“We’ve totally screwed up” – Volkswagen USA’s CEO

2016_passat_5394

At the launch of the 2016 Volkswagen Passat (US model facelift, as pictured above) in Brooklyn, New York, Volkswagen’s USA president and CEO, Michael Horn chose to be transparent about the group’s recent diesel emissions cheating scandal.

“So let’s be clear about this: our company was dishonest with the EPA and the California Air Resources Board, and with all of you, and in my German words, we’ve totally screwed up,” he said as cited by a recent article in Roadandtrack.

“We must fix those cars, and prevent this from ever happening again, and we have to make things right—with the government, the public, our customers, our employees, and also very importantly our dealers,” he added. “This kind of behavior, I can tell you out of my heart, it’s completely inconsistent with our core values.

“The three core values of our brand are value, innovation, and in this context very importantly, responsibility—for our employees, for our stakeholders, and for the environment,” he explained. Horn is now on a mission, along with its German headquarters, to be “committed to do what must be done, and to begin to restore your (its customers) trust.”

He went on to say that “you can be sure that we will continue not only to correct this TDI issue, and to straighten things out, and to pay what we have to pay, and we will continue to work very hard to make our story in the US for the customers and dealers and employees successful. ”

Just to recap, not only are VW in the US facing a record $18 billion (RM77 billion) fine for their deceitful conduct, they are also facing a criminal probe by the US Justice Department as well. Moreover, its 23% share price plunge that wiped off at least 15.6 billion euros (RM74.8 billion) of its market value after the ‘defeat device’ scandal emerged just adds to it woes.

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• isuzuki on Sep 22, 2015 at 4:20 pm

VW? So what? Human is human. Greed is greed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Same L0rrrr on Sep 22, 2015 at 6:12 pm

At least VW got dignity. When they are caught, they immediately say sorry.
      Look at our pathetic Proton, making shit cars all these decades, poor safety and quality make so many Malaysians either die on the road or empty their wallet fixing the car. Yet they are shameless to come out bullshits like “Betul2 Onz”, then RM5k, later RM8k, later RM10k discount. Those who buy at the full price are really dai lan ngong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 65
      • Masih ada dignity kah, when being sued $18 Billion and facing share loss $16 Billion. They took a gamble to cheat and they lost.
        Just like sushi airbags Takata took a gamble with quality and they lost.
        Just like Toyota took a gamble on customer not noticing unintended acceleration pedals and they lost.
        Just like diehard UMW toyota supporters took a gamble on buying unsafe toyotas… and some lost. With their lives.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 11
        • George Abdul on Sep 22, 2015 at 7:48 pm

What VGM going to do now? Keep lying to Rakyat that the Price and Spec are all good? Cronies what your next move? Continue lying?

• Areyousure on Sep 23, 2015 at 10:11 am

The results.
            For sushi-lover, shifts to honda/mazda
            For conti-lover, shifts to bmw/merz
            For budgetor, can try kimchi or proton

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 23, 2015 at 2:08 pm

So in your logic, no one sue Proton in USA, Proton is much better?

Proton can’t even ENTER US market!!

You try sell Proton there, same day afternoon you receive lawyer letter I guarantee you.

Don’t forget it is a Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
          • notakata on Sep 23, 2015 at 7:51 pm

Same Lorrrr’s logic: Ex-prisoner with criminal records is better than clean civilian.

That’s fatal

• Good one john!

• so true. when proton honest about it fuel consumption, everybdy kutuk kaw2 said “why very high?:. now everybody know VW lagi cilaka, fuel consumption very high summore got balls to cheat on fuel consumption report. haih~

• nosushi on Sep 23, 2015 at 7:52 pm

I am not surprised if after this Toyota will follow suit

• DonkeyKong on Sep 22, 2015 at 11:12 pm

Poor safety and shit quality? Any evidence of it?

Sure, their engines and the CVT gearboxes are lousy.

But Proton is one of the handful of manufacturers in the world that uses Hot Press Forming steel technology, ensuring that all their new cars have ANCAP 4 or 5 star rating. HPF steel components are even stronger than boron steel that Volvo uses. New Proton models come with 4 to 6 airbags, with ABS and VSC. And instead of using half-baked Asian/Japanese airbag and electronic control systems, Proton uses systems from Bosch, Delphi-Packard and other top-tier vendors.

All these safety features are superior to what Honda and Toyota offers. Malaysians may not appreciate it, so it’s a good thing that Proton considers moving into larger markets to get the economies of scale, and hopefully increase their annual sales to the point where they can comfortably spend more on R&D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
        • tokmoh. on Sep 23, 2015 at 9:47 am

U pluck from the sky about Proton’s HPF steel > Volvo’s boron steel?

Proton has a lot of homework to do, especially with their powertrain. That’s all only. We know, they know, everyone knows. The moment they use any modern Japanese powertrain (like Honda’s Earth dream) with superior fc than 3rd world powertrain in most local Japanese cars here, Proton can surely gain consumers’ confidence.

So long they stick to their current powertrain, don’t expect people to flock the brand.

• DonkeyKong on Sep 23, 2015 at 10:54 am

You’re the perfect proof that Malaysians engage mouth before brain.

Volvo’s boron steel tensile strength is in the range of 1350-1400Mpa. Proton’s HPF steel has tensile strength upwards of 1500MPa.

So where did you pluck your dumbass statement from?

• tokmoh. on Sep 23, 2015 at 2:50 pm

Taking figures from first 2002 XC90’s boron steel strength, then compare with 2014 Proton’s technology? How apt.

I couldn’t find any info about new XC90’s boron steel strength, neither can I find Iriz’s. U either super google warrior or Proton insider to know such figures.

Well, whatever. I look forward to see Iriz crushing new XC90’s safety records. Good luck with that.

• volvomacai on Sep 23, 2015 at 7:55 pm

Crashing between B segment hatchback Iriz and ugly ugly ugly SUV XC90 is idiot

• DonkeyKong on Sep 23, 2015 at 10:12 pm

You’re wrong again. Proton’s HPF steel strength was mentioned on Paultan before. It’s also in Lotus’ newsletter.

First generation boron steel strength is approximately 700MPa. Dual-phase steel was around 400-600MPa. Heat-treated boron steel such as those used by Volvo subsequently has a yield strength of around 1350-1400MPa. Proton’s HPF, incidentally, also has a small quantity of boron, but it is stronger due to the controlled quenching of the steel, leading to a stronger metal grain, hence the yield strength is slightly higher at >1500MPa.

Either you don’t know how to use Google or you’re just too dumb.

• tokmoh. on Sep 23, 2015 at 11:18 pm

And where did you get latest XC90’s boron steel’s strength?

1,350 – 1,400 MPa was what Volvo achieved over a decade ago. You said it yourself, Volvo keeps improving their steel’s strength over time, u think Volvo just shake balls since 2002’s XC90?

Whatever, results speak louder than tensile strength figures. I look forward to Iriz defeating XC90 mk2’s crash test results. Good luuuuuuck

• Cortanut on Sep 23, 2015 at 11:21 am

After a quick check on ANCAP ratings i found out that;
          Volvo S60, V40 scores > Preve/Suprima
          Honda Odyssey > Exora
          Toyota Corolla, Yaris, Camry > Preve/Suprima
          Honda City, Jazz, Accord > Preve/Suprima
          Civic won in overall score but lost in front impact ratings although its side impact fared better than Preve.
          Not sure about your claim that HPF > Boron steel but Volvo cars scored WAY BETTER with almost perfect scores even for cars few years older than Preve.

• hpfer on Sep 23, 2015 at 7:59 pm

I beg to differ, scoring good in controlled environment such as in those tests doesn’t mean it’s working in real world scenes.

But Preve drivers saved in few cases of serious accidents really caught my attention.

• DonkeyKong on Sep 23, 2015 at 10:16 pm

Obviously, the steel alone does not determine the safety ratings. It also matters how much of it you use, and where you place it.

Proton uses a mix of HPF ultra-high strength steel and regular high-tensile steel.

Volvo uses a mix of many different ultra high-strength steels throughout their cars.. heat-treated boron steel.. complex phase high-strength steel.. dual-phase steel.. etc.

Although Volvo scores better, it still doesn’t negate the fact that Proton’s HPF boron-impregnated steel is stronger than Volvo’s regular heat-treated boron steel.

• Sam bought his son proton on Sep 23, 2015 at 12:36 am

Why hate proton if you support proton ?

• toy otak lu on Sep 27, 2015 at 1:30 am

When proton gives discount, then say shameless, when Toyota gives discount u say Toyota value the customers… At least proton is growing now… VW play their cards and lost badly… No need to comment about dignity la dey… Toy otak lu…

• Stupid Lorrr on Aug 30, 2016 at 12:00 pm

What bullshit are you talking about? LOL seriously talking out of your ass doesn’t make you right you know? Do you even know what is safety about? To make sure you don’t die a stupid death or get seriously injured in a typical accident. Please do write about cases of Proton’s newer car models(using hpf steel) death toll and I will reply to you how many death toll in your jap-inspired made cars. Rather that shooting out bullshit please do support your argument with facts and figures, duly because F&F don’t lie, people like you do.

• Maserati Ex-Wife on Sep 22, 2015 at 4:21 pm

That’s why i left my ex husband. His VW always breakdown till i got married to Sam Tow Truck. Now with Toyota Hilux, i have no worries of being stranded beside the road.

At least now i have more time to cook at home and play biology with Sam while my poor ex hubby still lepak with his VW gang every week at workshop admiring their car on the hoist.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 5
    • holofanboi on Sep 22, 2015 at 5:16 pm

LOL YOU ARE AMAZING XD

But just the thought of you playing biology with Sam…in the Loo, dayumn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Mess haven’t cleaned up.. still wanna buy F1 team.

• Untung Manyak Wang on Sep 22, 2015 at 4:25 pm

You are (not) alone

:p

http://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/justice-department-announces-criminal-charge-against-toyota-motor-corporation-and-deferred

• albag on Sep 22, 2015 at 4:57 pm

wow… just imagine they own Lambo, Bentley, Audi, Skoda… shiat!!!

• If this was proton, they will blame vendors and blame their engineers and not their bosses who ordered this. if proton gets tested they will be fined 100B

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
    • MeToo on Sep 22, 2015 at 6:27 pm

If it’s Proton no problem la, our govt will send a lawyer letter to EPA to ask for clarification and then totally forget about the entire issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
      • arief on Sep 23, 2015 at 3:06 am

If proton face this, in Malaysia Only, those who report will face charges… dont worry…

• FIST (Member) on Sep 22, 2015 at 5:30 pm

hahhaha padan muka.

• sudonano (Member) on Sep 22, 2015 at 8:46 pm

That headline. Glorious!

All I can say is I burst out laughing. I do feel bad for them though, cause it is actually not a bad engine.

• DPCraft on Sep 22, 2015 at 9:10 pm

Watch and learn…. Malaysia’s G. Now go fine Toyota for removing VSC on most of their models and having only 2 airbags in some models.

• Superglue on Sep 22, 2015 at 9:33 pm

Kesian VW owners….tomorrow all VW car prices will drop like a rock…..2nd hand car dealer oso dont want to trade VW…

VW should emulate Proton. Always claim they are best, believe they are best, only to kampung folks…

hahahaha

• notakata on Sep 23, 2015 at 8:07 pm

That cannot beat Toyota claims of best reliable car but fatal

• tokmoh. on Sep 22, 2015 at 9:58 pm

“value, innovation, and in this context very importantly, responsibility”

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Oh wow. Ze Germans’ sense of humor, kek.

• brianxyz on Sep 22, 2015 at 11:39 pm

Their DSG is a faulty design that should be taken off from the market as well. I wonder with so many issues with the DSG and yet I still see news VWs in Malaysia from time to time. Are these ppl nuts?

• Josh Ling on Sep 23, 2015 at 2:46 am

4 words: too little, too late. if your core value is so-called “responsibility”, this incident should not have happened in the first place. why only show that you are responsible and sincere after someone found out about your foul play? don’t try to play nice and sincere when you should have known better it was wrong in the beginning.

and are you sure this is the last foul play that someone is gonna discover about you?

• Nowadays core values is like slogan. Slogan is somewhat like manifesto. Manifesto not necessarily like promise. Promise not necessarily like made in stone. Made in stone not necessarily have to be followed.

• Josh Ling on Sep 23, 2015 at 10:34 am

then don’t bother to mention about core value lah. why bother to show your angelic side if you had fallen intentionally in the first place?

it’s a long road of recovery for VW that’s for sure.

• carazy on Sep 23, 2015 at 8:51 am

DSG issue still hot in MY. Plus this “Responsibily” cheeting, I wonder rather ppl still trust VW with their product. I’m NOT.

• cendol (Member) on Sep 23, 2015 at 9:07 am

When is Proton going to own up and say they totally screwed up people for past 30 years??
    And reduce car prices…

• Sudah miskin sebab GST & RM on Sep 23, 2015 at 9:57 am

Come buy my Milo tin bicycle. You will not cheated by false emission data, no engine failure, no DSG problem, no need over night at workshop, no need married to tow truck driver…haha

• Jezebel on Sep 23, 2015 at 11:59 am

all these emission crap… and I’m still hooning big-block muscles