2016 Toyota Hilux scores 5-star ASEAN NCAP rating

toyota hilux asean ncap 1

The new 2016 Toyota Hilux has been put to test by ASEAN NCAP, and it has passed with flying colours – the pick-up truck scored a five-star rating in the regional safety programme’s crash tests.

In the standard 64 km/h frontal offset crash test, Toyota’s workhorse scored 14.53 points out of a maximum of 16 in Adult Occupant Protection (AOP), putting it within the five-star range. It also collected four stars in Child Occupant Protection (COP), with a 71% compliance rating.

The new Hilux comes with a minimum of three airbags – including one for the driver’s knee – with up to seven airbags (two side, two curtain) available; Australia and Europe get the whole lot as standard. However, stability control, a prerequisite for a five-star rating, is an option in some regions, so those without the safety net get four stars instead.

toyota hilux asean ncap 2

So far, four pickup trucks have been tested by ASEAN NCAP, and the Hilux slots ahead of the Chevrolet Colorado (five stars/15.19 points in AOP, three stars/63% in COP), Mitsubishi Triton (four stars/13.56 points in AOP, two stars/48% in COP) and Isuzu D-Max (four stars/11.87% in AOP, four stars/71% in COP).

However, the programme also included results of a Mitsubishi Triton with seven airbags and stability control (ours only has two airbags and no ESC) taken from the Australasian New Car Assessment Programme (ANCAP) – that scored five stars in AOP with 15.22 points, but also scored only two stars in COP with 48% compliance.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• kimchian on Sep 23, 2015 at 1:50 pm

Yay! Sam Loo very proud liao!!

• Aiman hakim on Sep 23, 2015 at 2:13 pm

Finally,sam loos toyota became safety.

• jobless on Sep 23, 2015 at 3:03 pm

who cares about ASEAN NCAP..last time always promote P1 nw nobody cares coz we tada caya sama lu

• Lets see what Toyota bashers got to say about this

• Topkek on Sep 24, 2015 at 10:16 am

If others get 5 star he said duit kopi. If toyota got 5 star he said it’s real safe. Topkek

• same L0rrrr on Sep 23, 2015 at 4:14 pm

I ejaculate when I see this car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • meejawa on Sep 23, 2015 at 4:37 pm

Look at both sides in the second diagram, why both have rating of 14.53/16.00 but the left has 4 stars and the right 5 stars rating? Who is doing a sloppy job?

• Sam Loo will say
    “ASEAN NCAP is useless, run by kroni so the result is actually opposite just like Preve and suprimak actual safety is 1 star, cannot trust them one.

Eh? What you mean my beloved Hilat, I mean Hilulz, err I mean Hilux oso got 5 stars?

Eh? You’re asking it means my Hilat, err Hilux oso 1 star kah? Err..er..err..SPIN TIME!

Err. Actually only the results for toyota you can trust one. Proton and others are duit kopi to pass one. Toyota veri gooding. You only need 4 stars, more is just added bonus that you should pay to add on safety pack.

Eh, Vios no safety pack? Err if Vios dun have, go for Altis topkek spec lah! Hah!? No money? Who ask you to be poorfag?
    Poorfags buy Proton, sure die one. Only those who have money have lives worth saving! If you have no money, work harder so that someday in the future you can come beg me to sell you an altis!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • Somebody said with donatation u can easily get higher star. So i think this crap also do a lot of donation then can get 5 stars. In actual use how can a crap able to protect people?

• trollmaster3000 on Sep 23, 2015 at 10:53 pm

toyota hilux.. the choice for armed robbers..

• Give you 10star also useless when majority of malaysian not even wear seatbelt

• superbird #43 on Sep 25, 2015 at 12:54 am

its the attitude of the drivers that mattered most, not the vehicle’s safety evaluation scores.