voices Proton made with various “potential partner”, be it the Indon, Iran (what happen to the “Islamic car”?), Suzuki…. Make big noise but deliver little, typical Proton.

• None of the Chinese manufacturers existed when Proton started.
    Now they are exported worldwide and recognised globally.
    Some of them are market leaders in Hybrid technology.

Proton still floundering and asking for cast off technologies to survive. Divorced how many times already.

Not even Jaguh Kampung, local market also cannot sell.
    Close shop laa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
  • Eddy Kas on Sep 18, 2015 at 9:57 pm

God ….. please save Proton.
    If not, another 5 yrs, proton could close down just as what happened to MAS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Alson P on Sep 18, 2015 at 10:07 pm

Hope will success.! Proton need to be successful outside Malaysia.. be Asean Champion(jaguh asean) is much better than ace village(jaguh kampung) ..!

• old dog on Sep 18, 2015 at 10:07 pm

to sell China the engine? you know how many factories in China working with their local?

using Lotus name again?

• tokmoh. on Sep 18, 2015 at 10:11 pm

Cakap je lebat… I’ll believe when I see it

• Just close down proton…but still no jobloss and even better job availability in future…remember proton…many manufacturer want ur plant but no one hell on earth want ur car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Aero (Member) on Sep 19, 2015 at 12:20 am

Since when China became part of ASEAN ? It’s only an ASEAN car if it’s MOSTLY produced by ASEAN member states. There’s no doubt that some high-level parts like the safety computers and airbags will have to be sourced from non-ASEAN members, but we’re looking at 95 % + local content.

Also, a few ASEAN countries are not on good terms with China, especially Vietnam and the Philippines, due to the South China Sea dispute.

Personally, I’m already starting to doubt the competence of all parties involved in the ASEAN car project. If they can’t even work things out at this early stage, they’ll probably take a long time, or never reach the final stages at all. Anyway, I would still like to wish them all the best.

• Proton Land Wind coming up

• proton has a potential if they would employ people who have substantial experience to develop a brand and to make things happen. proton is employing people from VW who have been cold storage and have no ambition rather then to enjoy malaysia. Dr M should get on top of the recruitment process and to ensure highest quality of employee standards. that the only way to succeed. guys you are down to 10 cars a month in <thailand and you have sold at least 400 per month some years back. WAKE UP proton management

• tun m on Sep 19, 2015 at 10:28 am

You think China give a damn about Proton?

• C.P. MOHAN on Sep 19, 2015 at 11:11 am

Can have all the corroboration/JV or whatever but will the end result translate to sales. Short-term maybe not over long-term because lacking substance/research.

• I ate on Sep 19, 2015 at 12:47 pm

After 30 years it’s time to give that ‘national car’ tag a rest. Proton should try to be a real car company instead of being a political policy living lab. Malaysia is not the world. Start behaving like the korean marques and move globally by tapping into the best talents (not just those from certain political lineage) to run the company. Sorry but the truth is harsh. Dont waste time by doing things like propping yourself up in local car forums.

• Has anyone been in one of those meetings with Malaysian GLC co? I bet the Chinese will have a very bad impression of Malaysian work ethic after. Sleep in meeting, coffee break, try to convert a point but can’t construct a sentence properly, the list goes on

• Detroit Asia on Sep 19, 2015 at 5:43 pm

Let not forget Thailand, they too have the ambition to produce ASEAN cars so the race has already begin and who the champion of ASEAN cars soon to be known. Their model of ASEAN cars to invited top auto manufactures to setup factories, tax incentives and business friendly policies.

• oglio on Sep 19, 2015 at 6:52 pm

Designed and produced by p1, assembled by Thai, marketed in China. Who knows

• CY Lok on Sep 19, 2015 at 8:56 pm

Been to china and their vehicle are way more better than Malaysian Proton 10 times. They are having all electronic vehicle on the road already. And their design are so nice that it put our Proton to shame….. quality wise also very good.

China overtake Malaysia is just shortly 10 years time in automobil….

• Farhana on Sep 20, 2015 at 10:32 am

Pls don’t waste your time and our rakyats precious time and money

Just close shop for the sake of all Malaysians. We have suffered for the past 20 years because of your dismal products and force to buy foreign makers at a high price.

You only sell less than 200 cars in all overseas countries combined in the entire year and can only depend on Malaysia to buy your lousy products.

This is no fair competition. You’re deliberately forcing foreign cars to be priced much higher and forcing Malaysians to buy your cars.

• Chan KH on Sep 20, 2015 at 10:45 am

Correct me if I am wrong. Iriz was said to be developed by Lotus as the World Car, how does it work out thus far. Heard from the dealers Iriz sales was terrible, and of course Proton overall results tell the story too. Now we want an Asean Car….Hello, does Indonesia also agreeable to that proposal ? Stop living in the dream world that we have no competition, and it’s a fact that Proton is unable to take on such competition. The answer is written on the wall, just do it and you save millions of people livelihood.

• Crapola on Sep 20, 2015 at 12:39 pm

Yeah yeah…GM, Volkswagen…blah blah….

Dump in millions, and zero out.
    Rakyat to bail them again….make us guilty by saying we are not proud or watever….

Selling 200-1000 cars oversea sounding like a grand achievement, when we are investing millions…

Dump the cronies, and make realistic goals fools.
    Do away with AFTA and be competitive. If you can, start doing good partnership….

• Mns1974 on Sep 20, 2015 at 7:14 pm

Actually everyone talk about bad theory and a bad comment that heard from somebody rather than a true Fact about Proton. Its good proton to step forward to develop something rather dan done nothing. Hopefully Proton makes a better quality car but affordable to buy for all Malaysian.

• BANGKINGMONG on Sep 21, 2015 at 12:10 pm

Looking forward to see Proton Cayenne Rover X5 –

• tanderketq on Sep 22, 2015 at 10:32 am

In the future if people ask ehh your country dont have national car ehh.. then you said eerrrr.. use to but we asyik condem …

• Ahh yes we have National car…. rebadge Honda, Mitsubishi, now rebadge China crap, but still better than local crap.

Perodua selling like hot cake, bcos Mahakutty not involved.

• Mns1974 on Sep 25, 2015 at 10:07 am

perodua rebadge daihatsu sell more cheap car than proton but proton prove more safety by 5 star on NCAP dun forget that. Is Mahakutty ur bes friend why u hat hem

• tom tom on Dec 23, 2015 at 11:39 am

Proton better dont sell their cars here. Go for outside.. Go for Proton..