Nissan GT-R still has “potential” for upgrades – report

Nissan GT-R 2015MY

In an interview with Top Gear UK, it was revealed by Nissan’s head of product planning, Phillipe Klein, that the current-generation R35 Nissan GT-R still possessed a fair amount of “development potential” despite its already prodigious performance in both regular and Nismo trims.

“You know, it’s a never ending quest,” said Klein on just how far the company thinks it can push the boundaries of the current R35 model. “When you see what we have done with the GT-R Nismo, it’s an interesting development, I do believe,” he added. The keyword from that statement is ‘development’ – the shocker comes when one scans through the spec sheet of the Nissan GT-R Nismo.

Currently, said flagship GT-R variant is powered by an upgraded biturbo 3.8 litre V6 engine with 600 hp and 652 Nm of torque. Said mill is coupled to a six-speed dual-clutch transmission which, in turn, is responsible for sending all that grunt to all four corners of the car. The raft of upgrades over the regular GT-R has allowed the Nismo model to record a Nurburgring lap time of just 7:08.679.

120932_1_5

As for the next-gen GT-R, it is understood that the car is still several years away from hitting the showroom floor. With that said, Nissan is taking the development of the car very seriously. “The GT-R is a halo model for us which not only contributes to the business but also to the image of the company,” said Klein.

When it does debut, expect the new GT-R to feature a radical departure from the R35 in terms of its aesthetics. Reports are already indicating that the new car will be heavily inspired by the Nissan Concept 2020 Vision Gran Turismo (pictured above). Under the bonnet, speculations are running rife that the all-new car will be powered by a hybrid powertrain similar to the one employed in the GT-R LM Nismo race car.

While the race machine is equipped with as much as 1,500 hp, the road-going model should record a power figure that could hover about the 700 hp-mark. Other information divulged also states that the new car will still be front-engined while a four-door GT-R is a definite no-go. “The GT-R is a very closed concept,” said Klein. “When you have these kinds of assets, you are not trying to dilute the asset.”

GALLERY: Nissan GT-R 45th Anniversary Gold Edition

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Tan chong motor on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:30 am

Ah beng’s car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 27
    • DonkeyKong on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:36 am

Not just ah beng car.. it’s the car of choice of anyone with poor taste and lousy road manners

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
    • This car is a unk. My Preve is better than this junk. Thank you BN for giving us Proton, a car that is cheap and yet better quality.

Your give me GTR junk or Preve I will take my Preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 29
    • Well… At least Ah Beng has got the money to buy and maintain one :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • A friend of mine already mod his GT-R to 1000hp monster… With stock engine I thought that it was powerful enough and 1000hp was insane!! So how much power can you squeeze out of its 3.8 V6 engine?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • The max I have read is 1500hp from Nippon tuner GTR. Insane tuning can be achieved but reliability is another thing. If just for dyno, I guess its okay.

• nameless on Sep 28, 2015 at 2:55 pm

more than that, u’ll have to remove the passenger seat..

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Sep 28, 2015 at 6:28 pm

and then there are some guys who can put 1000hp into a RB26DETT motor

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:40 am

V8 GT-R pls! twin turbo V6 sounds like vacuum (I ain’t lying!)
    put a VK45DE under the hood & stuff a twin-turbo. It’ll scream like hell!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • seancorr (Member) on Sep 28, 2015 at 12:13 pm

If the current GTR eats supercars for lunch the new GTR will eat hypercars for lunch.

Plus I think u all should not be bashing this car here in Bolehland since we find more jackass people who drive Preves and Vios’ like their cars are supercars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • You butthurt coz they smoke your ‘bmw’fied Saga? Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
    • kington on Sep 28, 2015 at 2:37 pm

In all honesty, the GTR will never escape its tagline as the poor man’s supercar, although kudos to Nissan for creating such a monster which caught Aston, Ferrari and Porsche napping. While i love GTRs too, but i’d settle for an R34 than the R35. We all know how troublesome the it is to maintain the diff especially during warm ups in the morning.

The acceleration is probably the best, bar hypercars and the new 991 911 Turbo S. Practicality is also very good, offering more space than the 911 and the 458 Italia. Cornering grip is nonetheless superb with Nissan’s ATTESA ETS and it really does justify its claim as a guided missile. No drama, just outright speed and almost on-rails cornering.

It won’t be easy to replace this car for that’s why i suspect they might continue with upgrades for this car instead.

• it set a new benchmark in 07, the new will a leap ahead yet again..japanese tech at its best, love these machines..

• ae101 on Sep 28, 2015 at 4:44 pm

Duno why ppl here thinking drive GTR is poor man supercar. You own it, you drive it, you enjoy it. It can beat supercar at cheaper price. Hell why no? Nissan never says GTR is luxury supercar. Is very clear use to compete the track time. Is sad in MYS GTR image spoilt by some rich kids. You want mature and steady look, go drive conti car.

• kington on Sep 28, 2015 at 5:29 pm

As a product itself, the R35 didn’t just altered the goal posts, it completely diminished the yardstick used to measure supercars. Objectively, on paper at least, it is a very capable car; but for those who can afford and enjoy supercars like Ferraris and Porsches you can probably sense that the sore losers who were smoked by the GTR would claim the GTR as a poor man’s supercar and that it lacks heritage.

• Ah Beng TRD Vios godcar on Sep 29, 2015 at 2:09 am

You are also just a sore loser in GTR saying my vios is poor man’s car after I smoke you.

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Sep 29, 2015 at 4:26 pm

poor man’s supercar? wait until the m’sian see the Corvette’s price tag

• PapaMama on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:33 pm

GTR is called Godzilla, for many reasons….