SPIED: Mercedes-Benz GLE 450 AMG Coupe in Msia

gle-coupe-spy-my-0005

Undoubtedly, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) is enjoying one of its strongest years yet this 2015, and it looks like there’s no end in sight just yet, with the spotting of this new bad boy. It’s the Mercedes-Benz GLE 450 AMG Coupe, spied once again on Malaysian roads (thanks, Fadlul Fikry and T Kana Raj!), following its first local sighting at Publika just over a month ago.

Once again, we believe grey importers are most likely responsible for these units captured here, given that MBM has been open about a particular focus on what it calls its “Dream Cars” for the rest of 2015, while its market charge with SUVs has been confirmed only to begin next year instead. And even then, standard models are expected first, not AMG (or in this case, AMG Sport) ones.

Either way, MBM will at some point in the future be looking to introduce this BMW X6-fighter sometime in 2016, alongside the regular GLE-Class (BMW X5 rival, previously badged the ML), and the smaller GLC-Class (BMW X3 rival) as well.

What you’re looking at here is the top GLE Coupe model, the GLE 450 AMG Coupe. It’s the first of Mercedes-AMG’s new high performance range that’s positioned just under the full-on AMG models, such as the AMG GLE 63 Coupe. Think BMW M Performance and Audi S ranges, as opposed to the full fat M and RS models.

Powering this coupe-styled SUV is a 3.0 litre biturbo V6 engine that develops 367 hp at 5,500 to 6,000 rpm, and 520 Nm at 1,800 to 4,000 rpm. It’s equipped with the brand’s new 9G-Tronic nine-speed torque converter automatic transmission and a performance-oriented 4Matic all-wheel drive system that can split power between the front and rear wheels at a 40:60 bias.

Visually, the car is equipped with the AMG Sport bodykit, while passengers and drivers alike will be able to benefit from an Airmatic air suspension with variable ADS Plus damping, sports seats, and an extra Sport+ mode in the Dynamic Select system.

Mercedes-Benz GLE 450 AMG Coupe

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Crony Crony Malaysia on Sep 29, 2015 at 10:55 am

In the US, this car is US$61k. Let us see how much Folger rips Malaysians off this time. I bet this car will be RM1 million.

Berapa banyak nak untung MBM?

• Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on Sep 29, 2015 at 10:59 am

Like what i said many times. Dobt invest your hard earn money into no RV car. Be smart like me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Buy 2nd hand Lah!!!! on Sep 29, 2015 at 11:09 am

This kind of car, wait for the first sucker to buy it. In 1 years time, it will be 60% less. You can buy this car for Rm400k plus if this car is priced at RM1 million

No worries. MBM give 4 year warranty. Dont be bodoh and buy new.

• So you honestly think the market will be flooded with 1 yr old gle amg’s in a year’s time?

• Jay Law on Sep 29, 2015 at 11:00 am

That’s not a coupe alright

• Fugly101 on Sep 29, 2015 at 11:21 am

Unappealing design, especially the rear

• rigid on Sep 29, 2015 at 11:25 am

its clearly stated there GLE 450 on the red SUV, while it is titled on the pictures as ‘Mercedes Benz GLE 63 AMG Coupe’.how is that?

• DonationsAreTheEasisestRouteToRiches on Sep 29, 2015 at 11:27 am

Such cars are hardly relevant to Our Malaysian car market, given the fact that only a very very small percentage of population would be able to fork out crazy money on such cars, thanks to the weak ringgit and the ridiculous taxing structure in our country(both thanks to our BN govn).

Who would be the ones buying such cars? My best bet would on cronies and the well connected likeDr M’s sons,Nazri’s sons,Zahid’s sons, etc……

• ganni on Sep 30, 2015 at 2:33 pm

if that so..how about the x6 then..??it’s flooded kl road already..

• redshit on Sep 29, 2015 at 11:30 am

ekonomi mundur..ada donation, crony masih mampu beli

• Altough i dont like the design, but i do want to own one for a status.

• BigBalls on Sep 29, 2015 at 2:24 pm

That’s one of the most ugly rear I have ever seen on a car

-BigBalls-