VIDEO: Seat belt safety simulator mimics 8 km/h crash

No need to buckle up when you’re driving just a couple metres down the road, right? Wrong. The Connecticut State Police have partnered with the Department of Public Safety of Hartford University to introduce a rather nifty contraption called ‘The Convincer’ – said “ride” is a seat belt safety simulation device that supposedly allows students to experience the impact of an 8 km/h collision.

Safe to say that most, if not all, of the students who had a go in ‘The Convincer’ experienced a rude awakening – just watch the video for yourself and check out their reactions. During a run, a police officer even went as far as to compare the impact to a “knockout punch” after a participant was visibly jolted in his seat upon impact. Enough to make you buckle up the next time you drive around a parking lot? We hope so.

the-convincer-seat-belt-safety-simulator-video

However, it has to be said that a number of comments accompanying the video did point out several inaccuracies surrounding the device. Notably, one commenter pointed out that the impact represents more than an 8 km/h collision as the front bumper of a car would absorb the force instead.

Aside from the vehicle itself, commenters were also quick to note that the outcome could vary depending on what obstacle one has crashed into – an 8 km/h impact against a brick wall would yield completely different results compared to a collision with similar speeds into a shrub, for instance. For what’s it worth, though, ‘The Convincer’ is a great reminder on the importance of buckling up – no matter the speed.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Mark Tan on Sep 21, 2015 at 10:50 am

This need to be set up.

Will bring my passengers to the set up point to feel it when they dont buckle up in my car.

• albag on Sep 21, 2015 at 10:56 am

it’s a good attempt to increase seat belt awareness.. only if our local transport dept can do that… instead of catching unnecessary illegal number plates.

• So The Convincer turn out to be not-as-convincing-as-it-should-be.
    I got a better idea, why not just strap Sam Loo into one of his high RV toyotas and do a NCAP, an ASEANNCAP is enuff, crash test. Then show this video to all those diehard, hardcore, loyal, take-my-money-no-questions-asked toyota supporters if they still want to continue to buy them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Curi Curi Malaysia on Sep 21, 2015 at 11:51 am

I got even better idea. Why don’t we get your type of people in the PDRM to stop taking money and enforce the laws?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Jennifer on Sep 21, 2015 at 11:56 am

Sam loo would be brave enough to be crashed with Toyota Camry 2.5 Hybrid.

Toyota Camry achieved Top IIHS Safety Pick Plus.
      a Superior Performer in MidSize Car.

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 21, 2015 at 11:14 am

Yea, what is the point having ESP, 7 airbags, ABS, BCD, EFG bla bla bla in the tiny Iriz while the drivers and passengers don’t even buckle up?

Without seat belt, the Iriz is a just mobile graveyard. Good security? just over-exaggerated by the fanboys. They don’t even buy the Iriz themselves. Typical Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
    • frossonice on Sep 21, 2015 at 12:08 pm

As if Vios and whatever Toyota has force field that deflect accident.

Oh wait, they have! That is why their RV are so high, even in scraps.

Anyway, that The Convincer need to be brought here ASAP.

• uggio on Sep 21, 2015 at 1:18 pm

@Same Lorrrr
        You better change your moving coffin to safe car first, people use or not is not your business ok?

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 21, 2015 at 3:44 pm

Ask yourself why Toyota has high RV? Because ppl think it is a better used car to buy. We can’t set the RV ourselves, can we?

The safety is ok, the fuel consumption is good, it is comfort and best thing: reliable. This make a good used car. Not some sendiri cakap sendiri syok Iriz. No one bother to buy new car, you think anyone will care about an used Iriz? Stop dreaming lar…

• Why high RV? Cuz toyota pipu syok sendiri.
          Safety is like shit, FC only ok cuz body light like hell, soft tin kosong. Comfort is a joke, overspeeding & floating on hiway is common due to light body, and during rain you have a rock band trying to play the orchestra when rain hits the uninsulated roof. Reliable? My Gen2 CPS is just as reliable. No major breakdowns whatsoever.

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 21, 2015 at 8:23 pm

You can bash/bullshit whatever you like. Toyota high RV is a general fact, simply go mudah.my check out 2005 Vios and 2005 Perdana then you know. We no need syok sendiri also Toyota RV is high. You guys syok sendiri soooo muchhhhhh also no one bother to buy Iriz, also fact. Everyday I see breakdown on the road blocking the traffic and 99% is a Proton. You are just lucky. your day is coming, you can mark my words. Who are/were not Proton victim in this nation you tell me!

• What for? You might die before you sell it!

• topkek on Sep 21, 2015 at 1:21 pm

Tak pakai tali pinggang pun salah proton

Topkek!

• trebles on Sep 21, 2015 at 9:37 pm

That’s Same Lorrrr pride: ini semua salah p1. Vios got no VSC also p1 fault.

Topkek!

• Nobleman on Sep 21, 2015 at 11:19 am

Need this on each roadblock to educate those errant drivers in Malaysia.

• oil_worker on Sep 21, 2015 at 11:32 am

I think there is a company in klang valley who have this within their defensive driving course. My company send some of the employees to this course and saw some pics and vids they took… pretty convincing stuff…

• Aiman hakim on Sep 21, 2015 at 11:58 am

I like this video.This video could mindset our malaysia people to always buckle seatbelts in the car.

• heybadigol (Member) on Sep 21, 2015 at 12:00 pm

They should do a convincer on why you should always use turn indicators. It will mimic the pain drivers feel when another driver fails to use indicators – preferably a pain to the heart or to the emotions.

• Mercedes on Sep 21, 2015 at 12:51 pm

In the 1970s, Mercedes said the world’s strongest man can only brace himself to a max impact of 15km/h without seat belt.

• nabill (Member) on Sep 21, 2015 at 1:50 pm

if u hit a car at that speed , its not gonna be as sudden as in the video bcos the car ur hitting is made from pretty much collapsable front end which kinda cushion the impact a little bit….i know its made for awareness sake bt jus sayin!

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 21, 2015 at 7:07 pm

you are also not going to be driving around at ONLY 8km/h right?

so yeah.
      pretty much it.

I T-boned a car that jumped a stop at 90km/h and walked out uninjured. I owe my life to the seatbelt.

• SAM VHL Loo on Sep 21, 2015 at 2:00 pm

In Malaysia, it’s totally opposite. Lots of kamikaze ‘haram jadah’ drivers here think they are the strongest man in the world, drive like bangsat without seatbelts somemore flying at 160 km/h or more. Worse, you put on seatbelt (sometimes it happens on me), they can give you annoying look somemore say, ai yah no need to put on seatbelt one lar, no polis around.

One video example to show their ‘kebangsatan’, no seatbelt, flying at 160 km/h, somemore drive like shit as well.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0YNDGnTN8yM

• In skool they dun wanna learn about kebangsaan. When come out they kebanggaan of their kebangsatan.

• tak payah laa on Sep 22, 2015 at 9:37 am

We bolehan no need rear mirror, indicator lamp and seatbelt la…

Car maker should remove all this accessories to make our car cheaper..