Germany demands VW ‘Dieselgate’ solution by Oct 7 – ex-CEO Martin Winterkorn being investigated for fraud

Volkswagen Jetta CKD 15

The Volkswagen Group has been told it has until October 7 to come up with a solution to fix its on-going ‘Dieselgate’ crisis, amidst on-going criminal investigations for fraud against its former CEO, Martin Winterkorn, who resigned on September 24.

According to news reports, the German government has served the country’s biggest automaker with a letter demanding a “binding plan” and “schedule” to fix the 11 million Volkswagen, Audi and Skoda diesel vehicles that have been equipped with the “defeat devices” that allowed them to be manipulated to pass exhaust emissions tests.

The reports add that the letter delivered to Volkswagen was signed by German transport minister Alexander Dobrindt, and that should a solution not be provided by the given date, a ban on the some 2.8 million vehicles in Germany is set to be enforced, preventing them from being driven on its roads.

diesel-pix-wm

Recently, Switzerland enforced a ban on up to 180,000 Volkswagen vehicles that are said to be EU5 emissions compliant, but were also equipped with the “defeat devices.” Italy is reportedly going to be the next country to follow suit, having halted the sales of some 2,500 vehicles so far. Still, both these figures are a far cry from the 2.8 million the German government is considering.

On top of this, the former Volkswagen Group CEO, Martin Winterkorn, is also facing stern action from German prosecutors for his involvement in the diesel scandal, with criminal investigations reportedly underway over his involvement in the matter. This follows the US Department of Justice’s criminal investigations towards Winterkorn and other executives in the company who were knowingly involved in the scandal.

Winterkorn was of course replaced recently by former Porsche boss, Matthias Muller.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Areyousure on Sep 29, 2015 at 2:10 pm

Can’t wait to see how VW to clean up this ‘mess’

• Once you Lie, Always you will LIE on Sep 30, 2015 at 9:44 am

In Malaysia, in the mamaks and the grapevine, everybody is saying, they are not going to even smell Audi or VW in Malaysia.

I don’t blame them. Cause, although Malaysia has no diesel, we don’t know what else the company has lied to us. There is a saying, once you lie, you will always lie. Also, if there is 1 lie, there are 9 lies buried waiting to emerge.

Overseas, these cars are cheap. So people can forgive very easily. US20k for a Passat is no big deal. If you buy a lemon, then just bin it.

In Malaysia Rm200k is big money. Even to a big Datuk or Tan Sri, RM200k is big money.

I pity VW and Audi in Malaysia. Even the RV of current models also will drop like comet.

• malecause on Sep 30, 2015 at 2:54 pm

I currently driving Jetta, but if u ask me either will drive another VW car even after Jetta. I would answer you Yes.
        No far I personally is quiet satisfied with my Jetta although so many people is cursing when is my DSG problem will start coming out. 2 year down the road, my car still working without failure.
        Pity whatever you can, but I also can pity you that never drive a VW b4 to enjoy the driving pleasure that it have.

• VW_rocks on Oct 03, 2015 at 5:26 pm

Totally agree. Just need attention when to replace the clutch-pack. Is not expensive but is more costly than replacing ATF oil in the Japanese.

• cheerman on Sep 30, 2015 at 2:48 pm

Well, I believe that VW is taking the matter seriously and is cooperating with the investigation to find out the cause of this matter.

• the world want to tangkap Volkswagen.

so scary…

• The German government is hitting Volkswagen where it’s going to hurt the most…their customers

• Huh-huh-huh on Sep 29, 2015 at 3:19 pm

Ban the volks.. then dump the cars to 3rd world countries..

• SAM VHL Loo on Sep 29, 2015 at 3:43 pm

Echoed, especially Malangsial as for most Malangsial citizens, owning an imported brand cars that behave like a junk cars (problem here and there and always breakdown especially with their so-called modern but problematic dual clutch automatic gearbox) are far more better than owning a immaculate condition Protong and Berukdua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 23
      • Orang malaysia on Sep 29, 2015 at 4:42 pm

Teruknya eja nama negara dan brand kerete negara anda. Malu lah sikit sebagai ‘MALAYSIAN’. Buat malu saja jadi orang malaysia. Tak reti bersyukur!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 28
  • Burn the car, beat the manager!

• alldisc on Sep 29, 2015 at 3:49 pm

expect LHD VW diesels coming to malaysia soon. at a incredibly low prices.

imagine 2011 Golf GTD (GTI diesel) 3 door at only 40K. because basically has zero value now.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Sep 29, 2015 at 3:52 pm

This diesel scandal will unfold like tsunami, waves after waves. Not just Volkswagen group, i believe BMw, Merz, Jaguar Land Rover , Peoguet etc are also subject to certain extend of cheating in the diesel pollution emission rating. I bet they are now doing some damage control behind the scene. But surely and eventually some dirt will leak out. Popcorn’s ready.

• same thing should be done to manufacturer quoted FC. i bet most manufacturer also cheat for this

• Das Autar on Sep 29, 2015 at 4:17 pm

It’s simple, RIP VW.

• whycare on Sep 29, 2015 at 6:19 pm

Why make so much noise?
    It doesn’t affect malaysia a single bit.
    Malaysia has no emission standard, still using euro 2 fuel.
    30 year old car is still legal on the road.
    License all kopi O.
    truck and bus smoke like BBQ.
    Just give more discount and Malaysian will still que to buy it.
    3rd world country people please don’t pretend to understand first world country problem.

• Don’t call it “dieselgate”, you turd.