Ford Ranger T6 facelift sighted leaving Port Klang

ford ranger fl spy 1

Not long to go before the 2015 Ford Ranger facelift makes its debut in Malaysia, it would seem – reader Firdaus Abdullah spotted some units of the refreshed T6 on a transporter heading out from Port Klang, which suggests that a launch isn’t all that far away. It was reported earlier that the pick-up was set for market introduction here sometime in early Q4.

The facelifted Ranger made its world premiere at the Bangkok Motor Show in March, and exterior changes include a new face, now featuring a bold, chrome trapezoidal grille that isn’t too dissimilar from the F-150 Raptor’s in shape. New too is the headlamp design, upgraded to projector units, and there’s also a new hood with strakes in the middle.

Three Duratorq TDCi engine versions should be available here – no output changes to the first of the two Puma mills, with the P5AT 3.2 litre five-cylinder Duratorq continuing on with 197 hp and 470 Nm of torque. It does however feature a reworked EGR system for better efficiency.

ford ranger fl spy 2

As for the ZSD-422 2.2 litre four-cylinder Duratorq TDCi, the output has been bumped up to 158 hp and 385 Nm from the 148 hp and 375 Nm found on the pre-facelift. The high-efficiency derivative of the ZSD-422 also gets a slight power hike, now offering 129 hp, which is six horses more than the 123 hp seen on the current Ranger XL.

Mechanical revisions include the introduction of stop-start tech – which is claimed to offer improve fuel efficiency of around 3.5% – and a longer final drive ratio. Transmission choices remain as before, the 6R80 six-speed auto and MT82 six-speed manual being the options. The Ranger also gets electric power steering, which is a first in the segment.

Indicative pricing hasn’t yet been revealed, but expect a bit of a hike – it was intimated back in August that pricing for the facelift was set to be around 3% higher than currently, but the Ringgit’s performance since then might see a price increase beyond that.

2015 Ford Ranger world debut, Bangkok Motor Show

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Anonymous on Sep 23, 2015 at 10:45 am

I saw a bunch of them on the McDonalds NKVE Damansara stop last night!

• 2.2 ia too weak, 3.2 road tax is not practical, better wait for Hilux or get a current Triton with DRL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 22
      • prolapprola on Sep 23, 2015 at 5:03 pm

I drove a thailand 2.4g hilux revo and it is not better than the new 2.2 ranger. Yes i tested both.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • It has been confirmed that the price will be higher… I’d spoken to the sales consultant of SDAC whom I bought pre-FL Ranger 3.2 Wildtrak from and he told me that the new price for the same model (facelift Ranger 3.2 Wildtrak) will be above 120k. I bought it only for 116k in 2013.
    Launching of the new Everest has also been delayed due to the unfavorable exchange rate.. Which brings the asking price of 2.2 and 3.2 models to 180-200k and 230-240k (indicative prices) respectively… Higher than anticipated

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
    • so what on Sep 23, 2015 at 2:15 pm

So wat Leo? trying to show off? get a new one then only talk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 22
    • kakikereta on Sep 23, 2015 at 5:19 pm

Not sure why your informative post is getting thumbs down-ed, but thank you though, that’s quite a useful market update for anyone in the market for a truck.

• Can’t help it bro.. Their keyboard so they get to type anything they want. Learned something along the life that we can’t please everyone… In this case the thumb downs and sarcastic comments like the above. But I believe that they suffer from low self esteem so venting frustration online is the only way to go

• thanks for the INFo Leo. i was waiting to hear that. … what a nickname “so what” bahahahahhaha

• I went to SDAC today and talked to the SC as well while test driving the current Ranger and he sounds confident that the price increment goes from RM5k+ for XLT and RM10+ for Wildtrak.

So you will be seeing RM106k for XLT and RM230k for Wildtrak.

Spec wise, all of what is announced in during the official announcement will retain, namely the lane assist, radar cruise control, LCD dashboard (Wildtrak only) etc, will be in our market. What is lacking out is the auto start stop and one more feature which i couldn’t recall.

The facelift is in the store room of the showroom and had the privilege to have a sneak peek. I would say it looks very tough and the FL Wildtrak have a very very nice stitched trim!

Launch is on the Oct, approx mid of Oct along with new Showroom launch at Jalan 51A, PJ

• regretbuyingaford on Sep 24, 2015 at 5:30 am

expect to pay more for the Ranger and get @$$fuked just the same by sime darby auto connexxion.

friend has the 2.2 ranger bought last year, already starting to show symptoms of crappiness.

it’s not a bad truck, you just can’t maintain it properly when the service centre sucks donkey balls.

SDAC is the king of aftersales nightmare, VW Group Malaysia is a close 2nd.

and before y’all condemn, yes i deal with both, i regret 125% moving from Jap cars to “Continental” made in Thailand cars.

• kakikereta on Sep 24, 2015 at 12:45 pm

Heard there was a problem with the variable fuel pump. Apparently the system can’t prime if left to drain more than 10 minutes. Hopefully they fixed this problem in the facelifted models. It’s good to see they’ve fixed the EGR issues with an updated EGR system.

• sonto on Sep 26, 2015 at 1:31 am

every horsepower you have , it will be another reducing factor of engine reliability..

• sonto on Sep 26, 2015 at 1:30 am

i will go for less problematic car instead of speed and technologically advanced car. I prefer hilux over ranger. Ranger is a good car with powerful engine compare to hilux.new 2.2 ranger is more more powerful compare to 2.5 l hilux. but the downside of too powerful car is the low service life on the engine.