Honda Greiz unveiled for China – another Honda City?

greiz-0001

This is the new Honda Greiz, which Dongfeng Honda unveiled for the Chinese market earlier this week (some live pix from AutoHome). If you think it looks familiar, it’s because it’s basically a Honda City with a revised exterior. The name Greiz must have been inspired by the City’s JDM name – Honda Grace.

Now don’t be fooled – this isn’t the Honda City facelift. Honda has two JV partnerships in China – Dongfeng Honda and Guangqi Honda. Since Guangqi Honda has the rights to sell the original Honda City in China, Honda developed the Greiz so that Dongfeng would have a B-segment sedan to sell as well.

As you can see, the Honda Greiz features a front end that’s closer in style to the Jazz, HR-V and 2016 Civic, featuring a “Solid Wing Face”. The City’s chrome reflector headlights are replaced with black projectors to give it a more upmarket look.

Other than the unique exterior, we don’t quite see any differentiation with the interior. The Greiz’s 1.5 litre engine and CVT gearbox should be the same as the Chinese market Honda City as well.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AhBeng on Sep 26, 2015 at 7:22 pm

Agghhh!!! My eyes!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 22
    • pls close shop on Sep 27, 2015 at 12:50 am

Tongkat companies Dopeng Guanki close shop better so people can buy cheaper cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
      • I wont buy this car. It is not halal. Anything from China is too risky for me.

Proton at least is halal and good for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
    • karam singh on Sep 27, 2015 at 8:15 pm

Stills looks better than Vios/Almera

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • Next year, AhBeng will show u the Persona Replacement 2016, with Campro + CVT.

not like a Honda City with CVT gearbox issue.

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 27, 2015 at 8:32 pm

Like I said many times, buy sushi for best RV. I will get my 4th Lexus next month, work hard you kimchi driver, my son saga is even better than junk kimchi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • jeezus on Sep 27, 2015 at 10:37 pm

Looks better than new Persona

• protong on Sep 27, 2015 at 10:51 pm

Copy Perdana’s backside. That’s why

• Susukotak on Sep 26, 2015 at 7:42 pm

Can bring in some headlight?

• jv=tongkat on Sep 26, 2015 at 9:14 pm

In China also got tongkat. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
    • What is tongkat? JV is joint venture la

• owene on Sep 28, 2015 at 8:37 am

When it’s a MUST it’s TONGKAT. No JV cannot sell one.

• Rusmah on Sep 28, 2015 at 9:14 am

In China, whatever brands of the car, as long as you build in China, considered as “National” Car. National car, low tax. No excise duty, no import tax, only sales tax!!!!

In msia, do u know how much TAX charged by gov per proton.
          Do you know how cheap of the selling price for sushi car? you can buy a high spec camry ,accord and teana by Malaysia Honda City kosong spec price price!!

With preve price, u can afford a honda civic, altis in China.

LOL katak bawah tempurung, sentiasa jadi bangsat crony. support potong? potong will potong ur KUKU!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
          • Actually Malaysia taxes are somewhat structured the same. If they CKD here, the taxes are lower than CBU. Just that our market cant compare to Chinas so the incentive to CKD is lesser.
            It all depends on the brands if they want to do so or not.

• Toyol on Sep 26, 2015 at 10:07 pm

Sam boo where are u my dear?!

• brazbuz on Sep 26, 2015 at 10:58 pm

The dashboard seems to have slightly diff design eventhough the basic architecture is the same as current city

• presna (Member) on Sep 26, 2015 at 11:18 pm

Maybe Honda should take some cues from Greiz for the eventual City facelift? No?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Mark Tan on Sep 27, 2015 at 12:24 am

I miss the simplistic design in last generation of Honda.

• Kevin Ng on Sep 27, 2015 at 12:44 am

Honda Grace in japan, and Honda Greiz in China..

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 27, 2015 at 1:33 am

Doesn’t look too bad on the front end but the rear needs some work…

• Honda Upset Fans on Sep 27, 2015 at 1:48 am

Mainland China Honda City so called as Honds Greiz is much good looking compare with the current model especially the headlamp and rear lamp it comes with DRL and LED. Malaysia version pull out lots of fantastic gadgets like Front HID & DRL , rear LED light that’s is so common in the market. Beside that, taken out the reverse camera, paddle shift and the rear disc brake and replace by drum. Paying almost RM90k plus at the end getting unexpected gadgets that disappointed Honda loyalty fans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • twreck on Sep 27, 2015 at 6:13 am

omg!the taillights just break my heart

• Piano Black doesnt seems suitable for front grille.

• tweet on Sep 27, 2015 at 10:30 am

kenapa depan macam preve???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • The Archbishop of Banterbury on Sep 27, 2015 at 11:04 am

boring… I’ve something better for you to read
    http://gizmodo.com/elon-musk-dieselgate-proves-its-time-to-go-electric-1733163688
    http://jalopnik.com/watch-the-new-tesla-model-x-doors-in-action-outside-of-1733166042

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • kenny on Sep 27, 2015 at 4:00 pm

feel bored on their car design. not much surprise interior

• Albert on Sep 27, 2015 at 6:03 pm

Since protong is struggling these donkey years,Honda malaysia,as sister company,kindly bungkus the bladdy Protong operation…take as many staff(with many mouths to feed,kesian) and some of their service and sales centres and expand..and give Sam Loo more competition.
    Now you have already overtaken UMW sales,why not go BIG? We got tired of writing about non performing Protong.We would love to write more about resurgent Honda and others like,Mazda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Nice job Honda. Looks sharp. Yeah hoping this will be a City facelift for Malaysia.

• Rusmah on Sep 28, 2015 at 9:15 am

Front nice, rear have to be redesigned

• silent_reader on Sep 28, 2015 at 2:18 pm

what does “greiz” mean anyway? a quick google search reveals that it is the name of one of the district in germany, and that is about it…

• arti krish on Oct 03, 2015 at 6:10 am

looking fr a cheap n best models New purchase