ASEAN NCAP tests Daihatsu Ayla (four stars), Toyota Agya (four stars) and Datsun Go (two stars)

daihatsu ayla asean ncap airbag 1

Apart from the 2016 Toyota Hilux, ASEAN NCAP has also released crash test results of three popular small hatchbacks in Indonesia – the Daihatsu Ayla and Toyota Agya twins, as well as the Datsun GO. This is the first time Indonesian-market cars have been tested by the regional safety programme.

Both the Ayla and Agya are familiar to us, of course – they’re what our Perodua Axia (which has also been crash tested by ASEAN NCAP) is based on. So how did they do? Well, two versions of Ayla were tested – one with no airbags, another with dual airbags. The Agya, on the other hand, comes with dual airbags as standard, as is the case with the Axia.

Without airbags, the Daihatsu scored one star in Adult Occupant Protection (AOP), netting a dismal 5.56 points out of a possible 16 in the 64 km/h frontal offset crash test. As for Child Occupant Protection (COP), the car claimed a grand total of two stars, with a 47% compliance rating.

Adding two airbags lifts the Ayla’s AOP score to four stars and 12.84 points, while the COP compliance percentage of 51% – just a 4% difference – was enough to get it into the three-star category. The Agya had a similar AOP score (four stars, 12.84 points), but its COP rating was a much better four stars, with an 82% compliance rating.

datsun go asean ncap 1

How do these results compare to the Axia? The Malaysian-built version managed to get a four-star rating for AOP with 12.91 points – almost identical stats to both Indonesian cars. In terms of child protection, the Axia also scored four stars with a 79% compliance rating, a performance that’s clearly much closer to the Toyota.

Moving along to the other car in the list, the Datsun GO – available with only one airbag – scored two stars in AOP with 6.82 points, and two stars in COP with a 46% compliance rating. That’s still quite some difference from the zero stars a “sub-standard” non-airbag version scored in the Indian-based Bharat NCAP test.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• George Abdul on Sep 23, 2015 at 5:09 pm

Anything Bolehland made product are cheated… All depand how much kopi or “donation” you give they add another star !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 17
    • kzm (Member) on Sep 23, 2015 at 7:06 pm

Car above is made in Indonesia not bolehland

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
      • George Abdul on Sep 23, 2015 at 11:28 pm

“How do these results compare to the Axia? The Malaysian-built version managed to get a four-star rating for AOP with 12.91 points – almost identical stats to both Indonesian cars.”
        I was answering the writer… Lousy @kzm go “kencing” else where and read b4 reply comment !!!

• Does it include the work that you do for a living? Oh my, I hope you are not working in something critical or important areas.

• Kancil Hybrid on Sep 23, 2015 at 5:20 pm

Iriz – 5 stars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 22
    • Bijan on Sep 23, 2015 at 6:51 pm

5 stars ‘donation’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Bijan on Sep 24, 2015 at 5:27 am

5 stars ‘songlap’

• Kancil Hybrid on Sep 24, 2015 at 4:07 pm

Why so many dislikes? Betul la Iriz 5 stars, the Premium one.

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 25, 2015 at 12:02 am

People won’t buy proton because it is 5 star. People buy proton because it is CHEAP! Therefore you see proton 5 star models all in showroom/warehouse with RM 10k discount.
        No every proton drivers will meet fatal accident, but every proton drivers will experience break down for sure, thanks to proton awesome build quality.
        For a 5 star proton, you can’t even sure its VSC/ABS/CDE/FGH will work during accident, it is a proton after all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • yahya on Sep 23, 2015 at 5:22 pm

Proton Saga Plus how many stars?

• Protong on Sep 23, 2015 at 5:23 pm

Meanwhile Saga and Persona are still in 3 stars category

• Yes. Dun buy

• And myvi in the same boat

• Myvi is better than both Saga and Persona

• 5star on Sep 24, 2015 at 9:46 am

Iriz is much better than myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
          • Euro5star on Sep 24, 2015 at 12:21 pm

Volvo is much better than Iriz

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 28, 2015 at 8:56 am

Volvo is much more expensive. How to compare.

The Saga and Persona are due to be replaced soon, and their replacement will be much better than the cars they replace.

The Iriz is the safest car below 60k by a big margin.

• Dont forget myvi also still 3 stars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Colin Wong on Sep 23, 2015 at 6:37 pm

Correction – Persona has NEVER been NCAP rated.

• Corrector on Sep 23, 2015 at 6:45 pm

Double correction, Persona was tested in China and got 3 stars

• Aero (Member) on Sep 23, 2015 at 7:01 pm

They’re old, that’s why.

The Persona is based on the Gen-2 platform from 2004.
      The Saga is based on the Savvy platform from 2005.

Meanwhile, the Agya, Axia and Ayla are new cars which came out in 2013 or 2014. I’m guessing that the three cars are simply re-engineered 2007 Daihatsu Miras, but I don’t know for sure.

The Datsun GO has no excuse, it’s based on the still quite new 2010 Micra, but is so unsafe, it’s a disgrace to the Datsun name. I’m sure the old school Datsun Sunnys are safer than the GO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Ollie on Sep 23, 2015 at 5:25 pm

I’ll get the ball rolling for the usual same-old comments:
    1. Proton NCAP rating the best! better than huracan!
    2. P2 better, at least i get RV built-in for the brake pedal. No ESC no prob.. we ride moto no need ESC!

You know why our government has never changed? When there are so many many people whose intellectual ability makes them blind to the failures that are our car companies, what then can you expect when voting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • talkischeap on Sep 23, 2015 at 6:49 pm

If you are sp smart, where is your fresh new idea comment? Political comments are lame.

• AseanNCAP get 4 stars mean 0 star for EuroNCAP, conclusion dun buy this type of car. The basher dun reply me said that Proton also get 4 stars, the conclusion is same dun buy AseanNCAP 4 stars and below. Use ur money intelligently.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • Colin Wong on Sep 23, 2015 at 6:39 pm

If you cannot comment sensibly, please do not post. You are not helping anyone. ASEAN NCAP 4 stars = 0 EURO NCAP? Kidding?

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 28, 2015 at 8:58 am

ASEAN NCAP results of Proton vehicles were confirmed by ANCAP tests, which is accepted to be equivalent to Euro NCAP.

• Jobless on Sep 23, 2015 at 8:28 pm

Do u tink u r invincible if drive a 5 star AseanNCap rated car? If u drive like Ah Beng u still KO

• Fixed on Sep 24, 2015 at 9:54 am

Do u tink u r invincible if drive a Merc BMW Audi? If u drive like Ah Beng u still KO

• KO Punch on Sep 24, 2015 at 12:32 pm

When u drive Punch CVT car, u sure KO

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 28, 2015 at 9:01 am

That is stupid. A safe car will raise the bar, but if you do stupid things you’ll die. A crash that will give you a few bruises in an Iriz Premium can kill you in a Myvi, Vios, Viva, … but that doesn’t make the Iriz invincible. Just much safer.

• As shown here.
    Toyota and Daihatsu Safety, 2times better than rival.
    4stars vs 2 stars.
    Datsun, by Nissan.